Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 06 Jan 2013 (Sunday) 14:55
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Yongnuo YN468 speedlite on T3i Problems

 
downhillbiker23
Member
Avatar
85 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 3
Joined Dec 2012
     
Jan 06, 2013 14:55 |  #1

Hey Everyone. I am extremely new to this website so I apologize if I am writing this in the wrong thread area. I have a Canon T3i and just bought a YN468 for it. I cannot get it to fire. Anything I am doing wrong? It fires pilot shots, but I cannot get it to Sync with my camera! Help me please! Thanks


Canon 7d Gripped/ Canon T3i Gripped/ Canon 18-55/ Canon 18-135/ Canon 70-200L f2.8IS/ Flycam C5/ Yongnuo YN560II, YN560III
Next Purchase- 24-70 f2.8
QJMedia-NJ.com
info@QJmedia-NJ.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Carver708
Member
Avatar
62 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 13
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Leduc County, Alberta
     
Jan 06, 2013 15:10 |  #2

Is your camera set to use an external flash?


Canon 60D | Canon 1Ds | Canon 1 Ds Mark II | EF 300 f/2.8L IS USM | EF 24-105 f/4L IS USM | EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS USM | EFS 17-85 IS USM | Sigma 50 f/1.4 | Tokina 12-24 f/4 | Canon 2X II TC | Tamron SP AF 1.4X TC | 430 EX II | Kenko tubes

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
downhillbiker23
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
85 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 3
Joined Dec 2012
     
Jan 06, 2013 18:51 |  #3

Carver708 wrote in post #15452854 (external link)
Is your camera set to use an external flash?

I believe so. But I honestly cannot be 100 percent sure. Pretty new to this


Canon 7d Gripped/ Canon T3i Gripped/ Canon 18-55/ Canon 18-135/ Canon 70-200L f2.8IS/ Flycam C5/ Yongnuo YN560II, YN560III
Next Purchase- 24-70 f2.8
QJMedia-NJ.com
info@QJmedia-NJ.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bushbikie
Junior Member
25 posts
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Australia
     
Jan 06, 2013 18:58 |  #4

Ummm....have you read the manuals (both camera and flash)?


5D MkII Gripped | EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM | EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM | EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM | EF 100mm f/2.8L IS USM Macro | Extender 2x II | 580EX II Speedlite
Wanted: The list is long.......so very long........(sighs):cry:
Oldies but still goodies: AE-1+Program | FD 28mm f/2.8 | FD 50mm f/1.4 | FD 70-210 f/4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bobweigh
Member
Avatar
53 posts
Joined Dec 2012
     
Jan 06, 2013 19:01 |  #5

Are you sure you've got a camera there?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
downhillbiker23
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
85 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 3
Joined Dec 2012
     
Jan 06, 2013 19:02 |  #6

I have read both manuals and I am positive I have a camera. The built in flash won't fire either when the 468 is mounted. But I can't get the 468 to fire when I press the shutter


Canon 7d Gripped/ Canon T3i Gripped/ Canon 18-55/ Canon 18-135/ Canon 70-200L f2.8IS/ Flycam C5/ Yongnuo YN560II, YN560III
Next Purchase- 24-70 f2.8
QJMedia-NJ.com
info@QJmedia-NJ.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Leopold ­ Stotch
Member
Avatar
133 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jul 2011
Location: Toronto
     
Jan 06, 2013 19:30 as a reply to  @ downhillbiker23's post |  #7

There should be an option in the menu called 'flash control' in one of the red pages, and under that there's an option called flash firing. Make sure it's set to 'Enable'.

Also make sure your YN-468 isn't in slave mode. That'll prevent it from being triggered by the body.


50D | 5D | Tokina 12-24 f/4 | 24-85 f/3.5-4.5 | 24-105 f/4L | 50 f/1.8 | 70-200 f/4L | Metz 50 AF-1
Reviews & Articles (external link) | 500px (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
downhillbiker23
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
85 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 3
Joined Dec 2012
     
Jan 06, 2013 19:36 |  #8

Leopold Stotch wrote in post #15453906 (external link)
There should be an option in the menu called 'flash control' in one of the red pages, and under that there's an option called flash firing. Make sure it's set to 'Enable'.

Also make sure your YN-468 isn't in slave mode. That'll prevent it from being triggered by the body.

Flash firing is enabled. When I remove the 468 And press the shutter the built in flash fires. Just double checked the red pages and its enabled for sure. Re read the t3i menu on external flashes and it didn't help.

