Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 17 May 2013 (Friday) 08:23
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Backup, Backup, Backup... Check your backups

 
jskwarek
Member
196 posts
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Plano, TX
     
May 17, 2013 08:23 |  #1

We were recently robbed, I lost all my computers. The good news is, they didn't get my Time Machines. The bad news is, I found out that my Time Machine was corrupt and I've lost all the photos I've shot in 2013.

Check your backups folks, it's crushing to be stolen from, it's even more crushing to loose almost 6 months of photos and memories that can't be recovered.

JS


ABOUT ME (external link)
C&C Always Welcome

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Alex_Venom
Goldmember
Avatar
1,624 posts
Joined Nov 2008
     
May 17, 2013 08:40 |  #2

Oh my! I´m so sorry for you, JS!
I needed my Time Machine a few times and had nothing but good results from it. Saved my @ss more than once.
Though I trust it, I still make 2 more copies in different HDDs, just in case one of them decide to die on me.
All of your Time Machines got corrupted? Perhaps you could take them to an IT professional and try to recover with some professional recovery data software? I know there are some very powerful ones not available to regular people...


Photography is about GEAR and not talent or practice. Practice won't make you a better photographer. Expensive equipment will. =D
"Nobody can buy a scalpel and become a doctor, but anyone can buy a camera and become a photographer."

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jskwarek
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
196 posts
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Plano, TX
     
May 17, 2013 08:44 |  #3

No, it was completely my fault, not the fault of the hardware. I purchased a new computer at the beginning of the year and that was my main editing computer. It never got added to my backup schema. I know better, and thought that it was added. It was just an oversight that I will never miss again. I got everything backed up but my actual pictures...

JS


ABOUT ME (external link)
C&C Always Welcome

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Alex_Venom
Goldmember
Avatar
1,624 posts
Joined Nov 2008
     
May 17, 2013 08:47 |  #4

Once again, I feel sorry for you, man. My best wishes that the Police can get your stuff back!
On the subject, one very good practice some people forget to do is (from time to time) to right click the Time Machine icon and click "Verify Backup". Doing this a few times a year might ensure your backups are in order in case you need it. Just a hint that might help people reaching this thread ;)


Photography is about GEAR and not talent or practice. Practice won't make you a better photographer. Expensive equipment will. =D
"Nobody can buy a scalpel and become a doctor, but anyone can buy a camera and become a photographer."

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jskwarek
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
196 posts
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Plano, TX
     
May 17, 2013 08:51 |  #5

Thanks Alex. That's EXACTLY what I didn't do. My environment is two Time Machines, one to backup the computer and another to backup my Lightroom libraries and photos....

Hey, I do make a third copy during import to Lightroom of the RAW files to another drive. Maybe there's hope yet! Now I've got to work through my day before I can rush home and see if that drive has the files from this year!

Jason


ABOUT ME (external link)
C&C Always Welcome

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
airfrogusmc
I'm a chimper. There I said it...
36,327 posts
Gallery: 147 photos
Best ofs: 6
Likes: 5737
Joined May 2007
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
     
May 17, 2013 09:51 |  #6

I keep one external back up off site in a safety deposit box at the bank and update once a month so the most I could loose is a month.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Luckless
Goldmember
3,064 posts
Likes: 187
Joined Mar 2012
Location: PEI, Canada
     
May 17, 2013 10:14 |  #7

Confirming the integrity of backups is something that should be done on a regular basis, but sadly it is something that even professionals in data services industry can goof up with from time to time.

I'm going to be over hauling both my work flow and back up scheme here in the near future. Trying to come up with a solid plan that will work for having a desktop and laptop. Lost access to the server a friend had setup and were using for backups, thing caught fire after a close encounter with a cat, so now I am kind of in a tight spot as far as reliable off site backups go.


Canon EOS 7D | EF 28 f/1.8 | EF 85 f/1.8 | EF 70-200 f/4L | EF-S 17-55 | Sigma 150-500
Flickr: Real-Luckless (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
OhLook
Spiderwoman
Avatar
18,994 posts
Gallery: 74 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 6746
Joined Dec 2012
Location: California: SF Bay Area
     
May 17, 2013 10:31 |  #8

Whatever's in the cloud--POTN, Flickr, etc.--can be recovered. And anything you have on memory cards.

My photos aren't important enough to warrant elaborate backup schemes, but our house has a nice monitored alarm system.


PRONOUN ADVISORY: OhLook is a she. | A FEW CORRECT SPELLINGS: lens, aperture, amateur, hobbyist, per se, raccoon, whoa, more so (2 wds.), shoo-in | IMAGE EDITING OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
joeblack2022
Goldmember
3,005 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Sep 2011
Location: The Great White North
     
May 17, 2013 10:34 |  #9

That sucks to hear Jason, hopefully you're able to find a third copy like you said.


Joel

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
randy98mtu
Goldmember
Avatar
3,766 posts
Gallery: 347 photos
Likes: 1662
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Michigan
     
May 17, 2013 11:23 |  #10

That's horrible. And a good reminder to make a third backup to keep at my office. Though for me, this only effects my RAW files. All my exported "keepers" are on dropbox, about 5 computers linked to dropbox, my Time Machine and all my iDevices.


Canon EOS M6 Mark II - EOS R
Donate for Forum Costs

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,241 views & 0 likes for this thread
Backup, Backup, Backup... Check your backups
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is sdc123
683 guests, 364 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.