Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 30 Jul 2012 (Monday) 16:44
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Yongnuo YN-622C Controller Trigger

 
oldvultureface
Goldmember
Avatar
4,228 posts
Gallery: 71 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 239
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Northwest Indiana USA
     
Feb 09, 2013 12:55 |  #1891

Stone 13 wrote in post #15590970 (external link)
I'm still experimenting with multiple speedlites, but I have a question:

I have Canon 430 & a YN 568EX with 3 622Cs and I'm noticing a very slight delay between the 2 flashes firing. The 568EX always seems to fire a millisecond or so sooner than the 430, I can swap transceivers between the camera and flashes and it still behaves the same way. I placed the flashes side-by-side and it's very noticeable although I haven't seen any problems with my exposures. Is this normal?

If your playing with E-TTL and groups, the 568 may be firing its preflash first, then the 430, then the actual exposure pop. This is a wild guess, however. :)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
ksbal
Goldmember
Avatar
2,585 posts
Gallery: 331 photos
Best ofs: 9
Likes: 2017
Joined Sep 2010
Location: N.E. Kansas
     
Feb 09, 2013 13:03 |  #1892

sherpa25 wrote in post #15590906 (external link)
But w/ 0 or 1 on-cam flash, and 1 or more slave flashes, I believe the 622 will be able to handle them too, right? In other words, a pair of 603's only for remote shutter release, and 622's to drive all flashes (on and off-cam) in E-TTL. On the other hand, the lower priced 603 would be better if slaves would be used only in manual. Is this correct?

Yes, 603 pair for remote only, 622's everywhere else.

I don't know about 603's 'better' for manual use... 603's are cheaper, but the 622's will let you change the flash power from the camera, don't have to run around and change them if you have compatible flashes (430ex2, yn568ex, 580ex2 etc)

That said, If you have flashes that are manual only or can't take advantage of the 622 (can't ettl or 'talk'), then it makes perfect sense to have the 603's. I have both, use both, like both.


Godox/Flashpoint r2 system, plus some canon stuff.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
24Peter
Senior Member
Avatar
812 posts
Joined Nov 2005
Location: Dover, NJ
     
Feb 09, 2013 13:16 as a reply to  @ ksbal's post |  #1893

OK - finally had time to test the SuperSync with my AB1600. A primary attraction for me of the 622C's (been using 602's, then 603's for years) was the possibility of getting higher shutter speeds on my AB's when shooting outdoors. Here are my results (the difference between the two properly exposed shots is due to the different softboxes but you get the idea.

IMAGE: http://photos.imageevent.com/24peter/uploads/postuploads4/large/IMG_2749t.jpg

IMAGE: http://photos.imageevent.com/24peter/uploads/postuploads4/large/IMG_2751t.jpg

IMAGE: http://photos.imageevent.com/24peter/uploads/postuploads4/large/IMG_2753t.jpg

I used a 1/1000th shutter to be generous here. 1/8000th was completely black.

Conclusion: no supersync advantage with AB1600.

Only good news on the 622C's is I get clean frames at 1/200th on my 5DII with AB strobes and 622C's. With 602's & 603's, I had to shoot at 1/160th or even 1/125th to get clean frames.

While I am disappointed in the results I get with my AB, I am interested in being able to use HSS off-camera with Speedlites, though my 430EX II ain't enough to overpower sun (I also have a 430EX but it is a PITA to have to adjust settings on the flash itself rather than via the camera menu.)

I will say the SuperSync images looked a little better when shot with my 60D, but still not useable at all IMO. So, am I missing something here? Some people seem to be claiming different results. Got pics?

Canon 5D II, 70D, 28 1.8, 85 1.8, 17-40 F4 L, 24-105 F4 L IS, 70-200 F4 L IS, 2X 430 EX II's, YN568EX
greatproductshots.com (external link)
superstarheadshots.com (external link)
peteralessandriaphotog​raphy.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Stone ­ 13
Goldmember
Avatar
1,690 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Huntersville, NC
     
Feb 09, 2013 13:27 |  #1894

oldvultureface wrote in post #15591270 (external link)
If your playing with E-TTL and groups, the 568 may be firing its preflash first, then the 430, then the actual exposure pop. This is a wild guess, however. :)

I though this was the cause earlier, but all flashes are in the same group. One 622 in my 7D hotshoe and 1 622 on each flash. The 568 just seems to fire first no matter what I do. Again, we're not talking about a long delay but I did notice it out of the corner of my eye when I was doing a few portraits. It's quite noticeable when the flashes are fired side-by-side.


Ken
Fujifilm X100T | 5D III gripped |35L | 24-70 2.8L II | 70-200 2.8L IS II | 85 1.8 | 430 EX II | Yongnuo YN-568EX | Billingham 445 | Think Tank UD 60 |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DarkBoxPhotography
Senior Member
380 posts
Joined Jan 2011
Location: UK
     
Feb 09, 2013 15:08 as a reply to  @ Stone 13's post |  #1895

Having 603 and 622 attached to the camera's hotshoe at the same time, really drains the camera battery very quickly :eek:


Adrian
Gear
My website

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sherpa25
Member
55 posts
Joined Nov 2012
     
Feb 09, 2013 20:53 |  #1896

ksbal wrote in post #15591298 (external link)
Yes, 603 pair for remote only, 622's everywhere else.

