Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 09 Jun 2013 (Sunday) 23:18
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Lightroom 5 is out.....

 
BobbyMartin
Senior Member
Avatar
250 posts
Gallery: 51 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 175
Joined Apr 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL
     
Jun 23, 2013 22:26 |  #181

I noticed the same thing Bakewell... not even brushing, just moving my mouse. It's being noticed. http://forums.adobe.co​m/message/5423606 (external link)


Canon 5D Mark IV | Canon 5DII | 580ex II | Canon 16-35 f/2.8 MKII L | Canon 24-70 MKII f/2.8 L | Canon 70-200 f/2.8 IS MKII L | Canon 100-400 f/4.0-5.6 L | Canon 50 f/1.4 | Canon 85 f/1.8 | Flickr (external link) | 500px (external link) | facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Bob_A
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,438 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Likes: 47
Joined Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
     
Jun 23, 2013 23:19 |  #182

Bakewell wrote in post #16058544 (external link)
I've just experienced an extreme slow down with an extended use of the adjustment brush on two different powerful computers. Totally different configurations that functioned fine with LR 4.4. Wow....the two totally different systems are just crawling!

BobbyMartin wrote in post #16058873 (external link)
I noticed the same thing Bakewell... not even brushing, just moving my mouse. It's being noticed. http://forums.adobe.co​m/message/5423606 (external link)

The new Spot Removal Tool brush that your link points to a discussion about is really slow. It's also not that great a tool if you are used to using the content aware spot healing brush in PS. I honestly feel it's only good for very minor edits and I'm betting that there isn't much Adobe can do to make it any faster.

I haven't seen any slowness with the Adjustment Brush tool though. It seems identical to LR4.


Bob
SmugMug (external link) | My Gear Ratings | My POTN Gallery

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lsquare
Goldmember
1,933 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2008
     
Jun 24, 2013 06:27 |  #183

hollis_f wrote in post #16056880 (external link)
Sounds like you agreee with each other.

Huh?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lsquare
Goldmember
1,933 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2008
     
Jun 24, 2013 06:29 |  #184

Bob_A wrote in post #16059000 (external link)
The new Spot Removal Tool brush that your link points to a discussion about is really slow. It's also not that great a tool if you are used to using the content aware spot healing brush in PS. I honestly feel it's only good for very minor edits and I'm betting that there isn't much Adobe can do to make it any faster.

I haven't seen any slowness with the Adjustment Brush tool though. It seems identical to LR4.

Why do you say that?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bakewell
Goldmember
1,385 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: Irvine, CA
     
Jun 24, 2013 09:08 |  #185
bannedPermanent ban

Bob_A wrote in post #16059000 (external link)
The new Spot Removal Tool brush that your link points to a discussion about is really slow. It's also not that great a tool if you are used to using the content aware spot healing brush in PS. I honestly feel it's only good for very minor edits and I'm betting that there isn't much Adobe can do to make it any faster.

I haven't seen any slowness with the Adjustment Brush tool though. It seems identical to LR4.

I'm talking about the adjustment brush not the spot removal tool. Bluring background, adjusting exposure, etc. Had zero issues in LR 4.4. The actual brush use is crawling in LR 5.


Dave

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bob_A
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,438 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Likes: 47
Joined Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
     
Jun 24, 2013 19:46 |  #186

Bakewell wrote in post #16059889 (external link)
I'm talking about the adjustment brush not the spot removal tool. Bluring background, adjusting exposure, etc. Had zero issues in LR 4.4. The actual brush use is crawling in LR 5.


Thanks Bakewell. I've used the adjustment brush for exposure and saturation and haven't seen any difference in response from LR4. I'll try blur to see if it's sluggish.


Bob
SmugMug (external link) | My Gear Ratings | My POTN Gallery

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bob_A
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,438 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Likes: 47
Joined Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
     
Jun 24, 2013 19:56 |  #187

lsquare wrote in post #16059541 (external link)
Why do you say that?

My guess is that it's a large amount of data that has to be written and re-written to a record in a database, which in my opinion is going to be pretty slow. It's also probably why it isn't a content aware type of healing brush since that would likely require even more horsepower.

Adobe would have been better off not implementing the feature.


Bob
SmugMug (external link) | My Gear Ratings | My POTN Gallery

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lsquare
Goldmember
1,933 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2008
     
Jun 24, 2013 22:30 |  #188

Bob_A wrote in post #16061609 (external link)
My guess is that it's a large amount of data that has to be written and re-written to a record in a database, which in my opinion is going to be pretty slow. It's also probably why it isn't a content aware type of healing brush since that would likely require even more horsepower.

Adobe would have been better off not implementing the feature.

What makes you think that faster SSDs in the future (PCI-E base) and more computing power and address those issues?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bob_A
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,438 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Likes: 47
Joined Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
     
Jun 25, 2013 00:23 |  #189

lsquare wrote in post #16062018 (external link)
What makes you think that faster SSDs in the future (PCI-E base) and more computing power and address those issues?

Nope, I don't think they will, not in the short term anyway and not at a reasonable hardware cost for most users. :) (really, it's just my opinion) Give it several years and certainly hardware could be available to use LR5's spot healing brush tool ... but I'm hoping by that time there will be significant code and technology improvements to deal with those kind of speed issues anyway. Maybe some sort of hybrid database/pixel editor approach. Fortunately right now the spot healing brush tool isn't that great anyway, even if it were fast, so for that kind of editing I'll stick to CS6.

