Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 11 Dec 2011 (Sunday) 18:25
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

ERROR 30 :/ solutions? 7D

 
Gusarb
Senior Member
299 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Santo Domingo, Dom. Rep.
     
Dec 11, 2011 18:25 |  #1

hello, i work with a 7D and i keep getting this error popping up, and today it happened 2 times in a row and the camera wouldnt turn on at all, i had to wait a while and just in case i cleaned up all the contacts and changed battery, and then it turned back on.

any ideas?


www.gusarbphoto.com (external link)
60D + 18-135mm f3.5-5.6 IS + 55-250 f4-5.6 IS + 50mm f1.8 mkII + 85mm f1.8 + Sigma 30nn f1.4 + tokina 11-16 f2.8 + 2 580EX II + 430EX II + Yongnuo 560II + YN-603 triggers + FlipSide 200

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Gusarb
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
299 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Santo Domingo, Dom. Rep.
     
Dec 11, 2011 18:26 |  #2

IMAGE: http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2647/4180383818_9e191c06e8_z.jpg?zz=1

this is an example i found online

www.gusarbphoto.com (external link)
60D + 18-135mm f3.5-5.6 IS + 55-250 f4-5.6 IS + 50mm f1.8 mkII + 85mm f1.8 + Sigma 30nn f1.4 + tokina 11-16 f2.8 + 2 580EX II + 430EX II + Yongnuo 560II + YN-603 triggers + FlipSide 200

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Wilt
Reader's Digest Condensed version of War and Peace [POTN Vol 1]
Avatar
41,802 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 2564
Joined Aug 2005
Location: Belmont, CA
     
Dec 11, 2011 21:50 |  #3

Read these threads
http://photo.net …gital-camera-forum/00WcpB (external link)
http://www.flickr.com …iscuss/72157627​532873099/ (external link)


You need to give me OK to edit your image and repost! Keep POTN alive and well with member support https://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.p​hp
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
msowsun
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,239 posts
Gallery: 14 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 268
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Oakville Ont. Canada
     
Mar 10, 2012 00:23 |  #4


My 7D has about 60,000 clicks and just started giving me Error 30 if I use Liveview a lot. As per the above links, apparently Liveview opens the shutter more than is usual and it can cause the shutter to stick.

I read on various forums that the way to fix this is to smack your camera around a little because Error 30 usually means a stuck shutter curtain. They also suggest firing off a few high speed bursts at 8fps to lubricate and free up the shutter blades.

I did all those things and IT WORKS! ;)


Mike Sowsun / S110 / SL1 / 80D / EF-S 24mm STM / EF-S 10-18mm STM / EF-S 18-55mm STM / EF-S 15-85mm USM / EF-S 18-135mm USM / EF-S 55-250mm STM / 5D3 / Samyang 14mm 2.8 / EF 40mm 2.8 STM / EF 50mm 1.8 STM / EF 100mm 2.0 USM / EF 100mm 2.8 USM Macro / EF 24-105mm IS / EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS Mk II / EF 1.4x II
Full Current and Previously Owned Gear List over 40 years Flickr Photostream (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ions
Goldmember
Avatar
1,825 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Burlington, ON, Canada
     
Oct 03, 2012 22:41 |  #5

Boo. I recently got a Big Stopper which has meant my shutter has been open for long periods. Not long after I started using the filter I started getting Error 30. I'll give the fixes a try and report back.


Gear: Canon EOS 5D3 | Canon EOS 7D | Canon 24-70L ƒ2.8 | Canon 100L ƒ2.8 | Canon 70-200 ƒ2.8L IS II | Canon 420 EX | Tamrac Evolution 9 | Crumpler 8 MDH | Manfrotto 190QC with 804RC2 head.
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ions
Goldmember
Avatar
1,825 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Burlington, ON, Canada
     
Nov 25, 2012 19:06 |  #6

I started banging off a few high speed shots after long exposures and have not seen the error since. If anyone encounters this error that would be my first suggestion. I have not smacked it around otherwise. :)


Gear: Canon EOS 5D3 | Canon EOS 7D | Canon 24-70L ƒ2.8 | Canon 100L ƒ2.8 | Canon 70-200 ƒ2.8L IS II | Canon 420 EX | Tamrac Evolution 9 | Crumpler 8 MDH | Manfrotto 190QC with 804RC2 head.
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tsuru
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Sep 2010
     
Nov 29, 2012 21:43 |  #7

Gusarb wrote in post #13528875 (external link)
hello, i work with a 7D and i keep getting this error popping up, and today it happened 2 times in a row and the camera wouldnt turn on at all, i had to wait a while and just in case i cleaned up all the contacts and changed battery, and then it turned back on.

any ideas?

I'm not sure how to post on this site. BUT, I kept changing the battery and the motor drive (w/2 batts) over and over. Saw there seeemed NOTHING wrong with the shutter either. SO, decided "battery", battery???!! Why not change to a new BUTTON CELL BATTERY.

Did that, and the Err30 has gone away entirely. Wonder how many people send there 7D into Canon and charged a bunch with some story like needs a circuit card replacement and ALL they do is change the Button Cell Battery!!!!

Not sure this will work for all but it did for me.

OH, HOW do I post this to everyone to be seen easily for people having the 7D Err30 issue on this site? I can't seem to be able to figure that out!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gusarb
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
299 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Santo Domingo, Dom. Rep.
     
Dec 04, 2012 07:14 |  #8

tsuru wrote in post #15306589 (external link)
I'm not sure how to post on this site. BUT, I kept changing the battery and the motor drive (w/2 batts) over and over. Saw there seeemed NOTHING wrong with the shutter either. SO, decided "battery", battery???!! Why not change to a new BUTTON CELL BATTERY.

