Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
Thread started 02 Oct 2012 (Tuesday) 13:54
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon GP-E2 GPS Advice?

 
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 227
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Aug 25, 2013 18:21 |  #16

The GP-E2 will record shooting direction with all supported (models that geotag with it directly, rather than in post-processing with the supplied Map Utility) cameras except the 7D, as long as you're using the GPS directly connected to the camera via hot shoe or USB cable (and, when using USB cable, the GP-E2 is aligned with the lens axis). Map Utility will display this; Irfanview will report it as part of the EXIF data. I haven't tried a lot of other apps with it, but direction is a recognized EXIF field.

I picked one up this summer and have been using it with my 5D3, 7D and EOS M. Yes, it works. But my impression is, comparing logged tracks from the GP-E2 to those from my Garmin eTrex 30, that it's not as certain of your location as the Garmin is - your track (if you log it) will zig-zag a fair bit.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
x_tan
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,153 posts
Gallery: 137 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 496
Joined Sep 2010
Location: ɐılɐɹʇsnɐ 'ǝuɹnoqlǝɯ
     
Aug 25, 2013 19:13 |  #17

Jon wrote in post #16239333 (external link)
...But my impression is, comparing logged tracks from the GP-E2 to those from my Garmin eTrex 30, that it's not as certain of your location as the Garmin is - your track (if you log it) will zig-zag a fair bit.

I notice the elevation from GP-E2 will be almost always wrong; also longitude & latitude will be off mark 100-200 meters mostly - you'll notice it easy.

Anyway GP-E2 is still very valuable if you're shooting in middle of nowhere.


Canon 5D3 + Zoom (EF 17-40L, 24-105L & 28-300L, 100-400L II) & Prime (24L II, 85L II, 100L, 135L & 200 f/2.8L II; Zeiss 1,4/35)
Sony α7r + Zeiss 1,8/55 FE
Nikon Coolpix A; Nikon F3 & F100 + Zeiss 1,4/50
Retiring  (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 227
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Aug 25, 2013 19:34 |  #18

Elevation from most GPS receivers is the least accurate value, due to the satellite geometry needed for precision lat-long fixes. And while I don't think Canon says, I'd be surprised if the GP-E2 reads more than 2 satellites simultaneously (2 channels) while most dedicated GPS units monitor 12 (or more) channels. The eTrex 30 uses the Russian Glonass satellites as well as the US NavStar GPS for a better constellation.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
nwlight
Member
33 posts
Joined Dec 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
     
Aug 25, 2013 23:17 |  #19

I am very happy with the Canon GP-E2 with the 5D Mark III. For the most part, it just works. One unexpected feature that I like is that you can have the camera use it to sync up the clock. It's odd that my camera is now more accurate than my watch.

I always keep a spare battery since I will periodically forget to turn it off. As far as data getting deleted, that's only if you use it to keep track data. You have to periodically download those to your computer using Canon's Map Utility. I was pleasantly surprised that Apple Aperture can load the track data directly from the exported files. Of course, the GPS info on the pictures show up as well.

For most shoots, I don't look at the track data since it's just me walking through the same parks. However, it came in real handy when I went on a whale watching trip. The captain was showing navigation maps on the entire trip, but I still had no clue where we were. It was priceless being able to look at the track data after the trip.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lsquare
Goldmember
1,933 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2008
     
Aug 26, 2013 10:31 |  #20

Jon wrote in post #16239333 (external link)
The GP-E2 will record shooting direction with all supported (models that geotag with it directly, rather than in post-processing with the supplied Map Utility) cameras except the 7D, as long as you're using the GPS directly connected to the camera via hot shoe or USB cable (and, when using USB cable, the GP-E2 is aligned with the lens axis). Map Utility will display this; Irfanview will report it as part of the EXIF data. I haven't tried a lot of other apps with it, but direction is a recognized EXIF field.

I picked one up this summer and have been using it with my 5D3, 7D and EOS M. Yes, it works. But my impression is, comparing logged tracks from the GP-E2 to those from my Garmin eTrex 30, that it's not as certain of your location as the Garmin is - your track (if you log it) will zig-zag a fair bit.

