Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 29 Jul 2013 (Monday) 16:08
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

430ex high speed sync problem

 
Van ­ Gogh
Goldmember
Avatar
1,330 posts
Gallery: 118 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 381
Joined Jun 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
     
Jul 29, 2013 16:08 |  #1

Hello everyone,

One problem I had during a portrait shoot that bothered me a lot is the following.

When shooting with flash, I was using it in Wireless mode with umbrella.
I was using high-speed sync function as shutter speeds were high (it was bright) and I still wanted shallow DEF.

But when I put the flash on high speed sync mode, every time after just 1 shot it was going out of high speed sync mode and I had to go to flash and put it on high sync speed all over again. It bothered me a lot. Is this normal?
I am using 430ex speedlight with 60D.

Any idea if this is normal?


Camera - 2x5Dmk3, C100 mkii, 70D, 60D
Lenses - 24-70mm f2.8L II, 70-200mm f2.8L IS ii, 85mm f1.2L II, 35mm f1.4 ART, 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS
Lighting - 3 x 600EX RT's, Printer - Epson 3880

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
klr.b
Goldmember
2,509 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Location: SoCal
     
Jul 29, 2013 16:53 |  #2

When using the camera as a Master, it won't transmit HSS or Second Curtain Sync. For those, you'll need an external flash as a Master, an ETTL cord, or a set of ETTL triggers.


gordon
Gear and Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Van ­ Gogh
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,330 posts
Gallery: 118 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 381
Joined Jun 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
     
Jul 29, 2013 17:25 |  #3

klr.b wrote in post #16164426 (external link)
When using the camera as a Master, it won't transmit HSS or Second Curtain Sync. For those, you'll need an external flash as a Master, an ETTL cord, or a set of ETTL triggers.

Never knew about that.:(
So I need a master flash for High Sync Speed off camera?
Can u give examples of ETTL cords or triggers? Just don't know anything about them.


Camera - 2x5Dmk3, C100 mkii, 70D, 60D
Lenses - 24-70mm f2.8L II, 70-200mm f2.8L IS ii, 85mm f1.2L II, 35mm f1.4 ART, 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS
Lighting - 3 x 600EX RT's, Printer - Epson 3880

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
klr.b
Goldmember
2,509 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Location: SoCal
     
Jul 29, 2013 17:43 |  #4

Something like this (external link) will trick the flash into thinking it's on top of the camera. Of course, it gets more expensive the longer the cord is, and there's the looming possibility of tripping over the wires. That's why most people go with wireless triggers. You can search the forum for the Yong Nuo YN-622C, Pixel King II, or Phottix Odin and read up on them.


gordon
Gear and Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Van ­ Gogh
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,330 posts
Gallery: 118 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 381
Joined Jun 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
     
Jul 29, 2013 18:03 |  #5

klr.b wrote in post #16164538 (external link)
Something like this (external link) will trick the flash into thinking it's on top of the camera. Of course, it gets more expensive the longer the cord is, and there's the looming possibility of tripping over the wires. That's why most people go with wireless triggers. You can search the forum for the Yong Nuo YN-622C, Pixel King II, or Phottix Odin and read up on them.

H@@m, wirless flash triggers cost almost 100$, thinking I would rather buy a second master flash instead :confused:

Another alternative is ND filter I am thinking.


Camera - 2x5Dmk3, C100 mkii, 70D, 60D
Lenses - 24-70mm f2.8L II, 70-200mm f2.8L IS ii, 85mm f1.2L II, 35mm f1.4 ART, 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS
Lighting - 3 x 600EX RT's, Printer - Epson 3880

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Green ­ Li
Senior Member
753 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Likes: 41
Joined Jan 2009
     
Jul 29, 2013 20:08 |  #6

FlashZebra makes good TTL cords. could be a cost effective solution if you are OK with being "wired" :)


PHOTO-TIPS-ONLINE.com – photo tips, photography reviews (external link)
Facebook (external link) | Twitter (external link) | Google (external link)+

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tommy1957
Goldmember
1,288 posts
Joined Apr 2013
     
Jul 29, 2013 20:36 |  #7

When I go beyond the capabilities of my 60D's master mode, I use a 550EX as a shoe-mounted master. It does HSS, multiple flashes, FEB and such things the camera balks at. I think the 550EX is the best bang-for-the-buck hot-shoe flash going.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Van ­ Gogh
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,330 posts
Gallery: 118 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 381
Joined Jun 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
     
Jul 29, 2013 21:13 |  #8

Tommy1957 wrote in post #16164976 (external link)
When I go beyond the capabilities of my 60D's master mode, I use a 550EX as a shoe-mounted master. It does HSS, multiple flashes, FEB and such things the camera balks at. I think the 550EX is the best bang-for-the-buck hot-shoe flash going.

Wait so if I mount the 550ex on top and use it as my master, I will be able to use my other flash in wireless mode in high speed sync?
What about 580ex 2?


