Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 16 Feb 2013 (Saturday) 11:55
Search threadPrev/next
POLL: "Have you ever had a memory card fail (don't include physical damage)?"
No
114
61%
Yes - CF card
50
26.7%
Yes - SD card
23
12.3%

187 voters, 187 votes given (1 choice only choices can be voted per member)). VOTING IS FOR MEMBERS ONLY.
BROWSE ALL POLLS
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Have you ever had a memory card fail?

 
jack880
Goldmember
Avatar
2,845 posts
Gallery: 13 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 736
Joined Apr 2011
Location: Manchester, UK
     
Feb 16, 2013 11:55 |  #1

Now that more and more cameras have dual card slots for backup, I was wondering how many people have actually had to use them?

I'm not talking about physical accidental damage, just want to know about cards becoming unrecoverably (is that a word) corrupted in the camera.

I've never had it happen to me...


https://www.flickr.com​/photos/jackhenriques/ (external link)
1DX, 7D, 20D, G7X II, 70-200 f/2.8 L IS II, 24-70 f/2.8 L, 16-35 f/2.8 L II, 50 f/1.8 II, 50 f/1.4, TS-E 17 f/4 L, 8-15 f/4 L, Sigma 17-50 f/2.8, Sigma 8-16 f/4.5-5.6, Sigma 150 f/2.8 macro, x1.4 extender II, Kenko extension tubes, 430 EX II x 2, DJI Mavic Air

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
vettracer
Member
60 posts
Likes: 38
Joined May 2008
     
Feb 16, 2013 12:00 |  #2

I have 3 Kingston Elite Pro CF cards that became unreadable. I reformatted one of them, but it quickly became unreadable again.

My Sandisk CF cards have not had a problem




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mrfixitx
Senior Member
Avatar
607 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Likes: 265
Joined Aug 2007
Location: Omaha NE
     
Feb 16, 2013 12:04 |  #3

I have had some transcend cards years ago that would give me corrupted images and once or twice say unreadable, I could reformat them in camera and then they would work. But they had around a 1-2% corrupt image rate consistently.


Dodging and burning are steps to take care of mistakes God made in establishing tonal relationships! - Ansel Adams (external link)
http://www.brandons-photography.com/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
vince_ross
Senior Member
350 posts
Joined Oct 2004
Location: Belpre, OH
     
Feb 16, 2013 12:12 as a reply to  @ mrfixitx's post |  #4

I've had both SD and CF cards fail, but I picked CF because I've had 1 more CF card fail than SD (I use CF cards more than SD).
The Sandisk CF cards (2) were replaced under warranty by Sandisk, no questions asked...
None of the others were replaced, other than what I bought to replace them.
I use mainly Transcend cards now. They have worked without failure, so far.


www.ohiovalleyphoto.ne​t (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
maverick75
Cream of the Crop
5,707 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 613
Joined May 2012
Location: Riverside,California
     
Feb 16, 2013 12:23 |  #5

I've had a sandisk CF and SD card go bad on me. And they were genuine ones from best buy. The SD lasted a year, the CF only a week.


- Alex Corona Sony A7, Canon 7DM2/EOS M, Mamiya 645/67
Flickr (external link) - 500px (external link) - Website (external link)- Feedback -Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
stayhumble
Goldmember
1,328 posts
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
     
Feb 16, 2013 12:23 |  #6
bannedPermanent ban

has any one had a card fail RIGHT OUT of camera?

Say you're shooting a wedding, 8gbs on a card and go to upload and it failed? that day would be hell for me. i always have wondered bout that.


There are no rules for a good photograph and there are no excuses for a bad one.
SELLING:40D, 50D, 10-22, Tamron 17-50 non VC, 5D, 14MM II, 24-105, 70-200 f/4 IS, 430EX, 530EX (ALL MINT W/Box)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
modchild
Goldmember
Avatar
1,469 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jul 2011
Location: Lincoln, Uk
     
Feb 16, 2013 12:49 |  #7

I've had 3 sd cards fail on me, but none of them were sdhc cards and they all happened more than 10 years ago. 1 wouldn't read or write and wouldn't let me format it either, another was corrupted during upload in a card reader and I couldn't do anything with that either, the last one had the lock switch break off and a bit was loose inside the card so I wouldn't risk using it in case the loose bit came out into the camera.

I use all 16Gb Duracell CF and SDHC cards now but I have got a 4Gb Sandisk card a 16Gb Verbatim CF that would only be used when the Duracell cards were full up.


