Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 11 Apr 2013 (Thursday) 03:38
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon 1D/1Ds/1D2/1D2N - Windows XP Firewire Connection Problem

 
kay188
Senior Member
825 posts
Joined Apr 2009
     
Apr 11, 2013 03:38 |  #1

I've been searching the internet high and low but till this day I cannot find anything. It just seems that no one in the history of using the 1D's have ever had this problem before...

XP fresh format, all updates, even tried older service pack 2 only. I'm using 32bit. XP only supported with 1D and 1Ds.
Drivers fresh from Canon.
Dedicated firewire PCI card with reliable TI chipset.
Firewire from Audigy 2 ZS sound card.
All firewire ports working, tested with my firewire card reader.
Firewire cable works, computer detects camera.
Drivers install fine.
Installed EOS utility and everything from original CD as well.

The camera simply cannot connect to the computer. It detects, but in the device manager it says "The device cannot start. (Code 10)"

It happens with ALL of my 1 series firewire cameras. I've tried this on TWO different machines with different hardware running XP.
There's nothing on the internet about this issue. It's driving me nuts because I want to change and remove the previous author's name in the personal functions.

Does ANYONE have ANY idea?

I've listed everything that you should need to know about the system above. There's nothing wrong with the system as it's a perfect working system. There's no drivers for Windows 2000, and Windows ME is a terrible operating system to use. I might have to try it as a last resort...

-----
* And FYI, 6 pin to 6 pin cable to connect the 1D/s Mark I to the computer does not detect no matter what machine or what firewire port I connect it to. Even my Windows 7 machine.
HOWEVER. I got it to detect by using the 4 pin to 6 pin cable of the 1D Mark II/N, and plugging the 4 pin side into the PCI firewire card and 6 pin to the 1D/s.


Ricoh GRD4 | Canon 1Ds, 1D, 1D2, 1D2n| Canon XTi | Tokina 11-16 F/2.8 | Canon 16-35L I | Canon 24 F/2.8 | Canon 35 F/2 | Canon 50 F/1.8 I | Canon 135L | Sigma 24-70 EX DG Macro | Sigma 70-200 F/2.8 APO EX DG | Sigma 30 F/1.4 |Sigma 50 F/1.4 |Sigma & Kenko 1.4x TC| Canon 580EX II | Sigma EF-500 Super | 2x Vivitar 285HV | RF-602 Triggers |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
hihohito
Member
225 posts
Joined Oct 2010
     
Apr 11, 2013 04:19 |  #2

Canon does not support 64 bit systems of windows for many camera's.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bobby1028
Member
Avatar
164 posts
Joined May 2010
Location: Long Island NY
     
Apr 11, 2013 08:01 as a reply to  @ hihohito's post |  #3

Mine works fine with a 32 bit Vista version of windows, no support for any 64 bit versions.


5D/Nikkor 20 2.8 MF/MicroNikkor 55 F3.5/ 24-105 F4L /85 F1.4 ASPH/ 550EX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kay188
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
825 posts
Joined Apr 2009
     
Apr 11, 2013 11:51 |  #4

I'm using Windows XP 32 bit.

I have to use Windows XP for the 1D and 1Ds. I can try Vista 32 for the Mark II and N.


Ricoh GRD4 | Canon 1Ds, 1D, 1D2, 1D2n| Canon XTi | Tokina 11-16 F/2.8 | Canon 16-35L I | Canon 24 F/2.8 | Canon 35 F/2 | Canon 50 F/1.8 I | Canon 135L | Sigma 24-70 EX DG Macro | Sigma 70-200 F/2.8 APO EX DG | Sigma 30 F/1.4 |Sigma 50 F/1.4 |Sigma & Kenko 1.4x TC| Canon 580EX II | Sigma EF-500 Super | 2x Vivitar 285HV | RF-602 Triggers |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
10,776 posts
Likes: 1333
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Apr 11, 2013 13:02 |  #5

By any chance, do you also connect an "I" device of some sort (iPad for instance) also via Firewire? If so is it working?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
10,776 posts
Likes: 1333
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Apr 11, 2013 13:24 |  #6

Another thing might be to try fixes based on searching for "firewire error 10". One is at http://support.microso​ft.com/kb/310123 (external link).