Camera - 2x5Dmk3, C100 mkii, 70D, 60D
Lenses - 24-70mm f2.8L II, 70-200mm f2.8L IS ii, 85mm f1.2L II, 35mm f1.4 ART, 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS
Lighting - 3 x 600EX RT's, Printer - Epson 3880

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tommy1957
Goldmember
1,288 posts
Joined Apr 2013
     
Jul 29, 2013 21:30 |  #9

Van Gogh wrote in post #16165066 (external link)
Wait so if I mount the 550ex on top and use it as my master, I will be able to use my other flash in wireless mode in high speed sync?
What about 580ex 2?

EDIT:
Short answers. Yes. Yes.

Let me test it to be sure. Be right back.

I put my 550EX on the 60D hotshoe as master. I set the 430EXII to slave. Put the 550in HSS and set a shutter speed of 1/640. Both flashes fired and both lit the scene I was shooting. It was a boring shot of a text book, but both flashes are clearly lighting it. Oh, the 430EXII now has its own HSS indicator on, too.
Yes, this works just fine. I was pretty sure but tested it anyway.

EDIT:
I am sure if my 550s can do that, the 580EXII can also. BTW, I got both 550EX units for less than the cost of one 580 EXII. I don't miss the camera menu access one bit.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tommy1957
Goldmember
1,288 posts
Joined Apr 2013
     
Jul 29, 2013 21:42 |  #10

OC flash is camera right.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tommy1957
Goldmember
1,288 posts
Joined Apr 2013
     
Jul 29, 2013 21:51 |  #11

I use my one of my 550 units as a master most of the time anyway. The 550 and up can control 3 groups. My 60D can only control A & B. The only way I can use a BG light with the 60D as master is to set it (the BG unit) to group A and set the power manually. That just sounds like a pain, especially if it is on the floor. I am too old for that crap. It is easier to use the 550 as a master, which is why I have two of them.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Van ­ Gogh
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,330 posts
Gallery: 118 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 381
Joined Jun 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
     
Jul 30, 2013 14:53 |  #12

Tommy1957 wrote in post #16165130 (external link)
EDIT:
Short answers. Yes. Yes.

Let me test it to be sure. Be right back.

I put my 550EX on the 60D hotshoe as master. I set the 430EXII to slave. Put the 550in HSS and set a shutter speed of 1/640. Both flashes fired and both lit the scene I was shooting. It was a boring shot of a text book, but both flashes are clearly lighting it. Oh, the 430EXII now has its own HSS indicator on, too.
Yes, this works just fine. I was pretty sure but tested it anyway.

EDIT:
I am sure if my 550s can do that, the 580EXII can also. BTW, I got both 550EX units for less than the cost of one 580 EXII. I don't miss the camera menu access one bit.

Thanks for the tests a lot.
Now contemplating on getting a 550EX. Any real differance between 550ex and 580ex? Why is 580ex so significantly more expensive?


Camera - 2x5Dmk3, C100 mkii, 70D, 60D
Lenses - 24-70mm f2.8L II, 70-200mm f2.8L IS ii, 85mm f1.2L II, 35mm f1.4 ART, 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS
Lighting - 3 x 600EX RT's, Printer - Epson 3880

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
klr.b
Goldmember
2,509 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Location: SoCal
     
Jul 30, 2013 16:02 |  #13

I use a 580exII to Master a bunch of 550ex Slaves, but it's just an improved 580ex. The dial on the back allows for much faster changes when compared to a 550ex or your 430ex. If you're fine with pushing buttons for every adjustment on your 430ex, then you probably won't mind the 550ex. Neither the 550ex nor the 580ex allow the in-camera adjustment like the 580exII.


gordon
Gear and Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tommy1957
Goldmember
1,288 posts
Joined Apr 2013
     
Jul 30, 2013 16:33 |  #14

The 580EXII can be controlled from the camera's menu system, much as the 430EXII. I think the 550EX are a breeze to setup; literally seconds. I do use the camera menu system when shooting my 430EXII, but I don't miss it a bit when setting up a multiple-flash system. That is most likely a simple matter of what you get used to.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Van ­ Gogh
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,330 posts
Gallery: 118 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 381
Joined Jun 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
     
Jul 31, 2013 07:18 as a reply to  @ Tommy1957's post |  #15

Well just realized that getting a 2nd flash doesnt really make sense in terms of lighting advantages as 1 will stay on camera, (and I have built in for that) only advantage it gives is ability of high speed sync.

So I would have to buy 2 extra flashes for a total of 3 to give me extra advantages of composing. Need quiet bit of money for that.... :cry:


Camera - 2x5Dmk3, C100 mkii, 70D, 60D
Lenses - 24-70mm f2.8L II, 70-200mm f2.8L IS ii, 85mm f1.2L II, 35mm f1.4 ART, 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS
Lighting - 3 x 600EX RT's, Printer - Epson 3880

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,699 views & 0 likes for this thread
430ex high speed sync problem
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is jstrothe
669 guests, 158 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.