Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 28 Apr 2013 (Sunday) 12:58
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Is eye-fi any good for sd Canon cameras or do I need a camera with built in wifi?

 
cameraperson
Senior Member
Avatar
811 posts
Joined May 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA.
     
Apr 28, 2013 12:58 |  #1

I'm looking to get a wi-fi enable camera. Is eye-fi still used? Is it "dead" since all the new wi-fi cameras? I thought I could find an older sd based camera like an Xsi or the like and use eye-fi. Thanks


Xsi, 18-55

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
KhanhD
"I need a grip . . . on my life"
1,523 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Boston, MA
     
Apr 28, 2013 16:02 |  #2

I use eye-fi in my 5d3s. Work great


Khanh Duong | KHDPhoto.com (external link) | flickr (external link) | facebook (external link)
iPhone 5s + Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Zivnuska
Goldmember
Avatar
3,639 posts
Gallery: 70 photos
Likes: 537
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Wichita, Kansas
     
Apr 28, 2013 16:04 as a reply to  @ KhanhD's post |  #3

1D Mark IV. Works fine.


www.zivnuska.zenfolio.​com/blog (external link) = My Blog
Gear List
www.zivnuska.zenfolio.​com (external link)

"It's not tight until you see the color of the irides."

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
90c4
Goldmember
1,271 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Oct 2007
     
Apr 28, 2013 16:39 |  #4

It locked up both of my 5D3's so I stopped using it, but YMMV. Problematic for some, not for all.


www.facebook.com/stage​shooter (external link)http://www.facebook.co​m/stageshooter (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bakewell
Goldmember
1,385 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: Irvine, CA
     
Apr 28, 2013 17:01 as a reply to  @ 90c4's post |  #5
bannedPermanent ban

The new Canon bodies actually have built-in menu support when you're using a Eye-Fi card. However, Eye-Fi cards are very rudimentary when compared to the built-in Wi-Fi of the 6D.


Dave

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,014 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 277
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Apr 29, 2013 03:01 as a reply to  @ Bakewell's post |  #6

The useful range of an Eye-Fi card I've seen is quite a bit less compared to my 7D with WFT-E5B.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
timbop
Goldmember
Avatar
2,980 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 17
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Southern New Jersey, USA
     
Apr 29, 2013 06:39 |  #7

KhanhD wrote in post #15876340 (external link)
I use eye-fi in my 5d3s. Work great

Can I ask what card and software you are using? I could not get the 8gb card to reliably connect to my android phone, which is what I bought it for.


Current: 5DM3, 6D, 8mm fish, 24-105/4IS, 35/2IS, 70-200/2.8IS, 85/1.8, 100-400/IS v1, lensbaby composer with edge 80, 580's and AB800's
Formerly: 80D, 7D, 300D, 5D, 5DM2, 20D, 50D, 1DM2, 17-55IS, 24-70/2.8, 28-135IS, 40/2.8, 50/1.8, 50/1.4, 70-200/4IS, 70-300IS, 70-200/2.8, 100 macro, 400/5.6, tammy 17-50 and 28-75, sigma 50 macro & 100-300

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mike1812
Senior Member
337 posts
Likes: 62
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Houston, TX
     
Apr 29, 2013 12:03 |  #8

I have the eyefi in my 5D3 and have had no trouble with it connecting to my iPhone and iPads. Use the Shuttersnitch app for best results.


EF 135L | EF 70-300 L | ST-E3-RT | (4) Einstein E640s | Sekonic L-758 | Sony A7RII Gripped | Sony A7RIII Gripped | Sony 16-35GM | Sony FE 55 f/1.8 | Sony FE 85 f/1.4 GM | Sony FE 100-400GM | Sony 1.4x | Sony HVL-60M | Sigma MC-11 | Flashpoint Xplor AD600 | Flashpoint AD200 (2)| Flashpoint AD360 | plus too many doodads to list

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KhanhD
"I need a grip . . . on my life"
1,523 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Boston, MA
     
Apr 29, 2013 12:04 |  #9

timbop wrote in post #15878232 (external link)
Can I ask what card and software you are using? I could not get the 8gb card to reliably connect to my android phone, which is what I bought it for.

Whatever the basic 4GB(?) one is. iPhone, eyefi app.