I don't know about 603's 'better' for manual use... 603's are cheaper, but the 622's will let you change the flash power from the camera, don't have to run around and change them if you have compatible flashes (430ex2, yn568ex, 580ex2 etc)

That said, If you have flashes that are manual only or can't take advantage of the 622 (can't ettl or 'talk'), then it makes perfect sense to have the 603's. I have both, use both, like both.

Great. That offers some options. Currently have only a 568ex, and the options will help in deciding the next type of flash & triggers.

DarkBoxPhotography wrote in post #15591622 (external link)
Having 603 and 622 attached to the camera's hotshoe at the same time, really drains the camera battery very quickly :eek:

Oh really? :-o :lol: Good thing to consider too.


Canon EOS 60D | Σ17-50 f2.8 | Canon 50mm f1.8 | Canon EF-S 55-250mm f3.5-5.6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Robert ­ Welch
Junior Member
27 posts
Joined Apr 2012
Location: New Orleans
     
Feb 09, 2013 23:20 |  #1897

I recently got a set of YN622C transceivers, along with the YN568 flash. I have some Canon 580ex flashes and one 580exII. I'd just like to confirm some things that I'm finding in my test as to how these will work. I have several camera bodies, the main one I'm testing with is a 6D since it has all the controls available.

My main question is in using the YN622, with the 580exII mounted on the camera and the YN568 off-camera, it seems that in eTTL mode, everything in channel one/group A, if I set the flash itself to FEC zero, then by setting the FEC on the camera menu, it is affecting both the flash on-camera the same. However, if I adjust the FEC on the 580exII flash panel itself, it seems to overide the FEC setting for the 580, and the FEC adjustment on the camera menu is only affecting the YN568 off camera. That is what it appears to me, is this correct?

Question #2: I've also been trying the 580ex (first version) on the camera mounted YN622. This flash seems to only respond to adjustments made on the 580ex flash menu, not from the camera menu. So to adjust the FEC for this flash, I have to do it on the flash itself, adjusting the FEC on the camera menu only affects the off-camera flash, am I seeing this correct? It's hard for me to confirm this visually. The other thing I've found, is that with the 580ex mounted on the camera mounted 622, I can keep it in eTTL and make FEC adjustments on the flash itself, while setting the remote off-camera YN568 to manual mode and adjust that flash independently. I tried this a couple of times, and once it didn't seem to work properly, at least I didn't seem to be able to change the 580ex output by changing the FEC on the flash, yet it remained in eTTL mode and the off camera flash was properly receiving manual flash power adjustments, but later I tried it again and it seemed to work. I tried this with two different 580ex flashes, so either one isn't working properly or I just didn't have it seated properly, perhaps. Either way, I did seem to be able to get this configuration to work (unlike using the 580exII which apparently I would have to go into mix mode to use it in eTTL while using the off camera flashes in manual). Am I correct in all this? I'm just trying to confirm what I'm seeing.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Robert ­ Welch
Junior Member
27 posts
Joined Apr 2012
Location: New Orleans
     
Feb 10, 2013 01:02 |  #1898

Ok, I just did another test and it doesn't seem that the 580ex will work properly in eTTL on the camera when the off-camera flash setting on the camera menu is in manual mode. I swear it seemed to work before, then it wouldn't, then it did, and now it doesn't, I'm confused. Is it only supposed to work this way in mix mode, and nothing else?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hbomb69
Senior Member
Avatar
255 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Lancashire, UK
     
Feb 10, 2013 03:27 |  #1899

Peter,

Where you are going wrong is, for each stop of increased shutter speed, you need to compensate by either opening up a stop of aperture or increase your ISO a stop. this will level out your expsosure.

Hypersync wont magically increase your flash power/expsoure, it will just allow you to use the Tail of the flash once you go over your max sync speed, but if you increase your shutter speed (which is your objective) you'll be using less of the 'Tail' of the flash, so again you'll need to compensate by Fstop or ISO.

So...for outside use as you mentioned, if your exspoure is 1/200th at F16, if you increase to 1/800th you need to open up to F8, 1/1600th to F5.6, 1/3200th to F4....the primary obejective of hypersync outdoors is to allow you to use wider apertures F2.8/F4 it will not increase the efficieny of the flash or alter the Flash ambient ratio.

Hope this helps.:)

24Peter wrote in post #15591337 (external link)
OK F finally had time to test the SuperSync with my AB1600. A primary attraction for me of the 622C's (been using 602's, then 603's for years) was the possibility of getting higher shutter speeds on my AB's when shooting outdoors. Here are my results (the difference between the two properly exposed shots is due to the different softboxes but you get the idea.

QUOTED IMAGE

QUOTED IMAGE

QUOTED IMAGE

I used a 1/1000th shutter to be generous here. 1/8000th was completely black.

Conclusion: no supersync advantage with AB1600.

