Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 04 Jan 2013 (Friday) 18:57
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5DM2 won't AF when using just a modeling light

 
coeng
Senior Member
Avatar
986 posts
Joined Nov 2002
Location: NJ
     
Jan 04, 2013 18:57 |  #1

I am a fairly new owner of a 5DM2 and am having an issue with low-light focusing, particularly in my home studio.

When I turn off all ambient lights (so that my only light source is the modeling lamp on my one strobe) the camera won't focus. I am using a 24-70L af f/11 with center point focusing. It seems that that the modeling lamp does not produce enough light (on the subject) to allow the AF to work properly.

Any suggestions on getting around this? I never had this problem with my previous body (40D) in the same studio environment.

If I had known this was going to be a problem I would have never upgraded from my trusty 40D.

I have no interest in MF because I photograph small kids that move around a lot.


5D2, 600 EX-RT, STE-3, 24-70L, 70-200L f/2.8 IS II, 50 f/1.4, 85 f/1.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
john_galt
Senior Member
576 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Mar 2011
     
Jan 04, 2013 19:22 |  #2

using centerpoint?


Gear: 5d iii, 17-40mm l, 24-70mm ii, 35mm 1.4 l, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 135mm l, 70-200mm ii l, 600ex-rt

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
coeng
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
986 posts
Joined Nov 2002
Location: NJ
     
Jan 04, 2013 19:24 |  #3

john_galt wrote in post #15445868 (external link)
using centerpoint?

Affirmative.


5D2, 600 EX-RT, STE-3, 24-70L, 70-200L f/2.8 IS II, 50 f/1.4, 85 f/1.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
amfoto1
Cream of the Crop
10,256 posts
Likes: 88
Joined Aug 2007
Location: San Jose, California
     
Jan 04, 2013 19:38 |  #4

That's odd... the center point of my 5DII is just about as good as other models I use (7D, 50D, the latter is virtually identical to 40D). It's the peripheral points and AI Servo tracking where the 5DII tends to be a bit more disappointing. Center point only and One Shot with stationary subjects, not much difference.

Are you using One Shot?

Is the camera fitted with anything other than the standard or one of the Canon accessory focus screens? I'm wondering if one of the third party focus screens might effect AF in some way.

Do you have the camera set with Assist Points enabled? It's Custom Function III - 7 that enables or disables the 6 hidden Assist Points. They only work in AI Servo, though. I leave them off most of the time.

24-70 is a quick focusing lens, too. You don't have a filter on it, do you? Sometimes filters can mess with AF. The f-stop selected shouldn't matter. Unless you do depth of field preview while trying to focus, the lens is wide open until the very instant of exposure, when it stops down momentarily.


Alan Myers (external link) "Walk softly and carry a big lens."
5DII, 7DII(x2), 7D(x2) & other cameras. 10-22mm, Tokina 12-24/4, 20/2.8, TS 24/3.5L, 24-70/2.8L, 28/1.8, 28-135 IS (x2), TS 45/2.8, 50/1.4, Tamron 60/2.0, 70-200/4L IS, 70-200/2.8 IS, 85/1.8, Tamron 90/2.5 Macro, 100/2.8 USM, 100-400L II, 135/2L, 180/3.5L, 300/4L IS (x2), 300/2.8L IS, 500/4L IS, EF 1.4X II, EF 2X II. Flashes, studio strobes & various access. - FLICKR (external link) - ZENFOLIO (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
39,715 posts
Gallery: 116 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 8106
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Jan 04, 2013 19:46 |  #5

Agree with Alan, use center point with expansion points turned on and go to one shot mode. That is the only way to get the best possible AF performance with the 5d2 in very low light situations.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
20,506 posts
Likes: 3474
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Jan 04, 2013 20:41 |  #6

Expansion points don't work in one shot mode.

Center point is quite good to work in very low light condition. I would try your 50mm f1.4 or the 70-200mm f2.8 to see if problem with your 24-70 lens or something else.


Fuji XT-1, 18-55mm
Sony A7rIV, , Tamron 28-200mm, Sigma 40mm f1.4 Art FE, Sony 85mm f1.8 FE, Sigma 105mm f1.4 Art FE
Fuji GFX50s, 23mm f4, 32-64mm, 45mm f2.8, 110mm f2, 120mm f4 macro
Canon 24mm TSE-II, 85mm f1.2 L II, 90mm TSE-II Macro, 300mm f2.8 IS I

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
patrick023
Senior Member
Avatar
542 posts
Likes: 87
Joined Apr 2006
Location: Lawrence, KS
     
Jan 04, 2013 22:01 |  #7

Turn on some more light. If you're shooting at f11 they wont affect the exposure anyways.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
coeng
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
986 posts
Joined Nov 2002
Location: NJ
     
Jan 04, 2013 23:14 as a reply to  @ patrick023's post |  #8

Actually I just realized today that its really only a problem when shooting with the Yongnuo YN-128 wireless shutter release.

