Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 11 Apr 2013 (Thursday) 03:38
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon 1D/1Ds/1D2/1D2N - Windows XP Firewire Connection Problem

 
Foggiest
Senior Member
584 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2012
     
Apr 26, 2013 06:18 |  #16

Are there no specific drivers for the firewire card ?
What is the model number of the card ?

I use firewire for an external audio interface , and TBH I have always found it tricky to get rolling .
A very recent PC upgrade moved to win 7 64 , could not get anything from the PC in terms of working with the interface .
Can't remember the error code , but would do a thing for a week . One day moy son walked in the room , pushed the power button on the audioI and the PC asked for drivers .
Worked fine ever since .

Actually , that does remind me , the install process for my AI drivers is specific in that you do not install the drivers until the PC sees the device and asks for a driver .

Probably not much help there :P




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
kay188
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
825 posts
Joined Apr 2009
     
Apr 26, 2013 13:38 |  #17

Foggiest wrote in post #15868845 (external link)
Are there no specific drivers for the firewire card ?
What is the model number of the card ?

I use firewire for an external audio interface , and TBH I have always found it tricky to get rolling.

Nope. There are no specific drivers for the firewire card. It's naively supported by Wundows XP and ME OHCI.

I had a firewire on my audio card before and I used my firewire card reader no problem with the interface back then.
The same issue happens regardless of what firewire port I plug it in.


Ricoh GRD4 | Canon 1Ds, 1D, 1D2, 1D2n| Canon XTi | Tokina 11-16 F/2.8 | Canon 16-35L I | Canon 24 F/2.8 | Canon 35 F/2 | Canon 50 F/1.8 I | Canon 135L | Sigma 24-70 EX DG Macro | Sigma 70-200 F/2.8 APO EX DG | Sigma 30 F/1.4 |Sigma 50 F/1.4 |Sigma & Kenko 1.4x TC| Canon 580EX II | Sigma EF-500 Super | 2x Vivitar 285HV | RF-602 Triggers |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sports1150
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Jul 2007
     
Apr 26, 2013 21:05 |  #18

kay188, what happened when you tried to run EOS Utility? I have an older computer running XP with a firewire port and will try it with my 1d Mark IIn tomorrow.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
garciarf
Senior Member
317 posts
Gallery: 12 photos
Likes: 4
Joined Aug 2012
Location: Central Ohio
     
Apr 26, 2013 23:21 |  #19

Kay, just out of curiosity, what version of the utility are you running? (2.7.3.0 here, Win XP SP3)

Maybe the version you have is old enough that is incompatible with the driver for SP2 or SP3, I don't see how this would be an issue, but it hasn't been mentioned, so maybe it's worth looking into it.


Felipe G
EOS 1Ds, 1D Mark III, 7D, XT. 18-55, 70-200 f4L, 28-135, 28-70 f2.8L, 40mm 2.8, Tokina 12-24, Sigma 80-400 OS, EF 100-400 f4.5-5.6 L IS, 1.4x Extender III.
My Gallery: http://fgrphoto.smugmu​g.com/ (external link)
My Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kay188
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
825 posts
Joined Apr 2009
     
Apr 27, 2013 18:48 |  #20

When I run EOS Utility, the program opens but I cannot connect to the camera. I'm using a very old version of EOS utility, the one that came with the 1D2N. It says the camera is not supported because there's a driver conflict in the system.

I don't think the EOS Utility has anything to do this this because it's mainly the driver problem.


Ricoh GRD4 | Canon 1Ds, 1D, 1D2, 1D2n| Canon XTi | Tokina 11-16 F/2.8 | Canon 16-35L I | Canon 24 F/2.8 | Canon 35 F/2 | Canon 50 F/1.8 I | Canon 135L | Sigma 24-70 EX DG Macro | Sigma 70-200 F/2.8 APO EX DG | Sigma 30 F/1.4 |Sigma 50 F/1.4 |Sigma & Kenko 1.4x TC| Canon 580EX II | Sigma EF-500 Super | 2x Vivitar 285HV | RF-602 Triggers |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sports1150
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Jul 2007
     
Apr 27, 2013 22:07 |  #21

kay188 wrote in post #15873809 (external link)
When I run EOS Utility, the program opens but I cannot connect to the camera. I'm using a very old version of EOS utility, the one that came with the 1D2N. It says the camera is not supported because there's a driver conflict in the system.

