Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Community Talk, Chatter & Official Stuff The Lounge 
Thread started 12 Jun 2012 (Tuesday) 10:01
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

60D users, friends and their random OT B.S. (II)

 
this thread is locked
toolman21
Goldmember
Avatar
1,027 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 5
Joined Jul 2011
Location: Memphis
     
Aug 20, 2013 10:48 |  #3976

NewCreation wrote in post #16224024 (external link)
How does one do that?


  1. Choose Lightroom > Preferences (Mac OS) or Edit > Preferences (Windows).



  2. Click the File Handling tab.



  3. In the Camera Raw Cache Settings area, experiment with a Maximum Size of 10.0 GB or more.


From the Adobe page that has a few more hints like how long to keep cache etc:
http://helpx.adobe.com …erformance-lightroom.html (external link)

I set mine at 20Gb and it helped some.

A SSD would be very nice though. One day I suppose.

Toolman21 - Canon 60d & T1i (sold) - Canon 17-55 | Canon 17-85 | Canon 50mm 1.4 | Sigma 10-20 | Canon 55-250
My Flicker (external link) | Like me on Facebook to follow my He-Man 365 nonsense (external link)| www.heman365.com (external link)https://www.facebook.c​om …n-Digital/34796106523515​2 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
NewCreation
Goldmember
Avatar
3,216 posts
Gallery: 47 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 594
Joined Jan 2013
Location: Michigan
     
Aug 20, 2013 11:29 |  #3977

toolman21 wrote in post #16224335 (external link)

  1. Choose Lightroom > Preferences (Mac OS) or Edit > Preferences (Windows).



  2. Click the File Handling tab.



  3. In the Camera Raw Cache Settings area, experiment with a Maximum Size of 10.0 GB or more.


From the Adobe page that has a few more hints like how long to keep cache etc:
http://helpx.adobe.com …erformance-lightroom.html (external link)

I set mine at 20Gb and it helped some.

A SSD would be very nice though. One day I suppose.

Thank you. :) And yes a SSD would be nice...there's a lot of things that would be nice.


My name is Brenda ~Saved by grace, walking by faith
http://brendahoffmanph​otography.com (external link)
Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
NewCreation
Goldmember
Avatar
3,216 posts
Gallery: 47 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 594
Joined Jan 2013
Location: Michigan
     
Aug 20, 2013 11:31 |  #3978

Couple of random LR questions.

On import of my raw files, I kinda expected all the sliders to be at zero. What is determining where the sliders land on import as they are different for different shots?

On export...do these folders not show up in the library?


My name is Brenda ~Saved by grace, walking by faith
http://brendahoffmanph​otography.com (external link)
Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
IMADreamer
Senior Member
499 posts
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Illinois
     
Aug 20, 2013 12:02 |  #3979

babel_fish wrote in post #16221888 (external link)
Hahahah
bw!

he, it's true. When I swapped the cam I had to drop the engine through the bottom of the car. I had it out and decided I better do everything else I might want to do to it at the same time. So I did the headers and several other little things at that time. Took me nearly 30 hours to swap the cam. I put in new cams on my buddies Mustang last year and it took me an hour. :rolleyes: I suppose that's one advantage of an OHC.


Jason: 60d user. My flicker page feel free to friend or contact me: http://www.flickr.com/​photos/exorimadreamer/ (external link)
www.infinite-garage.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jamaeolus
Member
Avatar
195 posts
Joined Feb 2013
Location: Eugene
     
Aug 20, 2013 12:06 |  #3980

Hi guys. Probably a stupid question, but I frequently see reference to "superior IQ" . What does that mean? I gather from context it has something to do with the lens ability. Is it how quick the lens reaches a decision on ISO, shutter speed and Fstop?


