Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 23 Jan 2013 (Wednesday) 18:33
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

The ironically named "Q" button...

 
talbot_sunbeam
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
848 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: UK
     
Jan 24, 2013 05:56 |  #31

kfreels wrote in post #15526534 (external link)
Sure. There are several settings that you don't have buttons for that you have to access through the menus otherwise. Exposure bracketing, picture styles, white balance, metering mode, ALO, picture quality, focus mode, and drive mode. Also as mentioned above, it stays in the same spot you last adjusted which is cool.

All of those things, apart from the already mentioned exposure bracketing, and admittedly ALO (I don't use it, so for me at least that's irrelevant), have dedicated direct buttons, at least on the 7D, that you can operate without even having to drop the camera from your eye - which was what prompted the initial post and my query as to how useful the feature is.

The thread has thrown up some interesting things for me to try though, which was kinda the point...



7D, 450D | 17-55, 10-22, 55-250, 50 1.8, 580EXII | YN568II | YN622 x3 | Magic Lantern | (Still) Jonesing for a 70-200 2.8...
Turns out a gripped 7D + 622 + 580exII + 70-200 2.8 IS MK2 is BLOODY HEAVY! Who knew?!!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Klystron
Goldmember
2,727 posts
Gallery: 14 photos
Likes: 177
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Essex, UK
     
Jan 24, 2013 06:10 as a reply to  @ talbot_sunbeam's post |  #32

As I have to use glasses to read, but dont need them to look through the view finder. So for the top screen I have to put on my glasses, but I can just about read the quick screen without glasses. This is then quicker, as I'm getting old !


Sony A9, A7R II, Sony A7 III, A5000
zenfolio (external link) - flickr (external link) - 500px (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gregg.Siam
Goldmember
Avatar
2,383 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Location: Bangkok
     
Jan 24, 2013 06:22 as a reply to  @ Klystron's post |  #33

Yeah, I'd *love* to set it to ISO.. :sad:

Didn't you recently purchase a 5D3? If so, you can change the SET button to ISO. I have and I wonder how I even used my camera before. Now I can very quickly change ISO while never having to go to the ISO menu.

Having ISO on a top button is just cumbersome as I could never shoot and hit the small ISO button with my finger.


5D MKIII | 24-105mm f/4 L| 50mm f/1.8 | 600EX-RT [FONT=Tahoma][COLOR=bl​ue][FONT="]|
∞ 500px (external link)
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Azathoth
" ...whose name no lips dare speak aloud"
Avatar
1,492 posts
Gallery: 650 photos
Best ofs: 6
Likes: 4388
Joined Jul 2012
Location: Funchal
     
Jan 24, 2013 06:31 |  #34

Ando27 wrote in post #15527185 (external link)
And 7D

And 1100D and probably other Rebels. :rolleyes:


500px (external link) | flickr (external link) | Facebook (external link) | Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CallumRD1
Senior Member
Avatar
423 posts
Gallery: 20 photos
Likes: 416
Joined Sep 2012
Location: Boulder, Colorado
     
Jan 24, 2013 06:46 |  #35

El Pedro wrote in post #15527104 (external link)
Pretty sure it's on. The 1DX 5D3 7D 650D, maybe even the 50D too

It is also on the 550D and 600D (T2i and T3i). I love how easy it makes setting flash exposure compensation on the fly.


Canon EOS R | EF 16-35mm f/4L IS USM • RF 35mm f/1.8 IS Macro • RF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM • EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM • Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kfreels
Goldmember
Avatar
4,297 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Princeton, IN
     
Jan 24, 2013 08:26 |  #36

talbot_sunbeam wrote in post #15527388 (external link)
All of those things, apart from the already mentioned exposure bracketing, and admittedly ALO (I don't use it, so for me at least that's irrelevant), have dedicated direct buttons, at least on the 7D, that you can operate without even having to drop the camera from your eye - which was what prompted the initial post and my query as to how useful the feature is.

The thread has thrown up some interesting things for me to try though, which was kinda the point...

Right. Assuming that you actually use those things often enough to get used to using those buttons. People like me on the other hand who rarely change those things and don't develop those habits may find it easier to go to the back screen than looking down on the top of the camera. In the dark if you don't have the top buttons memorized then it's hard to decipher which button is which. I don't know about others, but I go to the Q menu for the items I don't change often. I really couldn't tell you why. If I had to change them more frequently I would probably have the buttons memorized.

Either way, It's just another way to do things. No doubt if the Q button wasn't there, people would be asking "why not?" and that's probably the main reason it is on the 7D.


I am serious....and don't call me Shirley.
Canon 7D and a bunch of other stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BrandonSi
Nevermind.. I'm silly.
Avatar
5,306 posts
Gallery: 62 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 143
Joined Sep 2004
Location: Chicago
     
Jan 24, 2013 08:29 |  #37

Gregg.Siam wrote in post #15527422 (external link)
Didn't you recently purchase a 5D3? If so, you can change the SET button to ISO. I have and I wonder how I even used my camera before. Now I can very quickly change ISO while never having to go to the ISO menu.

Having ISO on a top button is just cumbersome as I could never shoot and hit the small ISO button with my finger.

Yes, I have SET to magnify, which is more useful for me. Looks like as others have mentioned you can sort-of set 'Q' to ISO, though testing it out last night I'm not sure if it's more useful than top-button ISO. My fingers have yet to find the Q button consistently.. maybe it just needs practice.


