Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Forums  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear
Guest
Forums  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Digital Cameras 
Thread started 15 Jan 2013 (Tuesday) 07:44
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links (only for non-logged)

5D Mk3 - focusing screen

 
lensmen
Goldmember
Avatar
1,563 posts
Joined Oct 2004
     
Jan 15, 2013 07:44 |  #1

I am tempted to order the EC-L from www.focusingscreen.com (external link) for my 5D3.

More my manual focusing lens and times that i cannot rely on the AF to lock in focus.

Has anyone tried this route before ?

Will you lose the grid & level display in the view finder ?

thanks


Jimmy
Just my 2 frame's worth :D:D:D
My Gear List
500px album (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gh ­ patriot
Goldmember
1,310 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Grand Haven, Michigan U.S.S.A.
     
Jan 15, 2013 08:04 |  #2

The focusing screen in the 5D3 is not changeable.


2 x 5D III | 40D | Rokinon 14 2.8 | 35L | 50[B]L | 85IIL | 100 L |135L | 300 f4L | | 24-70L | | 70-200 2.8L II | 2XL |
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GoodEye906
Member
238 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2012
     
Jan 15, 2013 08:09 |  #3

False. It is interchangeable, just not user friendly...

http://www.focusingscr​een.com/work/5d3en.htm (external link)


- Joe
1D IV | 5D III | 16-35 f/2.8 L II | 24-70 f/2.8 L II | 70-200 f/2.8 L IS II | 50 f/1.2 L | 85 f/1.2 L II | 100 f/2.8 L | 135 f/2 L | 1.4x Extender III | 2x Extender III | 430EX II | 600EX-RT | (2x) AB800's | PW MiniTT1 | PW FlexTT5 | PW AC3 | PW AC9

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gh ­ patriot
Goldmember
1,310 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Grand Haven, Michigan U.S.S.A.
     
Jan 15, 2013 08:17 |  #4

GoodEye906 wrote in post #15491010 (external link)
False. It is interchangeable, just not user friendly...

http://www.focusingscr​een.com/work/5d3en.htm (external link)

Ok, well have fun with that. :rolleyes:


2 x 5D III | 40D | Rokinon 14 2.8 | 35L | 50[B]L | 85IIL | 100 L |135L | 300 f4L | | 24-70L | | 70-200 2.8L II | 2XL |
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GoodEye906
Member
238 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2012
     
Jan 15, 2013 08:30 |  #5

I have no intentions on changing mine unless something happens to it, it's bright enough for what I need. But just stating that technically it is changeable. : )


- Joe
1D IV | 5D III | 16-35 f/2.8 L II | 24-70 f/2.8 L II | 70-200 f/2.8 L IS II | 50 f/1.2 L | 85 f/1.2 L II | 100 f/2.8 L | 135 f/2 L | 1.4x Extender III | 2x Extender III | 430EX II | 600EX-RT | (2x) AB800's | PW MiniTT1 | PW FlexTT5 | PW AC3 | PW AC9

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lensmen
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,563 posts
Joined Oct 2004
     
Jan 15, 2013 21:30 as a reply to  @ GoodEye906's post |  #6

Yes, it is changeable. The current screen makes manual focusing a bit too challenging.

So, no one taken this route ?


Jimmy
Just my 2 frame's worth :D:D:D
My Gear List
500px album (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
Wait.. you can't unkill your own kill.
Avatar
57,741 posts
Likes: 4072
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Jan 15, 2013 21:33 |  #7

Why not use LV for manual focusing? It's a whole lot more accurate.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BryantFC
Goldmember
2,606 posts
Likes: 19
Joined Jun 2011
Location: New Orleans, LA
     
Jan 15, 2013 21:38 |  #8

Wow, that looks awesome! Does it affect your metering in any way?


Mamiya M645 1000S, Mamiya RZ67, Polaroid SX-70 Alpha, Polaroid 250 Auto Land Camera, Leica M3, Canon Elan II
www.bryantphethmanh.co​m (external link)
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/bryantphethmanh​/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Sirrith
Cream of the Crop
10,545 posts
Gallery: 50 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 36
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Hong Kong
     
Jan 15, 2013 22:13 |  #9

gjl711 wrote in post #15494161 (external link)
Why not use LV for manual focusing? It's a whole lot more accurate.