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
10,776 posts
Likes: 1333
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Apr 11, 2013 13:42 |  #7

One more thing, go to Control Panel, System, Device Manager, click on the plus sign on your IEEE 1394 Bus Host Controller and then riight click on your controller (it will be either Texas Instrument or OHCI). Go to Properties, Click on Driver tab, Update Driver, Next, click on "Display a known list of drivers". Write down what you are using, then click on the one that's the opposite of what you were using. Click OK and exit all the way out, then reboot and retest. Texas Instruments drivers are known to not cooperate with cameras.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kay188
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
825 posts
Joined Apr 2009
     
Apr 13, 2013 13:35 |  #8

My firewire chipset is Texas Instruments. I got a Texas Instruments Firewire card because it's known to be a reliable chipset version.

The driver in windows device manager is OHCI, naively supported by XP.

No. I do not own any apple products.
I have a Sandisk Firewire IV CF reader and that card reader works on every port on the machine. It has no problem "starting" like the cameras do.


Ricoh GRD4 | Canon 1Ds, 1D, 1D2, 1D2n| Canon XTi | Tokina 11-16 F/2.8 | Canon 16-35L I | Canon 24 F/2.8 | Canon 35 F/2 | Canon 50 F/1.8 I | Canon 135L | Sigma 24-70 EX DG Macro | Sigma 70-200 F/2.8 APO EX DG | Sigma 30 F/1.4 |Sigma 50 F/1.4 |Sigma & Kenko 1.4x TC| Canon 580EX II | Sigma EF-500 Super | 2x Vivitar 285HV | RF-602 Triggers |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kay188
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
825 posts
Joined Apr 2009
     
Apr 16, 2013 18:24 |  #9

Still? Nobody?

As I thought... no one in the history of the internet has ever had this problem!

It's really stupid because it happens to ALL of my 1D's and 1D2's, so it can't be a camera issue.
It's an issue with Windows XP.


Ricoh GRD4 | Canon 1Ds, 1D, 1D2, 1D2n| Canon XTi | Tokina 11-16 F/2.8 | Canon 16-35L I | Canon 24 F/2.8 | Canon 35 F/2 | Canon 50 F/1.8 I | Canon 135L | Sigma 24-70 EX DG Macro | Sigma 70-200 F/2.8 APO EX DG | Sigma 30 F/1.4 |Sigma 50 F/1.4 |Sigma & Kenko 1.4x TC| Canon 580EX II | Sigma EF-500 Super | 2x Vivitar 285HV | RF-602 Triggers |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
52,274 posts
Gallery: 192 photos
Likes: 9150
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Apr 16, 2013 18:33 |  #10

Yes, it is an XP issue most likely as you should not have any trouble with XP 32 bit.

It's either your OS or perhaps your firewire ?


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kay188
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
825 posts
Joined Apr 2009
     
Apr 21, 2013 11:52 |  #11

I just installed Windows ME, downloaded the drivers from Canon website.

Plugged the cameras in, still get a firewire connection issue.
In Windows ME, the error is "The device is not responding to it's driver. (Code 33)"

Firewire cables should be working fine.
Firewire PCI card works fine with my Sandisk IV Firewire CF reader.
Fresh formatted operating system.
Drivers from Canon.
Install drivers before plugging device in.

How in the world is this possible that 2 different fresh formatted operating systems, with 2 different firewire ports (firewire PCI card and firewire on my sound card) BOTH resolves an error?

There MUST be something that is being done wrong... however I'm doing nothing out of the ordinary when connecting a basic device to the computer.

No one else in the world has had any issues with this it seems... it can't JUST be me. Driving me nuts.