EOS 5D MkIII, EOS 70D, EOS 650D, EOS M, Canon 24-70 f2.8L MkII, Canon 70-200 f2.8L IS MkII, Canon 100 f2.8L Macro, Canon 17-40 f4L IS, Canon 24-105 f4L IS, Canon 300 f4L IS, Canon 85 f1.8, Canon 50 f1.4, Canon 40 f2.8 STM, Canon 35 f2, Sigma 150-500 OS, Tamron 18-270 PZD, Tamron 28-300 VC, 580EX II Flash, Nissin Di866 MkII Flash, Sigma EM 140 Macro Flash and other bits.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Furlan
Senior Member
738 posts
Likes: 113
Joined Nov 2012
     
Feb 16, 2013 13:16 |  #8

I had a SanDisk CF card fail first time out. No problem as they have a lifetime warranty but it takes
a while for replacement. You will need your receipt from a reputable source no e-bay purchases from
who knows where.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
F14fanatic
Junior Member
26 posts
Joined Jan 2003
     
Feb 16, 2013 13:27 |  #9

I have had both CF and SD cards fail. I have cards from over 6 different companies. Transcend seems to be the worst. I have had several SD failures. I have over 20 4gb cards, and have had at least 5 failures. I also have a 32g 600x CF card that failed, was replaced and now every 3 times I put it in the camera, I get a message it needs to be formatted. I take it out, put it back and it works. I no longer use it, as I don't trust it.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
archer1960
Goldmember
Avatar
4,930 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 81
Joined Jul 2010
     
Feb 16, 2013 14:40 |  #10

The SD card that came with my camera kit failed early, within a few weeks, but I haven't had one fail in 20k shots since then (3 yrs).


Gripped 7D, gripped, full-spectrum modfied T1i (500D), SX50HS, A2E film body, Tamzooka (150-600), Tamron 90mm/2.8 VC (ver 2), Tamron 18-270 VC, Canon FD 100 f/4.0 macro, Canon 24-105 f/4L,Canon EF 200 f/2.8LII, Canon 85 f/1.8, Tamron Adaptall 2 90mmf/2.5 Macro, Tokina 11-16, Canon EX-430 flash, Vivitar DF-383 flash, Astro-Tech AT6RC and Celestron NexStar 102 GT telescopes, various other semi-crappy manual lenses and stuff.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
49,933 posts
Gallery: 161 photos
Likes: 6674
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Feb 16, 2013 14:46 |  #11

One CF card out of dozens in over a decade. it was a 256MB Kingston. It failed last year. From the capacity, you should have an idea how old it was.

It was NOT the Viking CF I dropped in the ocean.. which still works (though I don't use it as it is very small too.)

Two SD cards of mine have failed, a 1GB and a 2GB. So early ones..


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hollis_f
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,649 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 85
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Sussex, UK
     
Feb 17, 2013 08:39 |  #12

I voted no, which is a bit of a lie as I have had a CF card fail on me, but it wasn't the card's fault. I had it in a iPaq PDA (that, children, is a small pocket-computer we used to use in the days before smartphones). I'd told it to delete some files that I didn't want deleted, so I pulled the card. Managed to scramble almost everything on the card (luckily I had a fairly recent backup).


Frank Hollis - Retired mass spectroscopist
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he'll complain about the withdrawal of his free fish entitlement.
Gear Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tvphotog
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,093 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 37
Joined Aug 2007
Location: New York City
     
Feb 17, 2013 08:42 |  #13

I had a Lexar card fail, and the company replaced it within 4 days.


Jay
Ireland in Word and Image (external link) Jay Ben Images (external link)5D IV | 5DS/R | Powershot S100 | 24-105L | 100-400 IIL | 16-35 f/2.8 IIL | 24 T/S f /3.5L II | 17 T/S f/4L | 50mm f/1.2L | 35mm f/1.4L | 70-200 f/2.8L II | 580 EX II | 600 EX-RT | Feisol 3441T/Markins Q3T lever QR | Gitzo 3542L Markins Qi20 BV-22 | Gitzo 5561T RRS MH-02

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dave ­ kadolph
"Fix the cigarette lighter"
Avatar
6,138 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Mar 2007
Location: West Michigan--166.33 miles to the Cook County courthouse
     
Feb 17, 2013 10:12 |  #14

stayhumble wrote in post #15616515 (external link)
has any one had a card fail RIGHT OUT of camera?

Say you're shooting a wedding, 8gbs on a card and go to upload and it failed? that day would be hell for me. i always have wondered bout that.


Yes-- I thought I had lost the first half of a state quarterfinal football game on a SanDisk Ultra3--It reviewed in camera but came up with a read error in the computer and after that it would not read in the camera either.

I was able to recover the images with RescuePro that came with the card--and then it went straight in the trash. ;)


Middle age is when you can finally afford the things that a young man could truly enjoy.
Tools of the trade

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jbrackjr
Senior Member
481 posts
Likes: 35
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Georgia, USA
     
Feb 17, 2013 10:35 |  #15

Over the last 10 years I have had 2 dozen SD cards made by Kingston, Patriot, Sandisk & Transcend. None have failed. Now, I have 7 cards, 5 Sandisk & 2 Transcend


Jim
Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,829 views & 0 likes for this thread
Have you ever had a memory card fail?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is KathKirk33
986 guests, 318 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.