Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 03 Jun 2013 (Monday) 16:46
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Slave+Master on 430 EXII

 
ChrisAdval
Member
214 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2013
Location: PA - USA
     
Jun 03, 2013 16:46 |  #1

I'm having a very difficult time changing from master to slave on the 430EXII.... can anyone tell me? and yes I read the manual, it told me to go into that menu by holding zoom, did that, not able to change to slave from master...


All past and recent works on my Flickr (external link). If you're interested in checking out prints for sell of my work go here (external link). *Website (external link)*

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
HLxDrummer
Member
240 posts
Joined Aug 2011
     
Jun 03, 2013 17:01 |  #2

The 430EX can't work as a master can it?


40D with Tamron 17-50MM f/2.8 & Canon 85MM f/1.8 & Canon 55-250MM f/4-5.6
YN-565 with (2) RF-603s
1993 3000GT VR4 & 1993 Trek 2500Pro & 1980's Schwinn World Sport

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ChrisAdval
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
214 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2013
Location: PA - USA
     
Jun 03, 2013 17:12 |  #3

HLxDrummer wrote in post #15996139 (external link)
The 430EX can't work as a master can it?

its on master for me... cant figure out to turn it off and move it into slave... :o


All past and recent works on my Flickr (external link). If you're interested in checking out prints for sell of my work go here (external link). *Website (external link)*

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
HLxDrummer
Member
240 posts
Joined Aug 2011
     
Jun 03, 2013 17:21 |  #4

You mean from regular mode to slave? You should just HIT zoom, not hold it. It will then prompt you for the channel/group and go into slave mode I think.


40D with Tamron 17-50MM f/2.8 & Canon 85MM f/1.8 & Canon 55-250MM f/4-5.6
YN-565 with (2) RF-603s
1993 3000GT VR4 & 1993 Trek 2500Pro & 1980's Schwinn World Sport

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,848 posts
Likes: 215
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Jun 03, 2013 17:30 as a reply to  @ HLxDrummer's post |  #5

Don't have any, but with the 580 EX II, you indeed hold the Zoom button to change mode from standard to master to slave and back to standard. It seems likely it's the same with the 430 EX II, except it doesn't have the master mode.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ChrisAdval
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
214 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2013
Location: PA - USA
     
Jun 03, 2013 17:41 |  #6

I have tried the Zoom menu, when I toggle, the "flash" icon does not blank, only channels, groups, and zoom... it skips the flash icon as it suppose to blank when I toggle I assume?


All past and recent works on my Flickr (external link). If you're interested in checking out prints for sell of my work go here (external link). *Website (external link)*

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ChrisAdval
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
214 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2013
Location: PA - USA
     
Jun 03, 2013 20:42 |  #7

so... is something wrong with my 430EXII? should I contact Canon?


All past and recent works on my Flickr (external link). If you're interested in checking out prints for sell of my work go here (external link). *Website (external link)*

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tiberius
Goldmember
Avatar
2,544 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Apr 2008
     
Jun 04, 2013 00:36 |  #8

Check the link for wireless flash in my signature. It has detailed instructions on how to set up your 430 as a slave and everything else you need to know.


My photography website!PHOCAL PHOTOGRAPHY (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CptTripps
Senior Member
Avatar
567 posts
Joined Mar 2011
Location: Anchorage, AK.
     
Jun 04, 2013 02:16 |  #9

Can't be a master, hold zoom to switch to slave mode which then displays channels and groups.


60D - Sigma 30mm 1.4 - 50mm 1.8 ImkII - 18-135 IS - 70-200 2.8 mkII - 2x430ex II - 3xFlextt5+AC3 - Einstein 640 w/mc2 - Vagabond Mini

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,848 posts
Likes: 215
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Jun 04, 2013 04:32 as a reply to  @ CptTripps's post |  #10

Quick guide, with pictures (external link)


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ChrisAdval
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
214 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2013
Location: PA - USA
     
Jun 05, 2013 03:31 |  #11

did that, the Flash icon next to channel, is suppose to have no lines coming out of the flash icon to be on "slave" mode... right? I think thats what my manual said... but I am only able to change the channel or/and group... thats it...

Unless I am missing something? I tried to simply have it be triggered by my other flashes flashing (YN560 w/ YN622 triggers) and no flash occurred from 430EX II? Should I simply play with the channels on the 430EXII until it flashes?


All past and recent works on my Flickr (external link). If you're interested in checking out prints for sell of my work go here (external link). *Website (external link)*

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,848 posts
Likes: 215
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Jun 05, 2013 03:41 as a reply to  @ ChrisAdval's post |  #12

Of course it should have lines coming out of the icon. They represent the light coming from the flash. No point in having a slave flash if it doesn't illuminate, is there? Besides, when you look at the picture in the quick guide you see the lines are still there, so I don't know where you got the idea that they should disappear from?

Then there's a flash symbol in front of the flash icon too. It's supposed to have an arrow pointing into the flash icon when in slave mode, to indicate reception of commands. A 580 EX II can have that arrow point either in or out, since it can be either master or slave, but your 430 EX II can only be a slave.

To fire the 430 EX II as a slave you need a controller compatible with Canon's optical slave flash protocol. Are your YN devices that, really? Try your 430 EX II with a Canon controller to verify function, before using something else.

I'm at least pretty sure we can assure you that there's nothing wrong with your hardware, so no service necessary. You just need to understand how it works.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dannybegood
Goldmember
Avatar
1,606 posts
Joined Nov 2011
Location: Cambs,UK
     
Jun 05, 2013 03:46 |  #13

I have a feeling that you can only trigger the 430 as a slave to the 580/550/600 and maybe the newer more expensive Yogonuo flashes. The 560 might not do this and you will need another 622


Danny,
60D,24-105 f4L,70-200 f4L,100 2.8f MACRO, Nifty Fifty, Σ120-400/20-40EX, 430 ex ii
Flikr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
oldvultureface
Goldmember
Avatar
4,224 posts
Gallery: 70 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 226
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Northwest Indiana USA
     
Jun 05, 2013 05:04 |  #14

ChrisAdval wrote in post #16001240 (external link)
I tried to simply have it be triggered by my other flashes flashing (YN560 w/ YN622 triggers) and no flash occurred from 430EX II?

Dannybegood wrote in post #16001257 (external link)
I have a feeling that you can only trigger the 430 as a slave to the 580/550/600 and maybe the newer more expensive Yogonuo flashes.

Exactly. The 430, by itself, will not respond to another flash unless that flash has master capability. When in slave mode, the 430 is listening for a coded sequence of light pulses from a master flash to determine what mode and what power setting to use. A single burst from another flash will not trigger it.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ChrisAdval
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
214 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2013
Location: PA - USA
     
Jun 05, 2013 12:44 |  #15

oldvultureface wrote in post #16001344 (external link)
Exactly. The 430, by itself, will not respond to another flash unless that flash has master capability. When in slave mode, the 430 is listening for a coded sequence of light pulses from a master flash to determine what mode and what power setting to use. A single burst from another flash will not trigger it.

yea, my YN560 is in master and on a 622, but the 430 is alone without a 622, not triggering... do I need to play around with the channels/groups on the 430 until it flashes?


All past and recent works on my Flickr (external link). If you're interested in checking out prints for sell of my work go here (external link). *Website (external link)*

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,493 views & 0 likes for this thread
Slave+Master on 430 EXII
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is gabesolms
714 guests, 380 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.