I don't think the EOS Utility has anything to do this this because it's mainly the driver problem.

I got it to work with my 1d Mark II n, but I had to download and install the WIA Driver 5.8.0 for Windows XP. It's located under drivers for the 1d Mark II n at the Canon support site, in case you haven't installed it yet.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kay188
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
825 posts
Joined Apr 2009
     
Apr 28, 2013 00:38 |  #22

sports1150 wrote in post #15874280 (external link)
I got it to work with my 1d Mark II n, but I had to download and install the WIA Driver 5.8.0 for Windows XP. It's located under drivers for the 1d Mark II n at the Canon support site, in case you haven't installed it yet.

I installed the WIA driver on the Canon website first thing, along with EOS Utility.

Tried installing WIA driver only without EOS Utility to see if the "driver would start" in Windows XP. Still does not work.


Ricoh GRD4 | Canon 1Ds, 1D, 1D2, 1D2n| Canon XTi | Tokina 11-16 F/2.8 | Canon 16-35L I | Canon 24 F/2.8 | Canon 35 F/2 | Canon 50 F/1.8 I | Canon 135L | Sigma 24-70 EX DG Macro | Sigma 70-200 F/2.8 APO EX DG | Sigma 30 F/1.4 |Sigma 50 F/1.4 |Sigma & Kenko 1.4x TC| Canon 580EX II | Sigma EF-500 Super | 2x Vivitar 285HV | RF-602 Triggers |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonyxcom
Member
209 posts
Gallery: 25 photos
Likes: 43
Joined Jul 2008
Location: Vallejo CA
     
Apr 28, 2013 07:45 |  #23

Why not run the newest version of EOS Utility for your camera from Canon?

http://www.usa.canon.c​om …k_ii_n#DriversA​ndSoftware (external link)


1DXmkII / 7DmkII / 100-400mkII / 70-200mkII / 24-70mkI / 24-70F4L / 16-35mkI / 50ART / 40STM / 50STM / 1.4xIII

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kay188
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
825 posts
Joined Apr 2009
     
Apr 28, 2013 14:35 |  #24

tonyxcom wrote in post #15875008 (external link)
Why not run the newest version of EOS Utility for your camera from Canon?

http://www.usa.canon.c​om …k_ii_n#DriversA​ndSoftware (external link)

Tried the newer versions before on Windows XP, still does not work.

It's not a software issue, it's a driver issue with Windows.


Ricoh GRD4 | Canon 1Ds, 1D, 1D2, 1D2n| Canon XTi | Tokina 11-16 F/2.8 | Canon 16-35L I | Canon 24 F/2.8 | Canon 35 F/2 | Canon 50 F/1.8 I | Canon 135L | Sigma 24-70 EX DG Macro | Sigma 70-200 F/2.8 APO EX DG | Sigma 30 F/1.4 |Sigma 50 F/1.4 |Sigma & Kenko 1.4x TC| Canon 580EX II | Sigma EF-500 Super | 2x Vivitar 285HV | RF-602 Triggers |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sports1150
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Jul 2007
     
Apr 28, 2013 16:09 |  #25

kay188 wrote in post #15876085 (external link)
Tried the newer versions before on Windows XP, still does not work.

It's not a software issue, it's a driver issue with Windows.

Kay188, it sounds as though you have eliminated the probability of hardware and software issues.

For what it's worth here is what I did to finally get it to work:

First, I did the wrong thing by having Windows auto detect the camera. And after not automatically finding a driver, I installed the Microsoft provided SBP2 IEEE Device driver from the list manually. I kept getting the blue screen of death when I turned the connected 1d on. I finally had to go back to a previous restore point yo undo this.

Next, before plugging in the camera, I installed the Canon WIA driver. I already had EOS Utility 2.9.0.0 installed.

Finally, I plugged in the camera and powered it on. EOS Utility stared up automatically and all selections were active. The camera was connected. Please note that at this point I did not get the message asking if I wanted to install the driver as the correct one had loaded.