60D tok 11-16, sig 17-50, canon 24-105L,100-400 IS L, celestron 5SE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
NewCreation
Goldmember
Avatar
3,216 posts
Gallery: 47 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 594
Joined Jan 2013
Location: Michigan
     
Aug 20, 2013 12:11 |  #3981

jamaeolus wrote in post #16224585 (external link)
Hi guys. Probably a stupid question, but I frequently see reference to "superior IQ" . What does that mean? I gather from context it has something to do with the lens ability. Is it how quick the lens reaches a decision on ISO, shutter speed and Fstop?

I could be all wet, but I understand it to mean "Image quality". :confused:


My name is Brenda ~Saved by grace, walking by faith
http://brendahoffmanph​otography.com (external link)
Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MikeDee
Senior Member
Avatar
641 posts
Gallery: 37 photos
Likes: 320
Joined Apr 2011
Location: Boston - MetroWest
     
Aug 20, 2013 12:25 |  #3982

Anyone use a SD to CF adapter in their DSLR? Thinking of getting one for my 40D as I have a lot of SD cards. Curious if there's a speed or other disadvantage.

tia
Mike


80D | M50 | Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L II | Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L II | Canon 100mm f/2.8 Macro | Canon 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM | Canon 55-250 f/4-5.6 IS STM | Ʃ 150-600mm F5-6.3 DG OS HSM C | Tokina 11-20mm f/2.8 | Metz 50 AF-1 | Yongnuo YN 560 III/IV | Flashpoint AD360 | The Rest of My Gear | Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dr.D
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,236 posts
Likes: 104
Joined Feb 2011
Location: SL,UT.
     
Aug 20, 2013 12:42 |  #3983

NewCreation wrote in post #16224597 (external link)
I could be all wet, but I understand it to mean "Image quality". :confused:

Yes, that is it.


6D . Gripped 60D . Gripped XSI . Opteka 6.5 . Canon 10-22 . Canon 18-135 . Canon 50 1.8 MKII . Canon 24-105 f4 L . Canon 70-200 2.8 IS MKII L . Canon 70-300 IS USM . Sigma 150-600 . Canon 100mm Macro . Canon 2X III . 430 EXII . Manfroto 190XPROB . Manfrotto 055XPROB . Black Rapid Sport . Outback 200
https://photography-on-the.net …/showthread.php​?t=1195651

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Vixen89
Goldmember
Avatar
4,521 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Aug 2010
Location: D-Town, TX
     
Aug 20, 2013 12:58 |  #3984

MikeDee wrote in post #16224635 (external link)
Anyone use a SD to CF adapter in their DSLR? Thinking of getting one for my 40D as I have a lot of SD cards. Curious if there's a speed or other disadvantage.

tia
Mike

I would imagine it would hurt the transfer rate a bit but nothing serious. I never heard of anyone also doing this either.


I'm actively lazy!! :D | Gear List | photovxn.com (under construction)external link

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BurnUnit
Senior Member
Avatar
845 posts
Gallery: 106 photos
Likes: 171
Joined May 2012
Location: Ft. Wayne, Indiana
     
Aug 20, 2013 13:16 |  #3985

jamaeolus wrote in post #16224585 (external link)
Hi guys. Probably a stupid question, but I frequently see reference to "superior IQ" . What does that mean? I gather from context it has something to do with the lens ability. Is it how quick the lens reaches a decision on ISO, shutter speed and Fstop?

If I possessed a "superior IQ" I could have answered this question correctly. ;)


Canon 60D+EFs 18-200, EFs 10-18, G5, A20 (retired), Pentax Optio Z10, Powershot A620 and a recently adopted Digital Rebel/300D

"They've introduced a new camera that's so advanced, you don't even need it!"
Steven Wright

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
toolman21
Goldmember
Avatar
1,027 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 5
Joined Jul 2011
Location: Memphis
     
Aug 20, 2013 13:28 |  #3986

jamaeolus wrote in post #16224585 (external link)
Hi guys. Probably a stupid question, but I frequently see reference to "superior IQ" . What does that mean? I gather from context it has something to do with the lens ability. Is it how quick the lens reaches a decision on ISO, shutter speed and Fstop?