Khanh Duong | KHDPhoto.com (external link) | flickr (external link) | facebook (external link)
iPhone 5s + Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
timbop
Goldmember
Avatar
2,980 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 17
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Southern New Jersey, USA
     
Apr 29, 2013 17:20 |  #10

mike1812 wrote in post #15879153 (external link)
I have the eyefi in my 5D3 and have had no trouble with it connecting to my iPhone and iPads. Use the Shuttersnitch app for best results.

Is that using point-to-point or your home WIFI? I wanted to be able to upload shots to facebook throughout a wedding day using my android phone, and just had no reliable connection after the camera went to sleep. I didn't use shuttersnitch and my phone is an older android 2.1 POS, but I wasted a whole weekend trying to get it to work consistently


Current: 5DM3, 6D, 8mm fish, 24-105/4IS, 35/2IS, 70-200/2.8IS, 85/1.8, 100-400/IS v1, lensbaby composer with edge 80, 580's and AB800's
Formerly: 80D, 7D, 300D, 5D, 5DM2, 20D, 50D, 1DM2, 17-55IS, 24-70/2.8, 28-135IS, 40/2.8, 50/1.8, 50/1.4, 70-200/4IS, 70-300IS, 70-200/2.8, 100 macro, 400/5.6, tammy 17-50 and 28-75, sigma 50 macro & 100-300

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cameraperson
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
811 posts
Joined May 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA.
     
Apr 29, 2013 19:16 |  #11

Thanks! Then I got to looking at compact Canons. Is the wifi any good? Can you transfer them to your computer?


Xsi, 18-55

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jomax
Member
71 posts
Joined May 2010
     
Apr 29, 2013 20:02 |  #12

I've had quite a few error 80's when my eyefi is in my 5d mark III, I have to pull battery to get it to work, there is a thread on the eyefi forum about it, as of the last time I checked no fixes yet


5D Mark III | 7D | EFS 15-85 IS | EFS 17-55 IS | EF 85 1.8 | EF 70-200L IS Mark II | EF 40 2.8 | EF 100-400L | 85 1.2L |24 70 2.8L II | 2x Einsteins | 2x EX580's |Cyber Commander|Cactus 5's|

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
90c4
Goldmember
1,271 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Oct 2007
     
Apr 30, 2013 06:01 |  #13

I've had this problem too with both of my bodies and both of my ey-fi cards. Canon seems to have fixed this in the latest firmware though:

Fixes a phenomenon in which the camera may not function properly when an Eye-Fi card is used.

Jomax wrote in post #15880727 (external link)
I've had quite a few error 80's when my eyefi is in my 5d mark III, I have to pull battery to get it to work, there is a thread on the eyefi forum about it, as of the last time I checked no fixes yet


www.facebook.com/stage​shooter (external link)http://www.facebook.co​m/stageshooter (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
4100xpb
Member
66 posts
Joined Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver
     
Apr 30, 2013 10:11 |  #14

I use the 4GB Eye-fi in my 60D as my main card. I principally use it to transfer shots to my iphone for quick edits/uploads to facebook or wherever. In that capacity it has worked very well for me.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ErgoSpacePig
Senior Member
Avatar
269 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 34
Joined Apr 2010
Location: St Louis, Mo
     
Apr 30, 2013 12:08 |  #15

this may be more than what the Op wants but you should take a look at CamRanger, it is primarily for remote control but does allow you so save the images to your iphone/ipad/ipod touch device. i dont own it yet but it is high on my wish list. the web site also says that an Android and PC (Windows) version is in the works and a MAC version is currently in beta.

bob


5D III | 5Dsr | TS-E 24 f/3.5L II | EF 35 f/1.4L USM | EF 135 f/2L USM | EF 85 f/1.2L II USM | EF 85 f/1.8 USM | Sigma 50mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM | Rokinon 14 f/2.8 | Zeiss Makro-Planar T* 2/100 ZE
Speedlite 580EX II | Flash Point Streaklight 360 TTL | Feisol CT 3441T | Photo Clam PC-40NS | Domke F4AF pro | Click Elite Escape | Think Tank Airport Takeoff
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,291 views & 0 likes for this thread
Is eye-fi any good for sd Canon cameras or do I need a camera with built in wifi?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Constantin
933 guests, 255 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.