Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 06 May 2007 (Sunday) 19:51
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

STICKY: Lightroom Threads

 
burnet44
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,679 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 3410
Joined Jan 2012
Location: Robinson, Texas
     
Jun 03, 2013 17:01 |  #781

I need about 3 years of tutorials lol


Canon 70D Gripped, Canon 1DII, 7D2 Canon gripped 70-200 2.8 ISM II, Canon 50 1.8, Sigma 17-50 2.8, Canon 400 5.6 on loan, Canon 1.4 TC, Canon 550 EX flash
C and C welcome, Brutality Encouraged, Help Always Welcome Editing OK
www.firstdownphotos.ph​otoreflect.com (external link)
Flicker Page http://www.flickr.com/​photos/72506283@N03/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Glenn ­ NK
Goldmember
Avatar
4,630 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Oct 2006
Location: Victoria, BC
     
Jun 03, 2013 21:53 |  #782

mrgooch wrote in post #15995400 (external link)
I found LR4 a much improved product. I am not that impressed with the upgrade to LR5 but from 3 to 5 it's well worth the change.

Yes - LR4 was a definite improvement.

I'm using LR5 beta a bit, but haven't yet found anything useful for me.

The idea of being able to duplicate an adjustment brush was great, but not being able to adjust the first one once the second one is created pretty well killed the concept for me.

BTW, I checked this out on the LR forum, and one of the LR gurus admitted that not being able to adjust the first brush/pin was a drawback - and she (Victoria Brampton) hoped this would be changed.

Glenn


When did voluptuous become voluminous?

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 537
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jun 07, 2013 16:55 |  #783

GerryDavid wrote in post #15995781 (external link)
I mostly use dpp to edit my raw files, but once in a while Ill load it up into photoshop raw editor to get more controls. I think I heard lr4's raw tools were more like photoshop cs5 or cs6? Its been a while so I'm going on a rusty memory here. :D

LR4's Raw tools are virtually identical to those in CS6, so there you get an upgrade over CS5's Raw tools. So, if you do occasionally prefer the Raw editor in CS5 over that in DPP, you could benefit from using LR, as long as you also want the organizational features of LR.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MCAsan
Goldmember
Avatar
3,803 posts
Likes: 62
Joined Jun 2010
Location: Atlanta
     
Jun 10, 2013 14:45 |  #784

LR 5 went live today. Upgrade from LR4 is $79. IMHO, the updated clone tool that draw lines (get rid of those telephone wires) and the radial filter tool that lets you make changes inside or outside one or more circles/ellipses you draw are worth the upgrade.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
NickPrime
Member
Avatar
75 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2011
Location: De Queen
     
Jun 10, 2013 15:59 |  #785

burnet44 wrote in post #15996140 (external link)
I need about 3 years of tutorials lol

OK, to your point! What I would like to find, is a tutorial that explains how to set up lightroom from the getgo. I have used, with limited success LR4 but never understand where everything is.

Can someone please point me to the beginning!


5DSR, 5D III & T3i
EFS 18-55, EFS 55-250, SP 10-24, EFS 18-250, EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM, EF 24-105 IS USM, EF 16-35 USM
My Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,458 posts
Likes: 189
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
Jun 10, 2013 16:46 |  #786

Basics, 10 videos:
http://tv.adobe.com …be-photoshop-lightroom-4/ (external link)
Basics and Beyond, 36 videos:
http://tv.adobe.com/sh​ow/learn-lightroom-4/ (external link)


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 537
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jun 10, 2013 16:48 |  #787

NickPrime wrote in post #16017955 (external link)
OK, to your point! What I would like to find, is a tutorial that explains how to set up lightroom from the getgo. I have used, with limited success LR4 but never understand where everything is.

Can someone please point me to the beginning!

I'd recommend the Lightroom book by Scott Kelby (there are also good "primers" by Martin Evening and Victoria Bampton).

I'm suggesting a book (or books) because they tend to cover more ground than a video, although the courses in Lynda.com and KelbyTraining.com as well as SLR Lounge are good if you wade through enough of the videos. I like books though because you can always quickly jump to whatever you'd like!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
How do I change this?
Avatar
14,361 posts
Likes: 7688
Joined Oct 2009
     
Jun 10, 2013 16:58 |  #788

Just remember the first time open it prompt you to select a location for your catalogue.

http://www.youtube.com​/watch?v=6LitEYf8cjI (external link)

http://www.youtube.com​/watch?v=prg-VOnD6hs (external link)

http://tv.adobe.com/se​arch/?q=lightroom+4 (external link)


Image Editing OK

Website (external link) ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
NickPrime
Member
Avatar
75 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2011
Location: De Queen
     
Jun 10, 2013 18:24 |  #789

digital paradise wrote in post #16018156 (external link)
Just remember the first time open it prompt you to select a location for your catalogue.