Ricoh GRD4 | Canon 1Ds, 1D, 1D2, 1D2n| Canon XTi | Tokina 11-16 F/2.8 | Canon 16-35L I | Canon 24 F/2.8 | Canon 35 F/2 | Canon 50 F/1.8 I | Canon 135L | Sigma 24-70 EX DG Macro | Sigma 70-200 F/2.8 APO EX DG | Sigma 30 F/1.4 |Sigma 50 F/1.4 |Sigma & Kenko 1.4x TC| Canon 580EX II | Sigma EF-500 Super | 2x Vivitar 285HV | RF-602 Triggers |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Clockwork ­ Frog
Member
46 posts
Joined Apr 2013
Location: Cyprus
     
Apr 21, 2013 12:03 as a reply to  @ kay188's post |  #12

If you have the same problem on different machines and different cameras etc., there must be a 'common' denominator that causes the problem. Are you absolutely sure it's not something as simple as a duff cable?

You say yourself that cables 'should be working fine'. Have you absolutely checked?


Some cameras. Some lenses.
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kay188
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
825 posts
Joined Apr 2009
     
Apr 22, 2013 00:04 |  #13

Clockwork Frog wrote in post #15851585 (external link)
If you have the same problem on different machines and different cameras etc., there must be a 'common' denominator that causes the problem. Are you absolutely sure it's not something as simple as a duff cable?

You say yourself that cables 'should be working fine'. Have you absolutely checked?

I tried it on all of my firewire machines.

I have 2 firewire 400 6pin cables. 1 OEM, 1 no name. The cables are for the original 1D's.
1 firewire 400 4pin cable for the 1D Mark 2/N.

The Firewire 400 6pin cables DO NOT WORK with any machine.
I have no idea why the large 6 pin cable does not work. Even the OEM Canon cable does not work.
The cables are in brand new condition and not beat up.

I ended up using the firewire 400 6pin to 4pin cable (for the 1D Mark 2), to connect the cameras.
I have a firewire 4pin on the firewire card on the computer, so that's how I connect the original 1D's.

If the cable was at fault, then the camera would not detect.
This is why I don't think it's a cable issue.


Ricoh GRD4 | Canon 1Ds, 1D, 1D2, 1D2n| Canon XTi | Tokina 11-16 F/2.8 | Canon 16-35L I | Canon 24 F/2.8 | Canon 35 F/2 | Canon 50 F/1.8 I | Canon 135L | Sigma 24-70 EX DG Macro | Sigma 70-200 F/2.8 APO EX DG | Sigma 30 F/1.4 |Sigma 50 F/1.4 |Sigma & Kenko 1.4x TC| Canon 580EX II | Sigma EF-500 Super | 2x Vivitar 285HV | RF-602 Triggers |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Foggiest
Senior Member
584 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2012
     
Apr 22, 2013 07:22 |  #14

No simple answer for you Kay , just some advice to offer .
I always treat firewire connections as unable to hotswap . Hotswapping some firewire devices can damage them .

Plug every thing in when off .
Power up PC , then power up device .
Do your "work" , power down device , power down pc , then unplug .

Again , just advice , not sure how your devices behave specifically .




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kay188
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
825 posts
Joined Apr 2009
     
Apr 26, 2013 06:02 |  #15

Foggiest wrote in post #15854189 (external link)
No simple answer for you Kay , just some advice to offer .
I always treat firewire connections as unable to hotswap . Hotswapping some firewire devices can damage them .

Plug every thing in when off .
Power up PC , then power up device .
Do your "work" , power down device , power down pc , then unplug .

Again , just advice , not sure how your devices behave specifically .

Tried it on the Windows ME machine. Still didn't work. Treated the device as unable to hotswap.

It's just odd how it happens to ALL the cameras. So narrow it down, it must be the computer and related to a driver issue... however... there's no other drivers I can try.


Ricoh GRD4 | Canon 1Ds, 1D, 1D2, 1D2n| Canon XTi | Tokina 11-16 F/2.8 | Canon 16-35L I | Canon 24 F/2.8 | Canon 35 F/2 | Canon 50 F/1.8 I | Canon 135L | Sigma 24-70 EX DG Macro | Sigma 70-200 F/2.8 APO EX DG | Sigma 30 F/1.4 |Sigma 50 F/1.4 |Sigma & Kenko 1.4x TC| Canon 580EX II | Sigma EF-500 Super | 2x Vivitar 285HV | RF-602 Triggers |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

9,866 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon 1D/1Ds/1D2/1D2N - Windows XP Firewire Connection Problem
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is 360nomad
1165 guests, 234 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.