The same reasons we don't use LV for AF (besides speed) :)

Less stability, awkward to use.


-Tom
Flickr (external link)
F-Stop Guru review | RRS BH-40 review

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drive_75
Senior Member
748 posts
Joined Apr 2006
Location: California
     
Jan 15, 2013 22:25 |  #10

lensmen wrote in post #15494154 (external link)
Yes, it is changeable. The current screen makes manual focusing a bit too challenging.

So, no one taken this route ?

It doesn't look challenging at all. I don't have a 5D3. If I do, I would change the screen in a heart beat. I love my Zeiss lens. Replacing the screen only take two screws. How hard is that?:rolleyes:




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kin2son
Goldmember
4,546 posts
Likes: 3
Joined May 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Jan 15, 2013 22:29 |  #11
bannedPermanent ban

I use my Zeiss 50 MP with 5D3 and the focus confirmation is dead accurate.

Other people have similar experience.

So not sure if it's really necessary to change it.


5D3 Gripped / 17-40L / Σ35 / 40 Pancake / Zeiss 50 MP / Σ85 / 100L Macro / 70-200 f2.8L II IS / 430 EX II / 580 EX II / Canon 2xIII TC / Kenko Ext. Tubes
EOS M / EF-M 18-55 / EF-M 22f2 / Ricoh GR aka Ultimate street camera :p
Flickr (external link) | My Images on Getty®‎ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jonneymendoza
Goldmember
3,794 posts
Likes: 391
Joined Apr 2008
     
Jan 16, 2013 03:16 |  #12

drive_75 wrote in post #15494340 (external link)
It doesn't look challenging at all. I don't have a 5D3. If I do, I would change the screen in a heart beat. I love my Zeiss lens. Replacing the screen only take two screws. How hard is that?:rolleyes:

Looks easy and doesnt event look as if it will void your warranty


Canon 5dmkIII | Canon 85L 1.2 | Sigma 35mm ART 1.4|Canon 16-35mm L 2.8 |Canon 24-70mm L f2.8 | Canon 70-200mm F2.8L MK2 | Canon 430EX MK2 Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bratkinson
Senior Member
643 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Western MA
     
Jan 16, 2013 03:23 |  #13

For manual-focus lenses, using LiveView makes focusing quite easy, especially for subjects that don't move.

As far as AF not locking focus for you on your 5D3, try using only cross-type focus points, or even center point only. I've had good success with just about everything while using AI Servo. The 'trick' is seeing the active AF points in the viewfinder and then lining up to one of them.


"Never tell people how to do things. Tell them what to do and they will surprise you with their ingenuity." General George S Patton, Jr 1885-1945

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lensmen
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,563 posts
Joined Oct 2004
     
Jan 17, 2013 18:50 |  #14

Sirrith wrote in post #15494299 (external link)
The same reasons we don't use LV for AF (besides speed) :)

Less stability, awkward to use.

Exactly, why I need to pay upto US$120 for this fix.


Jimmy
Just my 2 frame's worth :D:D:D
My Gear List
500px album (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lensmen
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,563 posts
Joined Oct 2004
     
Jan 17, 2013 18:54 |  #15

drive_75 wrote in post #15494340 (external link)
It doesn't look challenging at all. I don't have a 5D3. If I do, I would change the screen in a heart beat. I love my Zeiss lens. Replacing the screen only take two screws. How hard is that?:rolleyes:

It looks & feels scary, especially when it is my own US$3k camera that is very delicate. ^-^

Anyway, I am sure that if the steps are complicated or troublesome, the forums will be flooded with complains (similar to those back/front focusing lenses). No ?


Jimmy
Just my 2 frame's worth :D:D:D
My Gear List
500px album (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links (only for non-logged)

9,823 views & 0 likes for this thread, 16 members have posted to it.
5D Mk3 - focusing screen
FORUMS Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Forums   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset   •  Home

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.58forum software
version 2.58 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member was a spammer, and banned as such!
2773 guests, 107 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15,144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.