Only good news on the 622C's is I get clean frames at 1/200th on my 5DII with AB strobes and 622C's. With 602's & 603's, I had to shoot at 1/160th or even 1/125th to get clean frames.

While I am disappointed in the results I get with my AB, I am interested in being able to use HSS off-camera with Speedlites, though my 430EX II ain't enough to overpower sun (I also have a 430EX but it is a PITA to have to adjust settings on the flash itself rather than via the camera menu.)

I will say the SuperSync images looked a little better when shot with my 60D, but still not useable at all IMO. So, am I missing something here? Some people seem to be claiming different results. Got pics?


CANON 5D MKIII x 2 / CANON 50D / CANON 550D
http://www.michaelhard​castle.co.uk (external link)
Facebook.com/michaelha​rdcastlephotography

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hbomb69
Senior Member
Avatar
255 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Lancashire, UK
     
Feb 10, 2013 03:30 |  #1900

Doh! , just realised you did increase flash power from 1/32 to full power....Sorry..:) this must be because of the quicker Flash duration of the AB1600.


CANON 5D MKIII x 2 / CANON 50D / CANON 550D
http://www.michaelhard​castle.co.uk (external link)
Facebook.com/michaelha​rdcastlephotography

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
oldvultureface
Goldmember
Avatar
4,228 posts
Gallery: 71 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 239
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Northwest Indiana USA
     
Feb 10, 2013 06:05 |  #1901

Robert Welch wrote in post #15593102 (external link)
However, if I adjust the FEC on the 580exII flash panel itself, it seems to overide the FEC setting for the 580, and the FEC adjustment on the camera menu is only affecting the YN568 off camera. That is what it appears to me, is this correct?

If I understand your question, FEC is additive with the 622's. Adjusting FEC on the flash is added to the FEC set in the camera's menu. -1 in-camera and +2 on the flash would be +1 output in E-TTL.

If you haven't already, read Cllive's manual linked in his signature. It goes far beyond what's included with the triggers.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Robert ­ Welch
Junior Member
27 posts
Joined Apr 2012
Location: New Orleans
     
Feb 10, 2013 11:40 |  #1902

oldvultureface wrote in post #15593579 (external link)
If I understand your question, FEC is additive with the 622's. Adjusting FEC on the flash is added to the FEC set in the camera's menu. -1 in-camera and +2 on the flash would be +1 output in E-TTL.

If you haven't already, read Cllive's manual linked in his signature. It goes far beyond what's included with the triggers.

Thank you, that was my main question. I will read Clive's manual, I skimmed it, but it's time to really read it.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
24Peter
Senior Member
Avatar
812 posts
Joined Nov 2005
Location: Dover, NJ
     
Feb 10, 2013 11:45 |  #1903

hbomb69 wrote in post #15593449 (external link)
Doh! , just realised you did increase flash power from 1/32 to full power....Sorry..:) this must be because of the quicker Flash duration of the AB1600.

Yeah, that's what kind of disappointing and why I see no advantage here. Perhaps other strobes will faire better in this regard.

Just to be clear: I'm not trying to dis' the 622C. I am pleased to have full E-TTL w/ HSS off camera for my Canon Speedlites for $82. But just want to get the record straight on SuperSync with AB studio strobes.


Canon 5D II, 70D, 28 1.8, 85 1.8, 17-40 F4 L, 24-105 F4 L IS, 70-200 F4 L IS, 2X 430 EX II's, YN568EX
greatproductshots.com (external link)
superstarheadshots.com (external link)
peteralessandriaphotog​raphy.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DarkBoxPhotography
Senior Member
380 posts
Joined Jan 2011
Location: UK
     
Feb 10, 2013 12:49 as a reply to  @ 24Peter's post |  #1904

Any idea why 622 can't fire my studio strobe? If I attach one 622 to camera's hotshoe, second to the studio strobe, it won't fire. If I replace the 622s with 603s everything works.


Adrian
Gear
My website

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
24Peter
Senior Member
Avatar
812 posts
Joined Nov 2005
Location: Dover, NJ
     
Feb 10, 2013 13:29 |  #1905

DarkBoxPhotography wrote in post #15594737 (external link)
Any idea why 622 can't fire my studio strobe? If I attach one 622 to camera's hotshoe, second to the studio strobe, it won't fire. If I replace the 622s with 603s everything works.

Perhaps your channels aren't matched between the receiver and transmitter? As someone else mentioned, it is too easy to accidently change a setting by unintentionally hitting a button on the 622C's just handling the damn things.

Also, perhaps the sync cord isn't fully connected or you have a bad cord? (I know you said the 603's work but who knows about the cord...)


Canon 5D II, 70D, 28 1.8, 85 1.8, 17-40 F4 L, 24-105 F4 L IS, 70-200 F4 L IS, 2X 430 EX II's, YN568EX
greatproductshots.com (external link)
superstarheadshots.com (external link)
peteralessandriaphotog​raphy.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

714,306 views & 0 likes for this thread
Yongnuo YN-622C Controller Trigger
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Xtonys2018
852 guests, 386 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.