Therein, lies my issue I think. I may have goofed that up. Can it be ungoofed?


5DSR, 5D III & T3i
EFS 18-55, EFS 55-250, SP 10-24, EFS 18-250, EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM, EF 24-105 IS USM, EF 16-35 USM
My Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MCAsan
Goldmember
Avatar
3,803 posts
Likes: 62
Joined Jun 2010
Location: Atlanta
     
Jun 10, 2013 20:08 as a reply to  @ NickPrime's post |  #790

What is the best way to move the LR4 collections to LR5...assuming they are both addressing the same library of photos?

I finally noticed the LR 5 installation used the same presets folder so all my LR4 presets are available in LR5.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
georgebowman
Goldmember
Avatar
1,510 posts
Likes: 2
Joined May 2009
Location: Verona, WI
     
Jun 10, 2013 21:37 |  #791

I hate to admit it but I have LR2 and CS4. I do all of my processing on a PC tower. However, I want to migrate everything to my Macbook Pro. I was waiting for LR5 to upgrade. Has anyone tried it yet?


My Gear: 7d, XTi, 17-55f2.8 EF-S, 70-200f4L, 28-135 Kit lens, 2-580EXii
_______________
My Flickr http://www.flickr.com/​photos/gtbowman (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digital_AM
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,365 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 11126
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Texas
     
Jun 10, 2013 21:41 |  #792

I bought the LR 5 upgrade. I liked the new features and had been using the beta version for a while.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
georgebowman
Goldmember
Avatar
1,510 posts
Likes: 2
Joined May 2009
Location: Verona, WI
     
Jun 10, 2013 23:42 |  #793

digital_AM wrote in post #16018969 (external link)
I bought the LR 5 upgrade. I liked the new features and had been using the beta version for a while.

Thanks for the feedback. I will likely upgrade to LR5. Have you every tried Aperture? I've heard rumors Aperture 4 is due for release soon. Thanks!


My Gear: 7d, XTi, 17-55f2.8 EF-S, 70-200f4L, 28-135 Kit lens, 2-580EXii
_______________
My Flickr http://www.flickr.com/​photos/gtbowman (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
Avatar
13,458 posts
Likes: 189
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
     
Jun 11, 2013 00:44 |  #794

Therein, lies my issue I think. I may have goofed that up. Can it be ungoofed?

More details,please.

I was waiting for LR5 to upgrade. Has anyone tried it yet?

I have been using LR5 Beta since the first day, generally found it faster and liked the new features, but found some shortcomings in them - the feathering in the Heal/Clone, mobility of the brush, and a few other things, an opinion that I communicated directly to Adobe. But I got home last night from a trip with a thousand shots and first thing downloaded the final release. Now I will have to do the the transfer of old catalogs to LR5, the initial review of the trip shots to decide what to import and then the import and preview making plus the second sorting to decide what to edit first. Then the serious editing starts; so it will be a couple days until I post my judgement on LR5.

What is the best way to move the LR4 collections to LR5...assuming they are both addresisng the same library of photos?[

In File/Open Catalog select the old catalog. LR5 will ask if you want to make it compatible with LR5. Answer yes and it will make a new copy of the catalog that is a LR5 catalog.


Elie / אלי

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tdodd
Goldmember
Avatar
3,733 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jun 2006
Location: Essex, UK
     
Jun 11, 2013 01:39 |  #795

I did not bother with the beta, but bought LR5 last night, based mostly on the new clone/heal facility, but on the assumption that it would be generally better and faster all round. I've only been mucking about with some recent files so far, but I'm actually not too impressed. Brightly exposed shots from my 5D3 at 400 ISO are looking quite grainy in OOF areas, even when sized to fit the display and not very smooth/attractive. I need to investigate further. Also the "F" key to expand the workspace has no effect and it seems impossible to go full screen with Lightroom (i.e. using all the screen including the task bar), despite claims to be able to do so, which it always did before in any case. There actually seems to be more wasted real estate, with superfluous border areas for which I can see no purpose at all. Were they there in LR4? I don't remember them, but I've uninstalled it now, so cannot compare.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

329,369 views & 15 likes for this thread
Lightroom Threads
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is SabrinaMarthendal
907 guests, 311 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.