Everyone above is correct, all about image quality.

Think of it as everything you could score a lens for, sharpness, contrast, etc all combined into one average score.

That is my take on it anyway.


Toolman21 - Canon 60d & T1i (sold) - Canon 17-55 | Canon 17-85 | Canon 50mm 1.4 | Sigma 10-20 | Canon 55-250
My Flicker (external link) | Like me on Facebook to follow my He-Man 365 nonsense (external link)| www.heman365.com (external link)https://www.facebook.c​om …n-Digital/34796106523515​2 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mine1
Goldmember
Avatar
1,289 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Jun 2012
Location: Kalispell Montana
     
Aug 20, 2013 13:34 as a reply to  @ toolman21's post |  #3987

another laptop question. I am looking at 2 different Sager laptops, one comes with a ips screen and the other a 95% ntsc screen. Other than the fact that the one with the Ips screen has a slower graffix card (but I am sure still fast enough for editing and anything else I might want to do), and the non ips one can hold more ram (the ips one can hold the 16 gigs that I wanted), which do you guys think would be better?

http://www.sagernotebo​ok.com …ustomed&model_n​ame=NP6652 (external link)

http://www.sagernotebo​ok.com …ustomed&model_n​ame=NP7352 (external link)


http://www.flickr.com/​photos/81190407@N08/ (external link)
Canon 60d.Canon 18-135, 55-250 II, and 10-18 stm. and Benro C-1681t Travel Angel, with Sirui K20x head.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
babel_fish
Goldmember
Avatar
1,847 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Seattle
     
Aug 20, 2013 14:46 |  #3988

At $1300 you are in MacBook Pro with Retina display price point... Something to think about if you are editing on the laptop.


"The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time." -Bertrand Russell
Mike

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mine1
Goldmember
Avatar
1,289 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Jun 2012
Location: Kalispell Montana
     
Aug 20, 2013 15:23 |  #3989

babel_fish wrote in post #16225064 (external link)
At $1300 you are in MacBook Pro with Retina display price point... Something to think about if you are editing on the laptop.

the only ones I found at that price point were 13 inch, and even then they were more than 1300. I would really like at least a 15 inch screen (after buying this it will be a while before i can afford a good 24 or so inch 16 by 10 monitor). And I am really not good with change lol and have never used the mac os.


http://www.flickr.com/​photos/81190407@N08/ (external link)
Canon 60d.Canon 18-135, 55-250 II, and 10-18 stm. and Benro C-1681t Travel Angel, with Sirui K20x head.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Immaculens
creeped by the TF....
Avatar
13,285 posts
Gallery: 82 photos
Likes: 3432
Joined Jul 2009
Location: Southern Canada
     
Aug 20, 2013 17:58 |  #3990

NewCreation wrote in post #16224460 (external link)
Couple of random LR questions.

On import of my raw files, I kinda expected all the sliders to be at zero. What is determining where the sliders land on import as they are different for different shots?

On export...do these folders not show up in the library?

Hi Brenda - regarding sliders not at -zero- after import, two things come to mind. One is that in the 'Details' Panel of the Develop Module - sharpening and NR do have a few default levels to begin with. I can't readily remember any other items where Lr sets a default.

The other thing is - perhaps you have an import preset enabled... that is what I do.

To see if there was an import preset - click on an image in the Library - go into the develop module - and on the left side scroll down to the History and look at the first item in the History - which should be 'Import'. If there are words following the word "Import" - it is an import preset.


Will immaculens.com (external link)

7Dmk II gripped | 5Dc | 100-400L IS II | 55-250 IS STM | 100L f/2.8 IS Macro | 15-85 IS | 50 f/1.8 STM | 85 f/1.8
Learn to love to do well, and you shall. ~ C. Poseidon

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

706,995 views & 0 likes for this thread
60D users, friends and their random OT B.S. (II)
FORUMS Community Talk, Chatter & Official Stuff The Lounge 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is ArcticRose
813 guests, 290 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.