It's compatible with the EOS M as well?

What does the EXIF field show for direction?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 227
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Aug 26, 2013 10:41 |  #21

Full GPS info block from Irfanview Information EXIF viewer, EOS M photo:


GPS information: -
GPSVersionID - 2.3.0.0
GPSLatitudeRef - N
GPSLatitude - 36 7.80 0 (36.130000)
GPSLongitudeRef - W
GPSLongitude - 81 51.60 0 (81.860000)
GPSAltitudeRef - Sea level
GPSAltitude - 1239.80 m
GPSTimeStamp - 19 25 30.31
GPSImgDirectionRef - Magnetic direction
GPSImgDirection - 83
GPSDateStamp - 2013:08:03
Time recorded is Universal Time, not local.

Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Xyclopx
Goldmember
1,714 posts
Gallery: 33 photos
Best ofs: 6
Likes: 202
Joined Jul 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
     
Aug 27, 2013 01:06 |  #22

thegfxman wrote in post #15070654 (external link)
Any advice/insights would be appreciated :-)

Dan

hi,

I bought one for use with my 5d3 on a trip to Taiwan/japan. total trip was ~3wks. I had it on logging the whole time (morning to night, not during sleeping). here is what I found:

1. change the battery every day or watch the blinking light carefully. when it starts to blink you usually have about a couple hours to change the battery.
2. the faster the logging rate the better the lock. that is, if you have the rate too slow it won't acquire lock for a LONG time, like many minutes.
3. do not use anything slower than 15s. any slower and it will lose the lock constantly.
4. the internal memory will not last 3wks if using 5s a lot. I found out the hard way. yeah, I know it's printed in the manual all the durations and stuff, but I screwed up. anyway, if you want it to last 3 wks, leave it @ 15s, turning off for the night. so I got the logging for the last 1/2 of the trip, but it overwrote the first 1/2.
5. the thing really sux indoors. sometimes it works if it's near windows. but if totally enclosed usually does not work. you'd figure that big o' thing would be better than your cell phone. sigh.

anyway........ that's what I learned. hope it helps.


Dean Chiang (external link) | Facebook (external link) | Blog (external link) | Gear (external link)
My Photos (external link)
Instagram @xyclopx (external link) @feetandeyes (external link) @gastramour (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 227
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Aug 27, 2013 18:47 |  #23

As to losing lock indoors, GPS satellite signals are much lower power than cell phone signals; your cell phone typically relies on the GPS, nearby WiFi networks, and cell signals (which is why it takes longer than your battery life to get a fix in the middle of nowhere - no WiFi and no cell towers).


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DerDembo
Member
53 posts
Joined Aug 2009
     
Aug 28, 2013 15:34 |  #24

Jon wrote in post #16239492 (external link)
Elevation from most GPS receivers is the least accurate value, due to the satellite geometry needed for precision lat-long fixes. And while I don't think Canon says, I'd be surprised if the GP-E2 reads more than 2 satellites simultaneously (2 channels) while most dedicated GPS units monitor 12 (or more) channels.

I find that highly unlikely (but possible). In fact I am not aware of a current GPS chipset that allows for less than 12 simultaneous channels.

I wonder what x_tan means by "I notice the elevation from GP-E2 will be almost always wrong". Wrong compared to what? GPS's horizontal error should be around 15m in most situations [1]. If you are comparing GPS altitudes to altitudes on a printed map, you need to set your GPS to the Geodetic datum of your map. This ensures that your GPS is using the same geoid as the map makers.

Wikipedia states that for Sydney for example the difference between the GPS's WGS-84 geoid and whatever map datum is used in Australia is around 200m [2].

[1] http://www.xcmag.com …de-the-definitive-answer/ (external link)
[2] http://en.wikipedia.or​g …ic_datum#Horizo​ntal_datum (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lsquare
Goldmember
1,933 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2008
     
Aug 29, 2013 03:30 |  #25

DerDembo wrote in post #16248055 (external link)
I find that highly unlikely (but possible). In fact I am not aware of a current GPS chipset that allows for less than 12 simultaneous channels.