Did that, and the Err30 has gone away entirely. Wonder how many people send there 7D into Canon and charged a bunch with some story like needs a circuit card replacement and ALL they do is change the Button Cell Battery!!!!

Not sure this will work for all but it did for me.

OH, HOW do I post this to everyone to be seen easily for people having the 7D Err30 issue on this site? I can't seem to be able to figure that out!

oh wao thats interesting, i actually sent it to canon and they changed something on the shutter release and the issue is totally gone now. thanx for the info


www.gusarbphoto.com (external link)
60D + 18-135mm f3.5-5.6 IS + 55-250 f4-5.6 IS + 50mm f1.8 mkII + 85mm f1.8 + Sigma 30nn f1.4 + tokina 11-16 f2.8 + 2 580EX II + 430EX II + Yongnuo 560II + YN-603 triggers + FlipSide 200

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
chrismarriott66
Senior Member
Avatar
797 posts
Gallery: 14 photos
Likes: 4
Joined Jan 2012
Location: York, UK
     
Dec 06, 2012 04:47 |  #9

I had an Err 30 on my 50d, and it needed a new shutter... It only cost ~£150 which included a full service so I wasn't too unhappy!


Chris Marriott Photography (external link)| Facebook (external link)
Complete Gear | 1ds iii | 5d iii | 50d | EF 16-35 f2.8 L USM ii | EF 24-70 f2.8 L USM | Σ 70-200 f2.8 ii EX DG HSM | Σ 35mm f1.4 Art | EF 50mm f1.4 USM | EF 85mm f1.8 USM | EF 85mm f1.2 L USM ii | 600EX-RT | 580EX ii | 430EX ii | YN622Cs |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dustyporch
Senior Member
398 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Feb 2007
     
Dec 06, 2012 12:20 |  #10

I don't remember the error number now, but I had something similar on my XTi awhile ago. Someone here recommended popping out the button cell battery, and then reinserting it after a few minutes. Cleared the problem up, and I never saw it again.


My photos on Flickr... (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
OddPetter
Mostly Lurking
Avatar
16 posts
Joined May 2011
Location: Brunei
     
Jan 19, 2013 23:19 as a reply to  @ dustyporch's post |  #11

Got the same error during a bracketed shot. Changing the coin cell battery means I can now get a few shots off between error messages, but high-speed shooting seems to trigger it rather than "lubricate".
Interesting observation; before I changed the coin-cell, the camera would insist my battery packs were empty even though they were not.

FWIW I have done quite a bit of bulb exposures in the past, and use live view extensively when adjusting my TS-E.
I'm dreading sending the 7D in for service, as I'm in a country without Canon presence, so it would take lots of time and money to do so.

Anyone got some more suggestions before I end up buying another body?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
liquidtek
Member
202 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Aurora, CO
     
Feb 11, 2013 09:56 |  #12

Started getting this error this weekend shooting a Chinese New Year event. Had my Canon grip installed and was acting like my batteries were completely dead although I knew they were not. Removed the grip and shot a few before getting the Error 30. Was shooting with multiple lenses and high speed mode. I just powered it off every time I got the error. Issue was pretty intermittent and would appear to get stuck shutter closed because of black frame. Going to try to smack method, removing CF card and shooting 8 fps next time it happens. Worst case scenario will send in to get service.


1D mk IV | 17-40 f4L | 70-200 2.8L IS II | 50 1.8 | Tamron 28-75 2.8 | Canon 430EX II
My SmugMug (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pknight
Goldmember
Avatar
2,666 posts
Gallery: 37 photos
Likes: 115
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Flyover Country
     
Apr 29, 2013 07:48 as a reply to  @ liquidtek's post |  #13

A new cause for Error 30, perhaps? This happened about three times on Saturday with my 7D with OEM grip. When I got home I tried switching batteries, lenses, etc., and the problem only got more frequent. It got to the point where I could take one shot, and the next one would fail, creating a black image. I would then have to remove the batteries in order to take another shot. Finally I took the grip off, and have had no problems since.

Of all the possibilities, a failed grip is the least troubling, given that I need this camera to be working this coming weekend.


Digital EOS 7D Mark II Canon: EF 50mm f/1.8 II, EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro, Life-Size Converter EF Tamron: SP 17-50mm f/2.8 DiII, 18-400mm f/3.5-6.3 DiII VC HLD, SP 150-600 f/5-6.3 Di VC USD G2, SP 70-200 f/2.8 Di VC USD, 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5 DiII VC HLD Sigma: 30mm f/1.4 DC Art Rokinon: 8mm f/3.5 AS IF UMC

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lordnook
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Jan 2011
     
Apr 29, 2013 18:24 as a reply to  @ pknight's post |  #14

I tried the high speed shutter solution and it worked. Just put that baby on machinegun and let her eat about 3 seconds, which is like a gazillion frames. Hope I never see that again but if I do I will try it again. Also found where someone suggested to go to the camera menu and try "sensor cleaning and then the clean manually option". I believe this manually forces opens the shutter. The idea is to unstick what may be stuck. Sounds a lot better than banging the camera around. Wish the best of luck to those that wind up reading this post.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ions
Goldmember
Avatar
1,825 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Burlington, ON, Canada
     
Jun 04, 2013 23:22 |  #15

Mine ended up being repaired at Canon. $250ish later it seems ok.


Gear: Canon EOS 5D3 | Canon EOS 7D | Canon 24-70L ƒ2.8 | Canon 100L ƒ2.8 | Canon 70-200 ƒ2.8L IS II | Canon 420 EX | Tamrac Evolution 9 | Crumpler 8 MDH | Manfrotto 190QC with 804RC2 head.
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

43,419 views & 0 likes for this thread
ERROR 30 :/ solutions? 7D
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is qawsedrftg
1274 guests, 234 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.