Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 24 Mar 2013 (Sunday) 15:33
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Wireless remote question...

 
Celtboy
Member
207 posts
Joined Jan 2013
Location: The land of spuds and whiskey
     
Mar 24, 2013 15:33 |  #1

Should my remote activate the shutter while 60D is in bulb mode With the 2 sec timer? Or is it just the wired remote that can do it? Tnx


Canon 60D Gripped,Canon 18-135mm,Tamron 70-300mm,90mm Macro,Tamron 10-24mm Wide and speedlite 430 II.
Celtboy on flikcr. http://m.flickr.com/#/​photos/celtboy1888/ (external link)
Celtboy on Instagram http://followgram.me/c​eltboy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Celtboy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
207 posts
Joined Jan 2013
Location: The land of spuds and whiskey
     
Mar 25, 2013 14:22 |  #2

Lol....anyone?


Canon 60D Gripped,Canon 18-135mm,Tamron 70-300mm,90mm Macro,Tamron 10-24mm Wide and speedlite 430 II.
Celtboy on flikcr. http://m.flickr.com/#/​photos/celtboy1888/ (external link)
Celtboy on Instagram http://followgram.me/c​eltboy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dan ­ Marchant
Do people actually believe in the Title Fairy?
Avatar
5,412 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 1734
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Where I'm from is unimportant, it's where I'm going that counts.
     
Mar 25, 2013 21:05 |  #3

Normally yes, but it depends on what make/model of remote you have.


Dan Marchant
Website/blog: danmarchant.com (external link)
Instagram: @dan_marchant (external link)
Gear Canon 5DIII + Fuji X-T2 + lenses + a plastic widget I found in the camera box.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Celtboy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
207 posts
Joined Jan 2013
Location: The land of spuds and whiskey
     
Mar 26, 2013 14:38 |  #4

It is a canon one...well boxed as such..off eBay..... But why would it work on the 2 sec delay and one shot etc...and not in bulb.?


Canon 60D Gripped,Canon 18-135mm,Tamron 70-300mm,90mm Macro,Tamron 10-24mm Wide and speedlite 430 II.
Celtboy on flikcr. http://m.flickr.com/#/​photos/celtboy1888/ (external link)
Celtboy on Instagram http://followgram.me/c​eltboy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
xchangx
Senior Member
507 posts
Joined May 2007
Location: Mobile, AL
     
Mar 26, 2013 15:34 |  #5

My guess is because in bulb mode relies on the button being pressed. while the remote just sends a signal to open and not a continuous signal.


Nikon D4s / 2x D3s / D3 / 17-35 2.8 / 70-200 2.8 / 600 f4
Freelance sports photographer for Getty Images Sports, Entertainment and News
Freelance sports photographer for Sports Illustrated
My Images with Getty (external link)
My Sportsshooter Page (external link)
My Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Celtboy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
207 posts
Joined Jan 2013
Location: The land of spuds and whiskey
     
Mar 26, 2013 16:32 |  #6

Dan Marchant wrote in post #15755542 (external link)
Normally yes, but it depends on what make/model of remote you have.

Hello?.


Canon 60D Gripped,Canon 18-135mm,Tamron 70-300mm,90mm Macro,Tamron 10-24mm Wide and speedlite 430 II.
Celtboy on flikcr. http://m.flickr.com/#/​photos/celtboy1888/ (external link)
Celtboy on Instagram http://followgram.me/c​eltboy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 545
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Mar 26, 2013 22:47 |  #7

Celtboy wrote in post #15758062 (external link)
It is a canon one...well boxed as such..off eBay..... But why would it work on the 2 sec delay and one shot etc...and not in bulb.?

I'd imagine that if you study the documentation, or check an online "source", you may find something like this remark:

xchangx wrote in post #15758346 (external link)
My guess is because in bulb mode relies on the button being pressed. while the remote just sends a signal to open and not a continuous signal.

With cable remotes, you can "lock" the shutter open in Bulb mode. So perhaps the wireless doesn't support it because it can't "lock" itself...?

'Course we could be wrong, is someone here has a Canon wireless remote that works in Bulb, let us know!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Rashkh
Senior Member
Avatar
286 posts
Likes: 8
Joined May 2011
Location: NYC
     
Mar 27, 2013 01:08 |  #8

Canon RC-1 and Canon 350D in manual mode with shutter set to Bulb. Remote tirggers shutter open with first press, shutter close with second. Works the same way with 2 sec. function, with there being a 2 sec. delay between the first button press and the shutter opening. No delay between second press and shutter close in 2 sec. mode.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Martin ­ Dixon
Goldmember
Avatar
1,864 posts
Gallery: 59 photos
Likes: 274
Joined Sep 2009
Location: Ealing
     
Mar 27, 2013 05:23 |  #9

Just got a JYC 710 and it does loads and cheap! bulb hold button! Timer (timelapse etc.).


flickr (external link) Editing OK (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

901 views & 0 likes for this thread
Wireless remote question...
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Sofun111
976 guests, 216 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.