Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 26 Jul 2013 (Friday) 07:13
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

6D - "no card in camera"

 
wisdom2thewise
Member
127 posts
Joined Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia.
     
Jul 26, 2013 07:13 |  #1

Took candy out for some shots tonight and the above message appeared when i switched it on. Any thoughts and has anyone experienced this in the past with their dslr camera?


Sold my first DSLR & lens = 6D (24-105L) & (40)
Now what prime should i get with the 7d mark ii?...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Davinor
Senior Member
Avatar
508 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Mar 2005
Location: UK
     
Jul 26, 2013 07:16 |  #2

I'm assuming there was a card in the camera. Try taking it out and re-inserting it
David


A tidy desk is the sign of a sick individual
600D with Sigma 17-70 f2.8-4 DC OS HSM,
Tamron 70-300 f4.5-5.6 Di VC USD
Sigma EF500 DG Super and some other bit and pieces

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wisdom2thewise
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
127 posts
Joined Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia.
     
Jul 26, 2013 07:19 as a reply to  @ Davinor's post |  #3

Correct. Numerous times and with another sd card as well.
Read the user manual, but what's puzzled me is that there's no error code number for such a thing.


Sold my first DSLR & lens = 6D (24-105L) & (40)
Now what prime should i get with the 7d mark ii?...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
frugivore
Goldmember
Avatar
3,089 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 118
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
     
Jul 26, 2013 07:19 |  #4

wisdom2thewise wrote in post #16155123 (external link)
Took candy out for some shots tonight and the above message appeared when i switched it on. Any thoughts and has anyone experienced this in the past with their dslr camera?

Did you format the memory card in the computer, perhaps selecting an incompatible filesystem?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wisdom2thewise
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
127 posts
Joined Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia.
     
Jul 26, 2013 07:27 |  #5

Wasn't willing to format the two existing sd cards tonight. Shall buy another one tomorrow and do the exercise.
Q - should i try formatting the card in the camera or computer?


Sold my first DSLR & lens = 6D (24-105L) & (40)
Now what prime should i get with the 7d mark ii?...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mkville
Goldmember
Avatar
1,082 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 216
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Burlington Ontario
     
Jul 26, 2013 07:32 |  #6

Do it in camara


Mark
flickr (external link)
500px (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wisdom2thewise
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
127 posts
Joined Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia.
     
Jul 26, 2013 07:41 |  #7

mkville wrote in post #16155159 (external link)
Do it in camara

Ta, shall do.
That's if the camera recognises it lol.


Sold my first DSLR & lens = 6D (24-105L) & (40)
Now what prime should i get with the 7d mark ii?...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gfspencer
Member
179 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 17
Joined Dec 2008
     
Jul 26, 2013 07:50 as a reply to  @ mkville's post |  #8

See page 54 of the PDF Owner's Manual -

Always format a new card in the camera.

Always format the card if you were using that card in a computer or another camera.

Also, it might help to do a "low-level" format.


Canon 50D - Canon 7DII - Canon 6D - 16-35mm f/2.8L - 24-105mm f/4[COLOR="red"]L IS - 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS - 50mm f/1.2L - 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS - 100-400mm II f/4.5-5.6L IS - Extender EF 2x

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Freddy ­ Flash
Senior Member
301 posts
Joined Jul 2006
Location: WV
     
Jul 26, 2013 09:45 |  #9

Did you check to make sure the SD's didn't have the protect switch in the lock position? Don't know if that would cause an error like you saw but I've had that Oh Duh moment before ;)


http://www.flickr.com/​photos/nicholasgraf/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
M_Six
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,424 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 1230
Joined Dec 2010
Location: East Central IL
     
Jul 26, 2013 14:00 |  #10

It'll tell you specifically if the lock switch is on. Happened to me a couple weeks ago.


Mark J.
Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wisdom2thewise
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
127 posts
Joined Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia.
     
Jul 26, 2013 16:57 |  #11

^^Checked both lock switches on the camera and card - nothing.
Off to the camera store today. Will report back later.


Sold my first DSLR & lens = 6D (24-105L) & (40)
Now what prime should i get with the 7d mark ii?...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wisdom2thewise
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
127 posts
Joined Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia.
     
Jul 26, 2013 23:55 |  #12

6months old and the camera is off to the service agent.
Hopefully it's a quick turn around.


Sold my first DSLR & lens = 6D (24-105L) & (40)
Now what prime should i get with the 7d mark ii?...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wisdom2thewise
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
127 posts
Joined Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia.
     
Aug 15, 2013 05:52 |  #13

Update.
Received my camera back today with the main pcb replaced. Fingers cross it doesn't happen again once the warranty period expires.


Sold my first DSLR & lens = 6D (24-105L) & (40)
Now what prime should i get with the 7d mark ii?...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JWH
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Aug 2015
     
Aug 25, 2015 15:31 |  #14

This is an old thread, but I wanted to add that my canon 6D suddenly read "no card in camera." Did the usual checks. No change. Eventually sent back to canon. Main PCP assembly had to be replaced at $550. Camera is 2 1/2 years old and has been babied. Hoping this is a one-time problem. Any others have this experience?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GeoKras1989
Goldmember
Avatar
4,038 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 261
Joined Jun 2014
     
Aug 25, 2015 16:00 as a reply to  @ JWH's post |  #15
bannedPermanent ban

I've had my 6D for about 21 months. I take the card out every time to transfer photos to the computer. That happens just about daily. No problems, yet.


WARNING: I often dispense advice in fields I know little about!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

8,803 views & 2 likes for this thread
6D - "no card in camera"
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is wooricoin
967 guests, 242 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.