The rest of the LR5 editing tools are fast enough on my hardware, which is all good. However, as per a previous post I made, doing massive amounts of metadata changes for some reason grinds my system to a halt. I also just found out that my i7 930 CPU goes to 100% (although RAM doesn't go over 5GB utilized) and really starts to cook, making LR unusable when I select multiple galleries to publish at the same time to Smugmug. Really weird, because it doesn't happen when I select one gallery at a time.

I appreciate the debate and discussion in this thread over performance issues. It's been an informative exchange and in a few areas really eye opening.


Bob
SmugMug (external link) | My Gear Ratings | My POTN Gallery

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lsquare
Goldmember
1,933 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2008
     
Jun 25, 2013 03:54 |  #190

Bob_A wrote in post #16062238 (external link)
Nope, I don't think they will, not in the short term anyway and not at a reasonable hardware cost for most users. :) (really, it's just my opinion) Give it several years and certainly hardware could be available to use LR5's spot healing brush tool ... but I'm hoping by that time there will be significant code and technology improvements to deal with those kind of speed issues anyway. Maybe some sort of hybrid database/pixel editor approach. Fortunately right now the spot healing brush tool isn't that great anyway, even if it were fast, so for that kind of editing I'll stick to CS6.

The rest of the LR5 editing tools are fast enough on my hardware, which is all good. However, as per a previous post I made, doing massive amounts of metadata changes for some reason grinds my system to a halt. I also just found out that my i7 930 CPU goes to 100% (although RAM doesn't go over 5GB utilized) and really starts to cook, making LR unusable when I select multiple galleries to publish at the same time to Smugmug. Really weird, because it doesn't happen when I select one gallery at a time.

I appreciate the debate and discussion in this thread over performance issues. It's been an informative exchange and in a few areas really eye opening.

I think we're going to have to agree to disagree on that. I'm surprised that LR was able to push your CPU to 100% utilization. I haven't checked, but my i5 2500K at 4ghz runs Lightroom without any issues. I think once PCI-E base SSDs becomes cheaper and more prevalent, it's going to make Lightroom even better.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bob_A
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,438 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Likes: 47
Joined Jan 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
     
Jun 25, 2013 08:32 |  #191

lsquare wrote in post #16062514 (external link)
I think we're going to have to agree to disagree on that. I'm surprised that LR was able to push your CPU to 100% utilization. I haven't checked, but my i5 2500K at 4ghz runs Lightroom without any issues. I think once PCI-E base SSDs becomes cheaper and more prevalent, it's going to make Lightroom even better.

It only does it using Publish and queuing up a bunch of galleries to publish at the same time. Looks like a bug to me, in that Publish seems to want to do all of the operations in parallel instead of sequential. Manually selecting one gallery at a time doesn't cause full utilization of the CPU to occur and images upload faster.


Bob
SmugMug (external link) | My Gear Ratings | My POTN Gallery

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ekinnyc
Senior Member
Avatar
784 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Mar 2011
Location: New York, NY
     
Jun 25, 2013 20:52 |  #192

what's the best way to convert my existing raw files to process version 2012? theyre all 2010 from lr3


6D| 35mm f/2 IS
Buying/Selling Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BamPhoto
Goldmember
Avatar
3,098 posts
Likes: 57
Joined Sep 2005
Location: AZ-USA
     
Jun 25, 2013 22:44 |  #193

On a pc, select all, settings "Update to current Process"

ekinnyc wrote in post #16065072 (external link)
what's the best way to convert my existing raw files to process version 2012? theyre all 2010 from lr3


Randy
My Gear List and Feedback
Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ShootaBike
Senior Member
Avatar
337 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jul 2011
Location: Ex land of the Gods - now land of the Poor!
     
Jun 26, 2013 03:00 |  #194

I read earlier in this thread that one may "delete" stuff form the older version when an upgrade to LR5 is performed...

I have always thought that an upgrade builds ontop of the old application and continues to use the same resources. In this case catalogue, backup etc...

So, do I really need to clean anything some time after the upgrade? I will be coming from LR3 on a PC.


Canon EOS 7D | Canon 580EX II | Metz Mecablitz 58 AF1 | Canon EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM | Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro | Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM |Yongnuo YN-622C | Lots to learn...
Lowepro S&F Modular Carrying System | Naneu Pro Military Ops - Bravo Backpack
C μ on Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/​photos/shootabike/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Yohan ­ Pamudji
Goldmember
Avatar
2,994 posts
Joined Jun 2007
Location: Mississippi
     
Jun 26, 2013 10:28 |  #195

ekinnyc wrote in post #16065072 (external link)
what's the best way to convert my existing raw files to process version 2012? theyre all 2010 from lr3

I would do it on a photo-by-photo basis as needed (when you want to make further tweaks to a given photo) instead of in bulk. There will be some differences in the rendering and you might not like how LR "translates" 2010 to 2012.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

24,901 views & 0 likes for this thread
Lightroom 5 is out.....
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is chopkins55
929 guests, 302 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.