Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 25 Feb 2013 (Monday) 20:32
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Weird problem with 60D?

 
Rick67
Member
Avatar
142 posts
Joined Aug 2012
Location: Whitefish, MT
     
Feb 25, 2013 20:32 |  #1

I was shooting outside yesterday on AV mode with my LCD screen closed so I didn't see my images untill I offloaded them to my PC. They were all very underexposed which was strange since I was shooting wide open at ISO 400? Anyway I checked my camera and it was showing a shutter speed of like 1/8000 (on AV mode) and I thought that was crazy? In fact I was able to change aperature and shutter speed settings while on AV mode, it stayed that way until I did a re-start on the camera and now its fine. It was behaving like I was on M mode anybody ever experience this?

*pic on the left is the original RAW file, pic on right is after I fixed it in LR


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
lar55
Senior Member
277 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2010
     
Feb 25, 2013 21:03 |  #2

Does the EXIF for the picture say the camera was in M or Av?

I think it is possible to get the mode dial between Av and M, such that the camera is in M, but viewed from an angle it looks like it is in Av. The locking button makes it harder, but not impossible.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rick67
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
142 posts
Joined Aug 2012
Location: Whitefish, MT
     
Feb 25, 2013 21:15 |  #3

lar55 wrote in post #15652195 (external link)
Does the EXIF for the picture say the camera was in M or Av?

I think it is possible to get the mode dial between Av and M, such that the camera is in M, but viewed from an angle it looks like it is in Av. The locking button makes it harder, but not impossible.

Heres a screengrab of the info, you can see that I was in aperture mode.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
barrywpg
Mostly Lurking
19 posts
Joined Mar 2010
     
Feb 25, 2013 21:20 |  #4

Rick67 wrote in post #15652235 (external link)
Heres a screengrab of the info, you can see that I was in aperture mode.

shows exposure comp -5




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Phoenixkh
a mere speck
6,842 posts
Gallery: 67 photos
Likes: 1454
Joined May 2011
Location: Gainesville, Florida
     
Feb 25, 2013 21:20 |  #5

I noticed the exposure compensation was -5.... that might be significant.


Kim (the male variety) Canon 1DX2 | 1D IV | 16-35 f/4 IS | 24-105 f/4 IS | 100L IS macro | 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II | 100-400Lii | 50 f/1.8 STM | Canon 1.4X III
RRS tripod and monopod | 580EXII | Cinch 1 & Loop 3 Special Edition | Editing Encouraged

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Phoenixkh
a mere speck
6,842 posts
Gallery: 67 photos
Likes: 1454
Joined May 2011
Location: Gainesville, Florida
     
Feb 25, 2013 21:21 |  #6

lol.... Barry beat me by a hair..... well done.


Kim (the male variety) Canon 1DX2 | 1D IV | 16-35 f/4 IS | 24-105 f/4 IS | 100L IS macro | 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II | 100-400Lii | 50 f/1.8 STM | Canon 1.4X III
RRS tripod and monopod | 580EXII | Cinch 1 & Loop 3 Special Edition | Editing Encouraged

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
samsen
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,468 posts
Likes: 239
Joined Apr 2006
Location: LA
     
Feb 25, 2013 21:32 |  #7

LOL.


Weak retaliates,
Strong Forgives,
Intelligent Ignores!
Samsen
Picture editing OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rick67
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
142 posts
Joined Aug 2012
Location: Whitefish, MT
     
Feb 25, 2013 21:38 |  #8

Ok so its normal to be able to change Exposure Compensation while in Av mode? Am I having a brain fart??




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mwsilver
Goldmember
3,912 posts
Gallery: 51 photos
Likes: 499
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Central New Jersey
     
Feb 25, 2013 23:18 |  #9

Rick67 wrote in post #15652309 (external link)
Ok so its normal to be able to change Exposure Compensation while in Av mode? Am I having a brain fart??

Can't smell anything from here :) But seriously the ability to change exposure compensation in AV mode is critical to getting the best out of it. Push the Q button and move the field to the location just under the Mode, Shutter and Aperture fields. That's the exposure compensation/AEB field. In it you can increase or decrease Exposure + or - 5.


Mark
Canon 7D2, 60D, T3i, T2i, Sigma 18-35 f/1.8, 30 f/1.4. Canon EF 70-200 L f/4 IS, EF 35 f/2 IS, EFs 10-18 STM, EFs 15-85, EFs 18-200, EF 50 f/1.8 STM, Tamron 18-270 PZD, B+W MRC CPL, Canon 320EX, Vanguard Alta Pro 254CT & SBH 250 head. RODE Stereo Videomic Pro, DXO PhotoLab Elite, ON1

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hollis_f
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,649 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 85
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Sussex, UK
     
Feb 26, 2013 04:11 |  #10

Rick67 wrote in post #15652309 (external link)
Ok so its normal to be able to change Exposure Compensation while in Av mode?

Page 108 of your manual.


Frank Hollis - Retired mass spectroscopist
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he'll complain about the withdrawal of his free fish entitlement.
Gear Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
watt100
Cream of the Crop
14,021 posts
Likes: 29
Joined Jun 2008
     
Feb 26, 2013 08:51 |  #11

Rick67 wrote in post #15652309 (external link)
Ok so its normal to be able to change Exposure Compensation while in Av mode? Am I having a brain fart??

normal but not normally at -5




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rick67
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
142 posts
Joined Aug 2012
Location: Whitefish, MT
     
Feb 26, 2013 09:27 |  #12

Man do I feel stupid I thought my camera was broken, thanks for the help!!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mwsilver
Goldmember
3,912 posts
Gallery: 51 photos
Likes: 499
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Central New Jersey
     
Feb 26, 2013 10:44 |  #13

Rick67 wrote in post #15653663 (external link)
Man do I feel stupid I thought my camera was broken, thanks for the help!!

Its an incredibly useful feature to control exposures in Av and Tv modes. If you don't use it you are leaving exposure up to the camera. It might get it right, or it might not. Now that you know its there, you're in control.


Mark
Canon 7D2, 60D, T3i, T2i, Sigma 18-35 f/1.8, 30 f/1.4. Canon EF 70-200 L f/4 IS, EF 35 f/2 IS, EFs 10-18 STM, EFs 15-85, EFs 18-200, EF 50 f/1.8 STM, Tamron 18-270 PZD, B+W MRC CPL, Canon 320EX, Vanguard Alta Pro 254CT & SBH 250 head. RODE Stereo Videomic Pro, DXO PhotoLab Elite, ON1

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JohnB57
Goldmember
1,507 posts
Likes: 20
Joined Jul 2010
Location: Holmfirth, Yorkshire, England
     
Feb 26, 2013 14:24 |  #14

mwsilver wrote in post #15653958 (external link)
Its an incredibly useful feature to control exposures in Av and Tv modes.

Not to mention good ol' P mode, perhaps the most unmentioned, misunderstood and undervalued of all.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
almeeker
Member
102 posts
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Springfield Mo
     
Feb 26, 2013 14:34 |  #15

JohnB57 wrote in post #15654744 (external link)
Not to mention good ol' P mode, perhaps the most unmentioned, misunderstood and undervalued of all.

In what circumstances do you use P mode?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,349 views & 0 likes for this thread
Weird problem with 60D?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is argikon
843 guests, 220 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.