I wonder what x_tan means by "I notice the elevation from GP-E2 will be almost always wrong". Wrong compared to what? GPS's horizontal error should be around 15m in most situations [1]. If you are comparing GPS altitudes to altitudes on a printed map, you need to set your GPS to the Geodetic datum of your map. This ensures that your GPS is using the same geoid as the map makers.

Wikipedia states that for Sydney for example the difference between the GPS's WGS-84 geoid and whatever map datum is used in Australia is around 200m [2].

[1] http://www.xcmag.com …de-the-definitive-answer/ (external link)
[2] http://en.wikipedia.or​g …ic_datum#Horizo​ntal_datum (external link)

How does one set that for the GP-E2?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 227
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Aug 29, 2013 17:10 |  #26

One doesn't. You take what you get. Canon doesn't actually say which geoid they're using, but the default for GPS is WGS-84. I think it unlikely that they'd use any other without giving you the option.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hollis_f
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,649 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 85
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Sussex, UK
     
Aug 30, 2013 02:20 |  #27

Jon wrote in post #16251356 (external link)
One doesn't. You take what you get. Canon doesn't actually say which geoid they're using, but the default for GPS is WGS-84. I think it unlikely that they'd use any other without giving you the option.

Would GPSBabel convert from on to another?


Frank Hollis - Retired mass spectroscopist
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he'll complain about the withdrawal of his free fish entitlement.
Gear Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
x_tan
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,153 posts
Gallery: 137 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 496
Joined Sep 2010
Location: ɐılɐɹʇsnɐ 'ǝuɹnoqlǝɯ
     
Aug 30, 2013 04:59 |  #28

DerDembo wrote in post #16248055 (external link)
I find that highly unlikely (but possible). In fact I am not aware of a current GPS chipset that allows for less than 12 simultaneous channels.

I wonder what x_tan means by "I notice the elevation from GP-E2 will be almost always wrong". Wrong compared to what? GPS's horizontal error should be around 15m in most situations [1]. If you are comparing GPS altitudes to altitudes on a printed map, you need to set your GPS to the Geodetic datum of your map. This ensures that your GPS is using the same geoid as the map makers.

Wikipedia states that for Sydney for example the difference between the GPS's WGS-84 geoid and whatever map datum is used in Australia is around 200m [2].

[1] http://www.xcmag.com …de-the-definitive-answer/ (external link)
[2] http://en.wikipedia.or​g …ic_datum#Horizo​ntal_datum (external link)

As I was shooting at the sea level, no way I was at 22m (all other the same one way or other).
.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Canon 5D3 + Zoom (EF 17-40L, 24-105L & 28-300L, 100-400L II) & Prime (24L II, 85L II, 100L, 135L & 200 f/2.8L II; Zeiss 1,4/35)
Sony α7r + Zeiss 1,8/55 FE
Nikon Coolpix A; Nikon F3 & F100 + Zeiss 1,4/50
Retiring  (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 227
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Aug 30, 2013 11:10 as a reply to  @ x_tan's post |  #29

hollis_f wrote in post #16252517 (external link)
Would GPSBabel convert from on to another?

No, afraid not. GPSBabel only converts message formats, essentially the wrappers around the calculated GPS information (Lat., Long., elevation, time, HDOP, VDOP, and the like). So it can convert between NMEA 0183 sentences (as used by Canon's log files among others) and Garmin's GPX (a version of XML), but it won't alter the positional information to reflect a new geoid.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
afoton
Senior Member
Avatar
348 posts
Joined Apr 2012
Location: Norway
     
Aug 30, 2013 14:36 |  #30

cs2cs (part of proj http://trac.osgeo.org/​proj/ (external link) ) can probably do the conversion.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7,653 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon GP-E2 GPS Advice?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Dontcry4mejanhrdina
714 guests, 205 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.