How would I take it out of slave mode? Or check? Thanks again


Canon 7d Gripped/ Canon T3i Gripped/ Canon 18-55/ Canon 18-135/ Canon 70-200L f2.8IS/ Flycam C5/ Yongnuo YN560II, YN560III
Next Purchase- 24-70 f2.8
QJMedia-NJ.com
info@QJmedia-NJ.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rrblint
Listen! .... do you smell something?
Avatar
22,683 posts
Gallery: 83 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 2300
Joined May 2012
Location: U.S.A.
     
Jan 06, 2013 19:49 |  #9

Leopold Stotch wrote in post #15453906 (external link)
...Also make sure your YN-468 isn't in slave mode. That'll prevent it from being triggered by the body.

This is probably the answer...Read the manual for the flash, it should tell you how to switch out of slave mode.


Mark

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Leopold ­ Stotch
Member
Avatar
133 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jul 2011
Location: Toronto
     
Jan 06, 2013 20:03 |  #10

downhillbiker23 wrote in post #15453933 (external link)
How would I take it out of slave mode? Or check? Thanks again

Make sure it says TTL (or some variant of that) and not S1 or S2 near the top right of the flash's LCD. Beyond that, I'm not sure what else could be causing this, assuming you got the Canon version of the flash.


50D | 5D | Tokina 12-24 f/4 | 24-85 f/3.5-4.5 | 24-105 f/4L | 50 f/1.8 | 70-200 f/4L | Metz 50 AF-1
Reviews & Articles (external link) | 500px (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
downhillbiker23
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
85 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 3
Joined Dec 2012
     
Jan 06, 2013 20:27 |  #11

Leopold Stotch wrote in post #15454053 (external link)
Make sure it says TTL (or some variant of that) and not S1 or S2 near the top right of the flash's LCD. Beyond that, I'm not sure what else could be causing this, assuming you got the Canon version of the flash.



It's in TTL mode. Don't think it's in slave mode. It's for canon


Canon 7d Gripped/ Canon T3i Gripped/ Canon 18-55/ Canon 18-135/ Canon 70-200L f2.8IS/ Flycam C5/ Yongnuo YN560II, YN560III
Next Purchase- 24-70 f2.8
QJMedia-NJ.com
info@QJmedia-NJ.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Carver708
Member
Avatar
62 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 13
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Leduc County, Alberta
     
Jan 06, 2013 20:49 |  #12

Is the external flash mode on your camera enabled?


Canon 60D | Canon 1Ds | Canon 1 Ds Mark II | EF 300 f/2.8L IS USM | EF 24-105 f/4L IS USM | EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS USM | EFS 17-85 IS USM | Sigma 50 f/1.4 | Tokina 12-24 f/4 | Canon 2X II TC | Tamron SP AF 1.4X TC | 430 EX II | Kenko tubes

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rrblint
Listen! .... do you smell something?
Avatar
22,683 posts
Gallery: 83 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 2300
Joined May 2012
Location: U.S.A.
     
Jan 06, 2013 20:54 as a reply to  @ downhillbiker23's post |  #13

Ok, what exactly is happening here?

After the lens has focused, you fully depress the shutter button and the pic is taken but the flash does not fire...Is this correct?

Also, what shooting mode do you have the mode dial set to?...You're not on the flash-off mode are you?


Mark

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
downhillbiker23
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
85 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 3
Joined Dec 2012
     
Jan 06, 2013 21:07 as a reply to  @ rrblint's post |  #14

I am using just the simple auto mode. Simplest form out there. Not in flash off mode. To be more specific. It's the green A+ on the dial


And yes that's correct. Camera focus and picture is taken. Flash doesn't fire


Canon 7d Gripped/ Canon T3i Gripped/ Canon 18-55/ Canon 18-135/ Canon 70-200L f2.8IS/ Flycam C5/ Yongnuo YN560II, YN560III
Next Purchase- 24-70 f2.8
QJMedia-NJ.com
info@QJmedia-NJ.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
yogestee
"my posts can be a little colourful"
Avatar
13,845 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 37
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Australia
     
Jan 06, 2013 21:24 as a reply to  @ downhillbiker23's post |  #15

The obvious but trying to eliminate problems.

Is the flash mounted as far as it will go in the hotshoe and locked down?


Jurgen
50D~700D~EOS M~G11~S95~GoPro Hero4 Silver
http://www.pbase.com/j​urgentreue (external link)
The Title Fairy,, off with her head!!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,388 views & 0 likes for this thread
Yongnuo YN468 speedlite on T3i Problems
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is ShafferShots
1078 guests, 158 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.