Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 16 Mar 2013 (Saturday) 17:55
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

For 5D3 Users. 5D3 issue ?

 
dexy101
Goldmember
Avatar
2,370 posts
Gallery: 93 photos
Likes: 983
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Scotland
     
Mar 17, 2013 05:54 |  #16

Seems people in the UK read the manual ;)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
sebct
Member
122 posts
Joined Jan 2011
Location: United Kingdom
     
Mar 17, 2013 05:57 |  #17

dexy101 wrote in post #15723768 (external link)
Seems people in the UK read the manual ;)

I wouldn't go that far :p


SCT Photography (external link) | Flickr (external link)
Canon 5D MKIII - 24-105L - 70-200 f/2.8 IS L MK II - 17-40L - 50 1.8 MKII

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
*Jayrou
Goldmember
Avatar
1,121 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 8
Joined Sep 2010
Location: Jersey UK
     
Mar 17, 2013 05:58 |  #18

You're brave on a predominantly US forum..:)

Wait until our friends wake up.


James
Flickr  (external link)
Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dexy101
Goldmember
Avatar
2,370 posts
Gallery: 93 photos
Likes: 983
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Scotland
     
Mar 17, 2013 06:17 |  #19

Haha they are a friendly bunch, they won't mind :)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SMP_Homer
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,645 posts
Gallery: 26 photos
Likes: 458
Joined Mar 2008
Location: London, Ontario
     
Mar 17, 2013 06:35 |  #20

dexy101 wrote in post #15723768 (external link)
Seems people in the UK read the manual ;)

Nothing else to do in the rain...


EOS R / 7D2 / 1D IV (and the wife has a T4i)
Sig35A, Sig50A, Sig85A, Sig14-24A, Sig24-105A, Sig70-200S, Sig150-600C
100-400L, 100L, 300 2.8L, 1.4x II / 2x II
600EX-II X3, 430EX-III X3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dexy101
Goldmember
Avatar
2,370 posts
Gallery: 93 photos
Likes: 983
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Scotland
     
Mar 17, 2013 06:37 |  #21

SMP_Homer wrote in post #15723820 (external link)
Nothing else to do in the rain...

bw!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
romendo
Member
Avatar
61 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 25
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
     
Mar 17, 2013 09:14 |  #22

DreamState wrote in post #15722843 (external link)
No Not a PC its a Mac ? So What can I do ?

and this is sooOOOOOOOOOOOOOOooooo OBNOXIOUS knowing that I will not be able to change that. To think Canon has millions of dollars they can easily come out with a free option firmware which reprograms this if the user desires. I would honestly pay an additional $100 bucks just to take it back the way it was before. The camera is sweet and the new screen is lovely but this magnification sucks especially if you're on the go and you need it the way you've been doing it for years. uGHhhh.

I don't have a Mac, but maybe this Apple support article (external link) helps.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dave_bass5
Goldmember
Avatar
4,303 posts
Gallery: 34 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 197
Joined Apr 2005
Location: London, centre of the universe
     
Mar 17, 2013 12:03 |  #23

*Jayrou wrote in post #15723772 (external link)
You're brave on a predominantly US forum..:)

Wait until our friends wake up.

This is not dpreview, so we can expect banter rather than mental ranting :-)

Ok, another UK owner who is very happy with the way the mag button now works. I had my 60D set up like this using magic lantern, so through choice I want it this way.
I couldn't go back to the old way again, it seems very long winded.


Dave.
Gallery@http://www.flickr.com/​photos/davebass5/ (external link)
Canon 5DMKIV | Canon EOS-M50 | Canon 24-70 f/2.8L MKII | 70-300L | 135L f/2.0 | EF-S 10-18 | 40 f/2.8 STM | 35mm f/2 IS | Canon S110 | Fuji F31FD | Canon 580EXII, 270EXII | Yongnuo YN-622C Triggers.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DreamState
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
187 posts
Joined May 2010
Location: Florida
     
Mar 17, 2013 13:46 |  #24

Dorsey wrote in post #15723216 (external link)
You can change the "set" button to magnify. One of the first things I changed on mine. Much easier when shooting video to punch in with my right hand and focus with my left.