If I look in Device Manager while the camera is on and EOS Utility is running, I will see a device named " SBP2 IEEE 1394 Device". That is the camera. This is in addition to the IEEE 1394 controller listed. When I exit EOS Utility and turn off the camera, the Device Manager windows refreshes and camera device goes away.

Hopefully you don't have the issue of the wrong driver being somehow installed.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kay188
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
825 posts
Joined Apr 2009
     
Apr 28, 2013 17:59 |  #26

sports1150 wrote in post #15876355 (external link)
Next, before plugging in the camera, I installed the Canon WIA driver. I already had EOS Utility 2.9.0.0 installed.

Finally, I plugged in the camera and powered it on. EOS Utility stared up automatically and all selections were active. The camera was connected. Please note that at this point I did not get the message asking if I wanted to install the driver as the correct one had loaded.

If I look in Device Manager while the camera is on and EOS Utility is running, I will see a device named " SBP2 IEEE 1394 Device". That is the camera. This is in addition to the IEEE 1394 controller listed. When I exit EOS Utility and turn off the camera, the Device Manager windows refreshes and camera device goes away.

I installed the Canon WIA driver before hand, and plugged in and turned on the camera.

Windows does not ask me to install the driver because it automatically located the driver.

When I look in Device Manager, I get the camera listed under Imaging Devices as "Canon 1D Mark 2 N", then after a few brief seconds the Device Manager refreshes an shows an exclamation mark next to the camera with an error code "The device cannot start. (Code 10)".

It's most definitely a driver issue, I will go back later and play around with the drivers again. I highly doubt I'll get anything different and still get the driver issue.


Ricoh GRD4 | Canon 1Ds, 1D, 1D2, 1D2n| Canon XTi | Tokina 11-16 F/2.8 | Canon 16-35L I | Canon 24 F/2.8 | Canon 35 F/2 | Canon 50 F/1.8 I | Canon 135L | Sigma 24-70 EX DG Macro | Sigma 70-200 F/2.8 APO EX DG | Sigma 30 F/1.4 |Sigma 50 F/1.4 |Sigma & Kenko 1.4x TC| Canon 580EX II | Sigma EF-500 Super | 2x Vivitar 285HV | RF-602 Triggers |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sports1150
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Jul 2007
     
Apr 28, 2013 18:16 |  #27

kay188 wrote in post #15876654 (external link)
I installed the Canon WIA driver before hand, and plugged in and turned on the camera.

Windows does not ask me to install the driver because it automatically located the driver.

When I look in Device Manager, I get the camera listed under Imaging Devices as "Canon 1D Mark 2 N", then after a few brief seconds the Device Manager refreshes an shows an exclamation mark next to the camera with an error code "The device cannot start. (Code 10)".

It's most definitely a driver issue, I will go back later and play around with the drivers again. I highly doubt I'll get anything different and still get the driver issue.

Here's the driver information from my installation which appears under Imaging Devices:

EOS 1d Mark II n
Mfg. Canon, Inc.
Date 6/1/2005
Version 5.8.0.13

Could it be the driver you downloaded from Canon got corrupted somehow?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
techno ­ ludite
Member
Avatar
91 posts
Gallery: 23 photos
Likes: 27
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Reading, England.
     
Oct 24, 2013 15:04 |  #28

Hi All

Just like to say a big thanks to the people in this thread, I was having exactly the same problems as the OP and I've successfully managed to change the owner info on my new to me 1Ds I acquired at the weekend. I know to some people its not a big deal, but I look at it as if the old owner info was still showing I may be open to copyright theft accusations even though I have a receipt for the camera.

Perseverance finally paid out.

Thanks again

Rich


Gear List. My ipernity (external link)page.
Meh, it'll do.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
1ds4Me
Member
230 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Oct 2010
     
Oct 24, 2013 15:24 as a reply to  @ techno ludite's post |  #29

This could be a stupid question but was the camera ever recognized by the EOS utility? Do you have access to any other Windows XP machine or another set of cables?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Felipe2000
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Dec 2013
     
Dec 27, 2013 16:39 as a reply to  @ 1ds4Me's post |  #30

So, to refresh... any luck with the Firewire under XP? I am facing similar problem. No response on the Firewire...




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

9,860 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon 1D/1Ds/1D2/1D2N - Windows XP Firewire Connection Problem
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is ShafferShots
1088 guests, 163 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.