Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 02 Jan 2013 (Wednesday) 11:30
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

High ISO performance of 6D and 5Diii

 
RobDickinson
Goldmember
4,003 posts
Gallery: 14 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 1042
Joined Apr 2010
Location: New Zealand
     
Jan 03, 2013 15:57 |  #61

You should be using 5d3 if only for the dual card slots.


www.HeroWorkshops.com (external link) - www.rjd.co.nz (external link) - www.zarphag.com (external link)
Gear: A7r, 6D, Irix 15mmf2.4 , canon 16-35f4L, Canon 24mm TS-E f3.5 mk2, Sigma 50mm art, 70-200f2.8L, 400L. Lee filters, iOptron IPano, Emotimo TB3, Markins, Feisol, Novoflex, Sirui. etc.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Jason401
Member
83 posts
Joined Mar 2010
     
Jan 03, 2013 16:11 |  #62

The dual card slots is definitely a very nice thing to have. But two very popular wedding cameras prior to the 5d3 didn't have them either. (40d and 5d2).

So, while it's very nice to have, it isn't a necessity. Memory cards aren't that expensive, and it's very easy to swap them in and out.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
form
"inadequately equipped"
Avatar
4,929 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Jan 2006
Location: Henderson, NV
     
Jan 03, 2013 19:06 |  #63

And....the 5d3's dual card system is limited in performance because of an SD bottleneck (so I hear).


Las Vegas Wedding Photographer: http://www.joeyallenph​oto.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RobDickinson
Goldmember
4,003 posts
Gallery: 14 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 1042
Joined Apr 2010
Location: New Zealand
     
Jan 03, 2013 19:43 |  #64

I cant imagine it would be a limiting factor in wedding shooting.

If someone turned up to shoot my wedding with a 40d they would get kicked out. Though I wouldnt hire them in the first place.


www.HeroWorkshops.com (external link) - www.rjd.co.nz (external link) - www.zarphag.com (external link)
Gear: A7r, 6D, Irix 15mmf2.4 , canon 16-35f4L, Canon 24mm TS-E f3.5 mk2, Sigma 50mm art, 70-200f2.8L, 400L. Lee filters, iOptron IPano, Emotimo TB3, Markins, Feisol, Novoflex, Sirui. etc.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
umphotography
grabbing their Johnson
Avatar
11,333 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 3099
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Gig Harbor, Washington
     
Jan 03, 2013 20:02 |  #65

form wrote in post #15441176 (external link)
And....the 5d3's dual card system is limited in performance because of an SD bottleneck (so I hear).

I shot some motocross with it this weekend,,,,zero issues. Didnt slow me down one bit.

Ive been using cameras with dual cards for the past 4 yrs because we primarily shoot weddings. I wont walk in the door w/o a camera that has dual card capabilities and ive never encountered a situation that slows these things down to where i missed a shot...total nonsense as far as im concerned.


Mike
www.umphotography.com (external link)
GEAR LIST
Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gh ­ patriot
Goldmember
1,310 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Grand Haven, Michigan U.S.S.A.
     
Jan 03, 2013 22:23 |  #66

Jason401 wrote in post #15440443 (external link)
The dual card slots is definitely a very nice thing to have. But two very popular wedding cameras prior to the 5d3 didn't have them either. (40d and 5d2).

So, while it's very nice to have, it isn't a necessity. Memory cards aren't that expensive, and it's very easy to swap them in and out.

It has absolutely nothing to do with expensive or ease of swapping, it has to do with redundancy. I knew I was rolling the dice every time I shot a wedding with a single memory card camera. Would the card fail? Probably not but you can't be sure. I must say that the 5D3 gives me the piece of mind that I always wished I had with my other bodies (other than my 1DIII).


2 x 5D III | 40D | Rokinon 14 2.8 | 35L | 50[B]L | 85IIL | 100 L |135L | 300 f4L | | 24-70L | | 70-200 2.8L II | 2XL |
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gh ­ patriot
Goldmember
1,310 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Grand Haven, Michigan U.S.S.A.
     
Jan 03, 2013 22:27 |  #67

form wrote in post #15441176 (external link)
And....the 5d3's dual card system is limited in performance because of an SD bottleneck (so I hear).

Well I can tell you with first hand experience that It doesn't affect me one bit. The buffer is limited to 7 or 8 shots instead of 13. Both cards write at 20mb/s when writing to them both at the same time. If you want the full 90mb/s then you dont shoot to both but honestly, if you need more write speed than that then your probably shooting sports and could use the 1DX at that point.


2 x 5D III | 40D | Rokinon 14 2.8 | 35L | 50[B]L | 85IIL | 100 L |135L | 300 f4L | | 24-70L | | 70-200 2.8L II | 2XL |
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JAbberwocky
Senior Member
373 posts
Joined Mar 2009
Location: SF Yay Area
     
Jan 03, 2013 22:36 |  #68

archer1960 wrote in post #15435065 (external link)
I'm considering moving to a FF body for improved high ISO noise performance for astrophotography, and am trying to compare ISO noise performance vs price for the various options.

On my current body (T1i/500D), 800 is where I consider the noise to be usually acceptable without additional NR work, and I'm trying to figure out how high I can go on the 6D with the same noise level.

Same question for the 5Diii and 1DX if anybody knows the answer.

I have a t1i for years now and can compared it to the 6D. The 6D is cleaner at 3200 than the t1i at 800.


Photography is not defined by what gear you own.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ Sheehy
Goldmember
3,076 posts
Likes: 480
Joined Jan 2010
     
Jan 04, 2013 07:52 |  #69

MintMark wrote in post #15439681 (external link)
I think you made a valid point... high ISO and multi shot are for different types of noise. One is for removing dark current noise and the other reduces shot noise by averaging several frames together (like stacking). Both are relevant to astro photography, but both are also likely to be done outside the camera. I think your point was relevant though.

The first one you mention is "Long exposure noise reduction", which is done by subtracting a black frame of the same duration. "High ISO noise reduction" is a JPEG parameter, which only affects the camera's conversions to JPEG. "Multi-shot" noise reduction is the camera taking 4 shots in a row with a single shutter press, and stacking them together, as you say. No RAW is available in "Multi-shot" (although there is no reason why there couldn't be - the camera allows RAW results with "Multiple exposure".




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MintMark
Senior Member
Avatar
385 posts
Joined Apr 2009
Location: Hampshire, England
     
Jan 04, 2013 14:59 |  #70

John Sheehy wrote in post #15442897 (external link)
The first one you mention is "Long exposure noise reduction", which is done by subtracting a black frame of the same duration. "High ISO noise reduction" is a JPEG parameter, which only affects the camera's conversions to JPEG. "Multi-shot" noise reduction is the camera taking 4 shots in a row with a single shutter press, and stacking them together, as you say. No RAW is available in "Multi-shot" (although there is no reason why there couldn't be - the camera allows RAW results with "Multiple exposure".

Hi John, you're quite right... I confused high ISO and long exposure noise reduction... I'll make sure I'm right before I post next time :)

One thing I find hard to keep track of is which options only apply to jpeg images... a raw only mode would be quite a bit simpler!


Mark

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

12,675 views & 0 likes for this thread
High ISO performance of 6D and 5Diii
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Angela Angie
905 guests, 257 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.