Already use that, and still hate it. I need it to work exactly the way it was before, before it got RUINED by people that thing change is good to be cool. When its not broken why mess with it? It was fine.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DreamState
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
187 posts
Joined May 2010
Location: Florida
     
Mar 17, 2013 13:49 |  #25

UK photographers pretty much take anything that comes their way. They're not like US photographers that strive for perfection or Aussies that want the most efficient way possible to achieve desired results. Those English blokes settle for whatever they can get :D




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dave_bass5
Goldmember
Avatar
4,303 posts
Gallery: 34 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 197
Joined Apr 2005
Location: London, centre of the universe
     
Mar 17, 2013 17:26 |  #26

DreamState wrote in post #15724972 (external link)
UK photographers pretty much take anything that comes their way. They're not like US photographers that strive for perfection or Aussies that want the most efficient way possible to achieve desired results. Those English blokes settle for whatever they can get :D

And we love paying over the top for it ;)


Dave.
Gallery@http://www.flickr.com/​photos/davebass5/ (external link)
Canon 5DMKIV | Canon EOS-M50 | Canon 24-70 f/2.8L MKII | 70-300L | 135L f/2.0 | EF-S 10-18 | 40 f/2.8 STM | 35mm f/2 IS | Canon S110 | Fuji F31FD | Canon 580EXII, 270EXII | Yongnuo YN-622C Triggers.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dexy101
Goldmember
Avatar
2,370 posts
Gallery: 93 photos
Likes: 983
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Scotland
     
Mar 17, 2013 19:32 |  #27

DreamState wrote in post #15724972 (external link)
UK photographers pretty much take anything that comes their way. They're not like US photographers that strive for perfection or Aussies that want the most efficient way possible to achieve desired results. Those English blokes settle for whatever they can get :D

Is it really that big a deal that its not the same as a mk2? I find it perfect the way it is. You can't please everyone as they say. Why not try Nikon, maybe they have a zoom Similar to the mk2 ;)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
smorter
Goldmember
Avatar
4,506 posts
Likes: 18
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
     
Mar 17, 2013 22:06 |  #28

I'm usually not a big fan of Canon's annoying changes but I do have to admit that I like the new magnification system

It was a pain to transition to, but the one allows one click zooming onto the focus point, and the scroll wheel to zoom is much more rapid than the button presses. It's less intuitive to use at first, but once you get the hang of it, I like it far better.


Wedding Photography Melbourneexternal link
Reviews: 85LII

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TransientEye
Junior Member
24 posts
Joined Nov 2012
Location: Barcelona
     
Mar 18, 2013 05:16 |  #29

DreamState wrote in post #15722843 (external link)
No Not a PC its a Mac ? So What can I do ?

I think that this is a Lightroom problem and not specific to the 5DIII. I have the same problem with previews with two other (non Canon) cameras in Lightroom, but using Image Capture all seems ok. I have not found a work-around, unfortunately.

Re the camera zoom, I agree that initially it feels "wrong" and "broken". But after many months of use (and mapping the 'set' button to toggle live-view zoom), I now feel the same going back to a 5DII. I actually rather like the playback feature that shows 100% at the focus point.


transienteye.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
*Jayrou
Goldmember
Avatar
1,121 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 8
Joined Sep 2010
Location: Jersey UK
     
Mar 18, 2013 13:12 |  #30

I may be missing something but why would you waste the set button on the magnify function with a dedicated magnify button?


James
Flickr  (external link)
Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,453 views & 0 likes for this thread
For 5D3 Users. 5D3 issue ?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is lf_alex
1050 guests, 303 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.