Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 17 Apr 2013 (Wednesday) 12:03
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Firmware Canon 5 mark III

 
msowsun
"approx 8mm"
Avatar
9,253 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 284
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Oakville Ont. Canada
     
Apr 28, 2013 14:27 |  #61

agedbriar wrote in post #15876038 (external link)
BTW - is it possible to re-flash an older FW version if you aren't happy with the new one?

Yes, I just did that with my 5D Mk III. I upgraded to 1.2.1 to see what all the fuss was about, then went back to 1.1.3 so I can run Magic Lantern.


Mike Sowsun / SL1 / 80D / EF-S 24mm STM / EF-S 10-18mm STM / EF-S 18-55mm STM / EF-S 15-85mm USM / EF-S 18-135mm USM / EF-S 55-250mm STM / 5D3 / Samyang 14mm 2.8 / EF 40mm 2.8 STM / EF 50mm 1.8 STM / EF 100mm 2.0 USM / EF 100mm 2.8 USM Macro / EF 24-105mm IS / EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS Mk II / EF 100-400 II / EF 1.4x II
Full Current and Previously Owned Gear List over 40 years Flickr Photostream (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
wombatHorror
Goldmember
1,937 posts
Joined Sep 2010
Location: NJ
     
Apr 28, 2013 14:28 |  #62

agedbriar wrote in post #15874680 (external link)
Does it enable a faster shutter speed limit in Auto ISO?

No :(




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wombatHorror
Goldmember
1,937 posts
Joined Sep 2010
Location: NJ
     
Apr 28, 2013 14:32 |  #63

msowsun wrote in post #15876057 (external link)
Yes, I just did that with my 5D Mk III. I upgraded to 1.2.1 to see what all the fuss was about, then went back to 1.1.3 so I can run Magic Lantern.

I'm getting close to doing that. They didn't remove the AutoISO min shutter speed limit. Clean HDMI out so far looks to produce pretty much the same quality (although I didn't check stuff like branches whipping around in the wind, for lots of motion maybe it will be worth it).

Really unfortunate is that they locked out f/8 support the 1.4x TC III combo + 70-300L!!!!!!!!! Sure don't OFFICIALLY support it (since it only fits at the long end) but don't lock it out!! SOme say that i show they handled it on 1DX, it works but is not officially supported. On 5D3 it doesn't report properly and the AF is horrendous. A huge shame since the IQ is decent. Instead of you need to sell your Canon 1.4x TC III and buy a kenko to get it work but the kenko doesn't get as much IQ out of the lens :(.

http://www.dpreview.co​m/forums/post/51372246 (external link)

I will have to see what the IQ of the Kenko 1.4x Pro 300 is like. Apparently 70-300L does AF with that one now.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wombatHorror
Goldmember
1,937 posts
Joined Sep 2010
Location: NJ
     
Apr 28, 2013 14:32 |  #64

msowsun wrote in post #15876057 (external link)
Yes, I just did that with my 5D Mk III. I upgraded to 1.2.1 to see what all the fuss was about, then went back to 1.1.3 so I can run Magic Lantern.

Good to hear that you can go back. Since I might prefer ML to what 1.2.1 has given me so far.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wombatHorror
Goldmember
1,937 posts
Joined Sep 2010
Location: NJ
     
Apr 28, 2013 14:33 |  #65

fotocrack wrote in post #15876040 (external link)
Any word if this firmware will fix the slow SD card issue?

I didn't test it, but I doubt it since word is that the slow SD is a hardware issue due to Texas Instruments only supplying one fast path on a chip that DIGIC is based on, or something along those lines. Apparently it is both a HW issue and actually not Canon marketing department at fault but something that was out of their control.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tgara
Goldmember
Avatar
2,336 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Connecticut, USA
     
Apr 28, 2013 18:44 |  #66

fotocrack wrote in post #15876040 (external link)
Any word if this firmware will fix the slow SD card issue?

Any slowness in the SD card is related to hardware, not software. Canon did not use the
UHS standard in the 5D3. UDMA on the cf card though.


EOS 5D Mark III
EOS Rebel SL1
Full Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tgara
Goldmember
Avatar
2,336 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Connecticut, USA
     
Apr 28, 2013 18:47 |  #67

agedbriar wrote in post #15874680 (external link)
Does it enable a faster shutter speed limit in Auto ISO?

You do realize that the Auto ISO shutter speed limits are minimums, right? This means you can use 1/8000th if you want.


EOS 5D Mark III
EOS Rebel SL1
Full Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
fotocrack
Member
194 posts
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Orange County, CA
     
Apr 28, 2013 19:44 |  #68

tgara wrote in post #15876808 (external link)
Any slowness in the SD card is related to hardware, not software. Canon did not use the
UHS standard in the 5D3. UDMA on the cf card though.

Dang. We are stuck with this mess.
OH well I have learned to leave with it so far.
Thanks for the info.


5DM3 lover :cool: //My custom build computer //My Feedback
PLEASE DONATE TO YOUR LOCAL FOOD BANKS AND LOCAL CHARITIES

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
agedbriar
Goldmember
Avatar
2,624 posts
Likes: 352
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Slovenia
     
Apr 29, 2013 02:54 |  #69

tgara wrote in post #15876818 (external link)
You do realize that the Auto ISO shutter speed limits are minimums, right? This means you can use 1/8000th if you want.

