Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 13 Mar 2013 (Wednesday) 12:09
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Do you setup your camera to use the image straight from the camera or rely on PP?

 
canonfaithfulforever
Senior Member
430 posts
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Crowborough, U.k.
     
Mar 13, 2013 12:09 |  #1

Just wondering what everyone else does really, I started thinking about it again at the start of the week, im trying to get back into photography again and it just made me think that ive never been overly happy with how an image looks straight out of my 50D whereas i used to like images from my 400D, i know every single image can be made better with some editing but you get what i mean.

So do you have your image settings in camera so that you dont need to do any PP or do you shoot knowing every image (or keeper) will have to be edited/tweaked in LR or PS?

I know this is a kind of subjective thing too where if I like vibrancy, saturation or extreme contrast others may hate it hence why they might like a shot straight from the camera.

Thanks


Gear List - Flickrexternal link - Wordpressexternal link - 500pxexternal link

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
Avatar
12,924 posts
Likes: 12
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
     
Mar 13, 2013 12:15 |  #2

I prefer to set it up to get the maximum basic information as I can, which I then manipulate in post processing to achieve a pleasing result.

I try to produce a print that looks as though its "real", even if I know its taken masses of work on the PC to reach that point.


Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
irishman
Goldmember
Avatar
4,098 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
     
Mar 13, 2013 12:19 |  #3

^^^what Lowner said. Even Ansel Adams manipulated the print to create his "vision" of a scene.


6D, G9, Sigma 50 1.4, Sigma 15mm Fisheye, Sigma 50 2.8 macro, Nikon 14-24G 2.8, Canon 16-35 2.8 II, Canon 24-105 f/4 IS, Canon 70-200 2.8 IS, tripod, lights, other stuff.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tkbslc
Cream of the Crop
24,567 posts
Likes: 18
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Utah, USA
     
Mar 13, 2013 12:22 |  #4

I try to shoot the picture so it looks good without any processing, but I don't often succeed.

Essentially, I edit when I need to.


Taylor
Galleries: Flickr (external link)
60D | ELPH 330 | iPhone 5s

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
aliengin
Goldmember
1,158 posts
Likes: 77
Joined Mar 2011
     
Mar 13, 2013 12:31 |  #5

For me camera is the start of the workflow.


Ali Engin Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
suecassidy
Goldmember
Avatar
4,102 posts
Likes: 33
Joined May 2007
Location: Huntington Beach California
     
Mar 13, 2013 12:36 |  #6

I'm not sure about the phrase "rely on PP", lol. I don't typically use the image straight out of the camera, no. No matter how artistically and technically competent a photographer is, and I believe I"m quite good at both those things, I want CONTROL over the image in both regards. That involves post processing for images that matter to me or to my client.


Sue Cassidy
GEAR: Canon 1ds, Canon 1d Mark iii, Sony RX 100, Canon 50mmL 1.2, Canon 70-200L 2.8 IS, Canon 100-400L IS, Canon 14mm L, 2.8, . Lighting: Elinchrom Rangers, D-lite 400s, Canon 580/550 flashes. 74 ' Octabank, 27' Rotalux. Editing: Aperture 3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
37,177 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5928
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Mar 13, 2013 13:23 |  #7

I shoot both raw and jpg, and try to set up my WB and picture style that suits me. For each JPG that doesn't look good, or cannot be PP quickly and easily, I go to the raw and work through to the end in more detail.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: 2x Teleconverter
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TSchrief
Goldmember
Avatar
2,099 posts
Joined Aug 2012
Location: Bourbon, Indiana
     
Mar 13, 2013 13:53 |  #8
bannedPermanent ban

I only shoot raw when I have unusual WB situations, and when I have to go to ISO 3200 or higher. I know I'll be PP'ing any images I want to keep, so I want to start with the most information available.


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
37,177 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5928
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Mar 13, 2013 13:56 |  #9

Interesting, given that response, and knowing that periodically, raw processors become more improved so that even older files benefit, I would think you would always shoot raw. Since I consider the raw images to be the negatives, for my own use, I find keeping the negatives around more useful even into the future, than just keeping the snapshots. With 1TB USB drives well under $100, space is quite inexpensive, and will hold nearly 44K raw 60D files. At today's prices, that is 5 images per 1 penny.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: 2x Teleconverter
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,254 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 1541
Joined Dec 2006
     
Mar 13, 2013 14:00 |  #10

I certainly try to get things right in the camera, but I shoot raw so that I can make adjustments to an image based on that image and not some preset established and imagined before I picked up the camera. If time allowed to adjust each individual picture style element before each shot then perhaps shooting .jpg would be a better option, but thats not a real world scenario.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
modchild
Goldmember
Avatar
1,469 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jul 2011
Location: Lincoln, Uk
     
Mar 13, 2013 14:03 |  #11

I shoot a lot of Jpegs and I take a long time setting up my cameras to get it as right as possible. If I can get away with no PP at all then I'm happier than ever. In challenging situations where the light is changing rapidly then I'll shoot in both raw and Jpeg and use whichever works best.


