Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 04 Mar 2013 (Monday) 12:13
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Trigger 600EX from MKIII?

 
jeljohns
Senior Member
334 posts
Joined Nov 2009
     
Mar 04, 2013 12:13 |  #1

I have a 5D MKIII and recently got a 600EX. I understand that the 600 EX has radio built in, but the MKIII has no way to trigger the flash. My question: Is there some sort of trigger I can put on my camera that will trigger the 600EX without having an additional trigger on the flash. I'm looking for lower cost (so not interested in the Canon transmitter). I have been using Yonguo 602, but I thought it there was something I could put on camera only that would work better. The yonguo transmitter is a pain in the butt on my softbox.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
losangelino
Senior Member
940 posts
Gallery: 51 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 213
Joined Jul 2012
     
Mar 04, 2013 12:43 |  #2

Try the yongnuo yn622c if you aren't interested in the canon triggers. There is always the pw but at the price of a pw you can just get the canon ste3



Flickr (external link)
IG: @lensesandwheels (external link)cars | @photomagicology (external link) portraits
website: ClothesAndDagger.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jeljohns
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
334 posts
Joined Nov 2009
     
Mar 04, 2013 12:46 as a reply to  @ losangelino's post |  #3

But do I have to have a 622 on BOTH the camera and the flash, or just the camera?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Nightdiver13
Unabashed nerd!
Avatar
2,272 posts
Likes: 38
Joined May 2010
Location: Bigfoot Country
     
Mar 04, 2013 12:55 |  #4

Yes, you would need a transmitter and a receiver with any system aside from using Canon's RT system. For that you'd want a second 600ex or the st-e3.


Neil

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
How do I change this?
Avatar
14,848 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 8139
Joined Oct 2009
     
Mar 04, 2013 16:41 |  #5

Yes both the 600 and your 5D3 have to have an 622 on them. Kinda defeats the purpose of the 600. Sell the Yongnuos and buy the STE3. As you expand and get another 600 or more the groups feature is excellent. Your 5D3 is a 2012 production camera so it offers all the features Canon RT offers.

FYI. The STE3 does not have AF assist beam like the flash does. That upsets people if they buy it and figured it has it like the STE2 does.


Image Editing OK

Website (external link) ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Nightdiver13
Unabashed nerd!
Avatar
2,272 posts
Likes: 38
Joined May 2010
Location: Bigfoot Country
     
Mar 04, 2013 17:04 |  #6

digital paradise wrote in post #15676570 (external link)
FYI. The STE3 does not have AF assist beam like the flash does. That upsets people if they buy it and figured it has it like the STE2 does.

Does anyone know why they omitted it? As silly as it may seem to some, this is a deal breaker for me, and the only reason I haven't invested into their RT system.


Neil

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
How do I change this?
Avatar
14,848 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 8139
Joined Oct 2009
     
Mar 04, 2013 17:26 |  #7

I wish I knew. Not sure how the STE2 worked but since it was optical did it actually illuminate with a separate white light or did the AF assist piggy back of same set of lights that are red?

I broke down and have 3 flashes. In the studio the STE3 is fine. On the floor I just use out one on my camera and two others on stands. If we have good year I may get a 4th 600 but I doubt it.


Image Editing OK

Website (external link) ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Figtreephoto
Member
Avatar
70 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Likes: 102
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Northern, NJ
     
Mar 06, 2013 20:27 as a reply to  @ Nightdiver13's post |  #8

Ditto, I don't see any other way




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
26,898 posts
Likes: 39
Joined Feb 2003
Location: Keystone State, USA
     
Mar 06, 2013 23:19 |  #9

digital paradise wrote in post #15676703 (external link)
I wish I knew. Not sure how the STE2 worked but since it was optical did it actually illuminate with a separate white light or did the AF assist piggy back of same set of lights that are red?

I broke down and have 3 flashes. In the studio the STE3 is fine. On the floor I just use out one on my camera and two others on stands. If we have good year I may get a 4th 600 but I doubt it.

The ST-E2 is basically a small Canon flash with an infrared panel covering the flashhead. The AF assist light is emitted by a separate bulb underneath the flashhead and is covered my a red plastic panel, just like on the other Canon flashes.


...Leo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,095 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 328
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Mar 07, 2013 03:17 |  #10

jeljohns wrote in post #15675532 (external link)
I understand that the 600 EX has radio built in,

Unless you just took a shortcut when writing, then no, it does not have radio built in. But the 600 EX-RT does. Both versions exist, so the distinction is important.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
losangelino
Senior Member
940 posts
Gallery: 51 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 213
Joined Jul 2012
     
Mar 08, 2013 03:00 |  #11

^I also didnt realize there exist a 600ex (non RT). I looked up the flash product line on Canon's website and could not find it.



Flickr (external link)
IG: @lensesandwheels (external link)cars | @photomagicology (external link) portraits
website: ClothesAndDagger.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
26,898 posts
Likes: 39
Joined Feb 2003
Location: Keystone State, USA
     
Mar 08, 2013 04:42 |  #12

losangelino wrote in post #15690715 (external link)
^I also didnt realize there exist a 600ex (non RT). I looked up the flash product line on Canon's website and could not find it.

Only the EX-RT version is sold in the US & Canada but in Europe, both the RT and non-RT versions are sold. Download the 600EX-RT manual from the Canon web site and you'll see both versions referenced.


...Leo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,959 views & 0 likes for this thread
Trigger 600EX from MKIII?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is zsolt79
1368 guests, 316 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.