[ www (external link)· flickr (external link)]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Nick5
Goldmember
Avatar
3,083 posts
Likes: 187
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Philadelphia Suburbs
     
Jan 24, 2013 08:35 |  #38

Klystron wrote in post #15527405 (external link)
As I have to use glasses to read, but dont need them to look through the view finder. So for the top screen I have to put on my glasses, but I can just about read the quick screen without glasses. This is then quicker, as I'm getting old !

Summed it well for me too Klystron.


Canon 5D Mark III (x2), BG-E11 Grips, 7D (x2) BG-E7 Grips, Canon Lenses 16-35 f/4 L IS, 17-40 f/4 L, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 70-200 f/2.8 L IS II, 70-200 f/4 L IS, 70-200 f/4 L IS Version II, 100-400 f/4.5-5.6 L IS Version II, TS-E 24 f/3.5 L II, 100 f/2.8 L Macro IS, 10-22 f3.5-4.5, 17-55 f/2.8 L IS, 85 f/1.8, Canon 1.4 Extender III, 5 Canon 600 EX-RT, 2 Canon ST-E3 Transmitters, Canon Pixma PRO-10 Printer

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
agedbriar
Goldmember
Avatar
2,616 posts
Likes: 346
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Slovenia
     
Jan 24, 2013 10:15 |  #39

talbot_sunbeam wrote in post #15527370 (external link)
I'm not sure what you mean by this?

On the 5D3, you invoke Menu and the Q button lets you cycle through the main menu headings, rather than having to turn the top wheel through all menu functions to access a distant one.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
talbot_sunbeam
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
848 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: UK
     
Jan 24, 2013 11:58 |  #40

agedbriar wrote in post #15528093 (external link)
On the 5D3, you invoke Menu and the Q button lets you cycle through the main menu headings, rather than having to turn the top wheel through all menu functions to access a distant one.

Oh ok - it doesn't do that on the 7D. When the menus are up pressing the Q button does nothing.



7D, 450D | 17-55, 10-22, 55-250, 50 1.8, 580EXII | YN568II | YN622 x3 | Magic Lantern | (Still) Jonesing for a 70-200 2.8...
Turns out a gripped 7D + 622 + 580exII + 70-200 2.8 IS MK2 is BLOODY HEAVY! Who knew?!!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
4100xpb
Member
66 posts
Joined Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver
     
Jan 24, 2013 14:01 |  #41

For my taste, the 60D has buttons/dials for almost everything I want quick access to. The main one lacking, as others have mentioned, is flash exposure compensation. I generally leave the Q menu on the FEC and use that button to quickly adjust it.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Scott ­ M
Goldmember
3,152 posts
Gallery: 62 photos
Likes: 232
Joined May 2008
Location: Michigan
     
Jan 24, 2013 14:06 |  #42

Klystron wrote in post #15527405 (external link)
As I have to use glasses to read, but dont need them to look through the view finder. So for the top screen I have to put on my glasses, but I can just about read the quick screen without glasses. This is then quicker, as I'm getting old !

This is exactly why I like the feature, and will use it to change some of the settings I do not adjust as often.


Photo Gallery (external link)
Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Yogi ­ Bear
Goldmember
1,492 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2009
Location: League City, TX USA (Houston)
     
Jan 24, 2013 15:35 as a reply to  @ Scott M's post |  #43

apersson850 wrote in post #15527190 (external link)
I sometimes use it during image review. Pressing the Q button provides easy access to some features, like turning AF point display on/off etc.

I just tried this on my 7D and it did nothing during image review. Does this function have to be 'enabled' somehow?


Canon EOS 7D | EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM | EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS |
EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM | 250D | EF-S 10-22 mm f/3.5-4.5 USM | 580 EX II |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
talbot_sunbeam
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
848 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: UK
     
Jan 24, 2013 15:54 |  #44

Yogi Bear wrote in post #15529240 (external link)
I just tried this on my 7D and it did nothing during image review. Does this function have to be 'enabled' somehow?

Works for me on 2.0.3... what firmware version are you running?



7D, 450D | 17-55, 10-22, 55-250, 50 1.8, 580EXII | YN568II | YN622 x3 | Magic Lantern | (Still) Jonesing for a 70-200 2.8...
Turns out a gripped 7D + 622 + 580exII + 70-200 2.8 IS MK2 is BLOODY HEAVY! Who knew?!!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Yogi ­ Bear
Goldmember
1,492 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2009
Location: League City, TX USA (Houston)
     
Jan 24, 2013 16:06 |  #45

Yogi Bear wrote in post #15529240 (external link)
I just tried this on my 7D and it did nothing during image review. Does this function have to be 'enabled' somehow?

talbot_sunbeam wrote in post #15529316 (external link)
Works for me on 2.0.3... what firmware version are you running?

Maybe that's it, but I've never seen it mentioned in any of the literature about v 2.0.3. I'm still on v. 1.2.5.

Thanks.

Yogi


Canon EOS 7D | EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM | EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS |
EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM | 250D | EF-S 10-22 mm f/3.5-4.5 USM | 580 EX II |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7,081 views & 0 likes for this thread
The ironically named "Q" button...
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is MycalKay
1416 guests, 344 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.