Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 02 Jan 2013 (Wednesday) 11:12
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Setting name and copyright notice in the 20D

 
Lester ­ Wareham
Moderator
Avatar
29,059 posts
Gallery: 3247 photos
Best ofs: 6
Likes: 19789
Joined Jul 2005
Location: Hampshire, UK
     
Jan 02, 2013 11:12 |  #1

This is not my backup body; In the past I used this method:

Connect your camera to your computer using the USB cable that came with the camera
Turn your camera on
Start Cannon's Remote Capture utility that came with your camera
Connect to your Camera
Go in the menu File::Camera Setting...
Type your name in the "Owner's name" input box
Click on the OK button

But I am finding the current PC I am using (windows 7 64b) is reporting it can't find a device driver when I connect the camera.

Any ideas how to resolve this?


My Photography Home Page (external link) RSS Feed (external link)
Gear List
FAQ on UV and Clear Protective Filters
Macrophotography by LordV

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
NinetyEight
"Banned for life"
Avatar
3,201 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 26
Joined Sep 2008
Location: Dorset - England
     
Jan 02, 2013 11:42 |  #2

Have you installed the relevant USB/device driver from a Canon solutions CD or download?- The older bodies are not just 'found' by Windows as far as I know, they need driver(s) installing before connection.


Kev

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JasonMK
Goldmember
Avatar
1,377 posts
Gallery: 75 photos
Likes: 150
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Janesville, WI
     
Jan 02, 2013 11:44 |  #3

Is there a software update available? I'm running Windows 8 (x64) and all the Canon software still works...or at least I have yet to run into an issue where it is not.


-JasonMK on Flickr (external link)
1Ds Mark III | 650D | EF 17~40mm 4L | EF-S 18~135 STM | EF 50mm 1.4 | EF 100mm 2.8 USM Macro | Tamron 70~300mm 4.0-5.6 Di VC USD XLD | 430 EX III | 430 EX II | Lowepro SlingShot 100 AW | EF 25 II | PS CC | LR CC

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
NinetyEight
"Banned for life"
Avatar
3,201 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 26
Joined Sep 2008
Location: Dorset - England
     
Jan 02, 2013 11:47 |  #4

Have you Set your communications to 'PTP' on the Camera (Just came across this tip on another site).


Kev

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lester ­ Wareham
THREAD ­ STARTER
Moderator
Avatar
29,059 posts
Gallery: 3247 photos
Best ofs: 6
Likes: 19789
Joined Jul 2005
Location: Hampshire, UK
     
Jan 02, 2013 12:14 |  #5

NinetyEight wrote in post #15435111 (external link)
Have you installed the relevant USB/device driver from a Canon solutions CD or download?- The older bodies are not just 'found' by Windows as far as I know, they need driver(s) installing before connection.

Possibly not, I may have installed from my 7D disks, I looked for a download on the Canon web and could not see a device driver for the 20D, unless someone knows if it is just included with something else.


My Photography Home Page (external link) RSS Feed (external link)
Gear List
FAQ on UV and Clear Protective Filters
Macrophotography by LordV

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JasonMK
Goldmember
Avatar
1,377 posts
Gallery: 75 photos
Likes: 150
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Janesville, WI
     
Jan 02, 2013 12:28 |  #6

Here's a response from Microsoft on the 20D and Windows 7.
http://answers.microso​ft.com …ab-42df-bfbd-825dcf59d6ac (external link)


-JasonMK on Flickr (external link)
1Ds Mark III | 650D | EF 17~40mm 4L | EF-S 18~135 STM | EF 50mm 1.4 | EF 100mm 2.8 USM Macro | Tamron 70~300mm 4.0-5.6 Di VC USD XLD | 430 EX III | 430 EX II | Lowepro SlingShot 100 AW | EF 25 II | PS CC | LR CC

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Brasher
Member
Avatar
113 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Sep 2012
Location: Atlanta
     
Jan 02, 2013 12:44 as a reply to  @ JasonMK's post |  #7

If it's like my 5D, it won't work on W7x64. You'll have to dig around you closet for an old computer and install EOS Utilities on it. You have to use the Canon driver in order for EOS utilities to work. Plugging in the camera and having windows recognize it isn't the same thing.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lester ­ Wareham
THREAD ­ STARTER
Moderator
Avatar
29,059 posts
Gallery: 3247 photos
Best ofs: 6
Likes: 19789
Joined Jul 2005
Location: Hampshire, UK
     
Jan 03, 2013 08:27 |  #8

JasonMK wrote in post #15435291 (external link)
Here's a response from Microsoft on the 20D and Windows 7.
http://answers.microso​ft.com …ab-42df-bfbd-825dcf59d6ac (external link)

st3mpy wrote in post #15435343 (external link)
If it's like my 5D, it won't work on W7x64. You'll have to dig around you closet for an old computer and install EOS Utilities on it. You have to use the Canon driver in order for EOS utilities to work. Plugging in the camera and having windows recognize it isn't the same thing.

As st3mpy says, there is no Win 7 driver, the XP driver can be installed at the setup phase but failes when the 20D is connected. This leaves a legacy PC as the only option.


My Photography Home Page (external link) RSS Feed (external link)
Gear List
FAQ on UV and Clear Protective Filters
Macrophotography by LordV

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
morph2_7
Goldmember
1,112 posts
Joined Sep 2012
Location: Los Angeles
     
Jan 03, 2013 11:49 |  #9

What version of Windows 7? Home, Pro, Ultimate, or Enterprise?

If you have Windows 7 Pro, Ultimate or Enterprise... download Microsoft XP Mode http://www.microsoft.c​om …/virtual-pc/download.aspx (external link)

It allows you to install WinXP virtual machine in your Win 7.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,093 views & 0 likes for this thread
Setting name and copyright notice in the 20D
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is SpencerMcVey
811 guests, 218 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.