EOS 5D MkIII, EOS 70D, EOS 650D, EOS M, Canon 24-70 f2.8L MkII, Canon 70-200 f2.8L IS MkII, Canon 100 f2.8L Macro, Canon 17-40 f4L IS, Canon 24-105 f4L IS, Canon 300 f4L IS, Canon 85 f1.8, Canon 50 f1.4, Canon 40 f2.8 STM, Canon 35 f2, Sigma 150-500 OS, Tamron 18-270 PZD, Tamron 28-300 VC, 580EX II Flash, Nissin Di866 MkII Flash, Sigma EM 140 Macro Flash and other bits.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Snydremark
my very own Lightrules moment
18,506 posts
Gallery: 47 photos
Likes: 1560
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
     
Mar 13, 2013 14:05 |  #12

I shoot RAW, exclusively, so some additional PP (beyond LR's import defaults) is almost always done on the images before they're exported to jpeg for show/print. The amount of PP varies from shoot to shoot, though.


- Eric S.: My Birds/Wildlife (external link) (7D MkII/5D IV, Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, Canon 24-105L f/4 IS, Canon 70-200L f/2.8 IS MkII, Canon 100-400L f/4.5-5.6 IS I/II)
"The easiest way to improve your photos is to adjust the loose nut between the shutter release and the ground."

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lovemyram4x4
Goldmember
Avatar
2,198 posts
Gallery: 97 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 57
Joined Mar 2013
Location: Temecula
     
Mar 13, 2013 14:06 |  #13

I shoot everything in RAW. I try get the shot as close as I can to what want, if my skill/equipment/condit​ions/situation/etc. are all good for the shot then it will get PP w/ little to no tweaking, if something(s) are off the RAW file makes easier and more likely to get what I want afterwards (assuming it's not something like out of focus, shutter to slow, needed a tripod,etc.).

The only time I use in camera PP is if I want to instant share a shot, in which case I'll put the jpeg on my PQI AIr card and get it via wifi.

TeamSpeed wrote in post #15711159 (external link)
Interesting, given that response, and knowing that periodically, raw processors become more improved so that even older files benefit, I would think you would always shoot raw. Since I consider the raw images to be the negatives, for my own use, I find keeping the negatives around more useful even into the future, than just keeping the snapshots. With 1TB USB drives well under $100, space is quite inexpensive, and will hold nearly 44K raw 60D files. At today's prices, that is 5 images per 1 penny.

This is also a good point. Not a reason why I chose to shoot everything in RAW but a reason why I'm glad I do.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rivas8409
Goldmember
Avatar
2,459 posts
Likes: 282
Joined Mar 2011
Location: Lemoore, California
     
Mar 13, 2013 14:28 |  #14

Get it all right in the camera to begin with and your PP work is minimized. I noticed when I switched from my XSi (450D) to my 50D the images coming SOOC were not the same. The RAW files from the 50D seemed softer and not as vibrant than from my XSi, HOWEVER...once I applied some sharpening, and tweaked the color a bit on them the difference was very noticeable....to me at least. I jsut set up a preset in LR for my 50D so now every image from that camera gets the same amout of sharpening right off the bat.


Body: Canon 5DmkII│50D
Glass: Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8│Canon 85mm f/1.8│Canon 24-105mm f/4L│Canon 135mm f/2L
Lights: Flashpoint XPLOR 400PRO│Flashpoint Streaklight 360│Flashpoint Zoom Li-on│AB800
Results: WEBSITE (external link)FACEBOOK (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ChuckingFluff
Goldmember
Avatar
1,391 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Canada Eh!
     
Mar 13, 2013 14:36 |  #15

I shoot everything in RAW and PP what needs work. Snapshots I take with my phone.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

4,417 views & 0 likes for this thread
Do you setup your camera to use the image straight from the camera or rely on PP?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Sofun111
927 guests, 320 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.