I have my 5D on a tripod and when I shoot using the viewfinder it acquires AF very quickly every time. When I intentionally move it way out of focus manually, it is quick to obtain AF with just the modeling lamp when I press the shutter release button.

However, when I press the trigger on the YN-128 and look through the viewfinder I see that red AF point flickers repeatedly (as I continue to hold the button) and I can hear the lens trying to achieve AF. Some times it will get it and sometimes it will not. But it requires me to hold down the trigger for about 2-3 seconds sometimes before AF is achieved. At times, AF is not achieved and the camera stops trying even though I'm still holding the trigger button.

That being said, what is so different about pressing the trigger button on the YN-128 vs. pressing the shutter release button on the body? I'm perplexed here.


5D2, 600 EX-RT, STE-3, 24-70L, 70-200L f/2.8 IS II, 50 f/1.4, 85 f/1.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lannes
Goldmember
Avatar
4,370 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
     
Jan 05, 2013 04:22 |  #9

when you use the wireless trigger, are you in live view mode ?


1Dx, 1DM4, 5DM2, 7D, EOS-M, 8-15L, 17-40L, 24 TSE II, 24-105L, 50L, 85L II, 100L, 135L, 200L f/2.8, 300L f/4, 70-200L II, 70-300L, 400Lf/5.6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
coeng
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
986 posts
Joined Nov 2002
Location: NJ
     
Jan 05, 2013 12:58 |  #10

lannes wrote in post #15447107 (external link)
when you use the wireless trigger, are you in live view mode ?

When using the wireless trigger it happens both in live view mode and when looking through the viewfinder.


5D2, 600 EX-RT, STE-3, 24-70L, 70-200L f/2.8 IS II, 50 f/1.4, 85 f/1.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Scatterbrained
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,511 posts
Gallery: 267 photos
Best ofs: 12
Likes: 4588
Joined Jan 2010
Location: Yomitan, Okinawa, Japan
     
Jan 05, 2013 13:18 |  #11

Just turn the lights on.


VanillaImaging.com (external link)"Vacuous images for the Vapid consumer"
500px (external link)
flickr (external link)
1x (external link)
instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
20,506 posts
Likes: 3474
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Jan 05, 2013 13:55 |  #12

So you doing remote AF also through your trigger? Wish it was mentioned earlier.


Fuji XT-1, 18-55mm
Sony A7rIV, , Tamron 28-200mm, Sigma 40mm f1.4 Art FE, Sony 85mm f1.8 FE, Sigma 105mm f1.4 Art FE
Fuji GFX50s, 23mm f4, 32-64mm, 45mm f2.8, 110mm f2, 120mm f4 macro
Canon 24mm TSE-II, 85mm f1.2 L II, 90mm TSE-II Macro, 300mm f2.8 IS I

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mike_311
Checking squirrels nuts
3,761 posts
Gallery: 18 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 569
Joined Mar 2011
     
Jan 05, 2013 15:31 |  #13

The problem is simply not enough light. I have the same problems. It it can't find af it won't shoot. You can try setting manual focus on a tripod with a wide enough aperture. I often get a small daylight lamp aim it at my model to get af and then aim away to shoot.

All I can tell is to get better lights, like studio strobes, or don't work in low light, or find someway to lock down focus while the lights are on and then turn them off to shoot or some other alternative.


Canon 5d mkii | Canon 17-40/4L | Tamron 24-70/2.8 | Canon 85/1.8 | Canon 135/2L
www.michaelalestraphot​ography.com (external link)
Flickr (external link) | 500px (external link) | About me

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
20,506 posts
Likes: 3474
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Jan 05, 2013 16:27 |  #14

mike_311 wrote in post #15448885 (external link)
The problem is simply not enough light. I have the same problems. It it can't find af it won't shoot. You can try setting manual focus on a tripod with a wide enough aperture. I often get a small daylight lamp aim it at my model to get af and then aim away to shoot.

All I can tell is to get better lights, like studio strobes, or don't work in low light, or find someway to lock down focus while the lights are on and then turn them off to shoot or some other alternative.

OP problem is not low light and read he is using studio strobes with modelling lights. He is using a radio trigger to activate AF and then take the shot. Problem is trigger is not doing AF. It is not low light, nor camera, nor lens issue.


Fuji XT-1, 18-55mm
Sony A7rIV, , Tamron 28-200mm, Sigma 40mm f1.4 Art FE, Sony 85mm f1.8 FE, Sigma 105mm f1.4 Art FE
Fuji GFX50s, 23mm f4, 32-64mm, 45mm f2.8, 110mm f2, 120mm f4 macro
Canon 24mm TSE-II, 85mm f1.2 L II, 90mm TSE-II Macro, 300mm f2.8 IS I

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
patrick023
Senior Member
Avatar
542 posts
Likes: 87
Joined Apr 2006
Location: Lawrence, KS
     
Jan 05, 2013 19:53 |  #15

Do you have your camera set for back button focus? If so enable focusing with the shutter button again.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

4,566 views & 0 likes for this thread
5DM2 won't AF when using just a modeling light
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is bluredsky
798 guests, 188 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.