I want to be able to set Auto ISO so, that it (Auto ISO) will never employ SS slower than 1/500.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dave_bass5
Goldmember
Avatar
4,303 posts
Gallery: 34 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 198
Joined Apr 2005
Location: London, centre of the universe
     
Apr 29, 2013 03:28 |  #70

agedbriar wrote in post #15877986 (external link)
I want to be able to set Auto ISO so, that it (Auto ISO) will never employ SS slower than 1/500.

Thats not going to happen no matter how high you set it. If the camera cant set what it thinks is the correct exposure it will lower the shutter speed, no matter what its minimum is set to.
I agree though, something higher than 1/250 would be nice.


Dave.
Gallery@http://www.flickr.com/​photos/davebass5/ (external link)
Canon 5DMKIV | Canon EOS-M50 | Canon 24-70 f/2.8L MKII | 70-300L | 135L f/2.0 | EF-S 10-18 | 40 f/2.8 STM | 35mm f/2 IS | Canon S110 | Fuji F31FD | Canon 580EXII, 270EXII | Yongnuo YN-622C Triggers.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
agedbriar
Goldmember
Avatar
2,624 posts
Likes: 352
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Slovenia
     
Apr 29, 2013 03:46 |  #71

You are correct - my "never" wasn't absolute. I meant "as long as there is room to raise ISO".




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
timbop
Goldmember
Avatar
2,980 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 18
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Southern New Jersey, USA
     
Apr 29, 2013 06:21 |  #72

agedbriar wrote in post #15877986 (external link)
I want to be able to set Auto ISO so, that it (Auto ISO) will never employ SS slower than 1/500.

maybe you need to be in Tv....


Current: 5DM3, 6D, 8mm fish, 24-105/4IS, 35/2IS, 70-200/2.8IS, 85/1.8, 100-400/IS v1, lensbaby composer with edge 80, 580's and AB800's
Formerly: 80D, 7D, 300D, 5D, 5DM2, 20D, 50D, 1DM2, 17-55IS, 24-70/2.8, 28-135IS, 40/2.8, 50/1.8, 50/1.4, 70-200/4IS, 70-300IS, 70-200/2.8, 100 macro, 400/5.6, tammy 17-50 and 28-75, sigma 50 macro & 100-300

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
msowsun
"approx 8mm"
Avatar
9,253 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 284
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Oakville Ont. Canada
     
Apr 29, 2013 06:24 |  #73

timbop wrote in post #15878202 (external link)
maybe you need to be in Tv....

I was thinking the same thing. Or Manual mode?


Mike Sowsun / SL1 / 80D / EF-S 24mm STM / EF-S 10-18mm STM / EF-S 18-55mm STM / EF-S 15-85mm USM / EF-S 18-135mm USM / EF-S 55-250mm STM / 5D3 / Samyang 14mm 2.8 / EF 40mm 2.8 STM / EF 50mm 1.8 STM / EF 100mm 2.0 USM / EF 100mm 2.8 USM Macro / EF 24-105mm IS / EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS Mk II / EF 100-400 II / EF 1.4x II
Full Current and Previously Owned Gear List over 40 years Flickr Photostream (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Charlie
Guess What! I'm Pregnant!
16,251 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 6325
Joined Sep 2007
     
Apr 29, 2013 06:55 |  #74

timbop wrote in post #15878202 (external link)
maybe you need to be in Tv....

Well auto ISO has a minimum shutters speed, not sure why you can't set that value. I wouldn't like to set the 50 1.2 to TV mode and 1/500... it will shoot wide open more often than not. Sometimes you need more dof.

I didn't know the 5d3's auto ISO was this watered down... it's a serious consideration I would take into my next body purchase. I would love for magic lantern to address the issue, but my understanding is that it's too complicated for them.


Sony A7riii/A9 - FE 12-24/4 - FE 24-240 - SY 24/2.8 - FE 28/2 - FE 35/2.8 - FE 50/1.8 - FE 85/1.8 - EF 135/1.8 Art - F 600/5.6 - CZ 100-300 - Astro Rok 14/2.8 - Tamron 17-28/2.8 - 28-75/2.8 RXD, 70-200/2.8 VC

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dave_bass5
Goldmember
Avatar
4,303 posts
Gallery: 34 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 198
Joined Apr 2005
Location: London, centre of the universe
     
Apr 29, 2013 07:12 |  #75

Yes, TV mode is not very good if you want to keep the lens closed down as well as keep the shutter high. In this case Manual mode works but then you loose the ability to dial in exposure comp if and when its needed.
Arguments about whether we have +\- EC in manual mode aside, using auto ISO will override that anyway i expect.


Dave.
Gallery@http://www.flickr.com/​photos/davebass5/ (external link)
Canon 5DMKIV | Canon EOS-M50 | Canon 24-70 f/2.8L MKII | 70-300L | 135L f/2.0 | EF-S 10-18 | 40 f/2.8 STM | 35mm f/2 IS | Canon S110 | Fuji F31FD | Canon 580EXII, 270EXII | Yongnuo YN-622C Triggers.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

32,662 views & 0 likes for this thread
Firmware Canon 5 mark III
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Aga from Poland
1025 guests, 320 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.