Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 09 Oct 2013 (Wednesday) 09:36
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

problem with 580ex flash...

 
sparky415
Hatchling
6 posts
Joined Oct 2013
     
Oct 09, 2013 09:36 |  #1

Hi chaps, I am in need of a bit of advice....i have two 580ex flashes that i would like to slave off camera with a ST E2,......i'm having problem as i cannot get one of the flashes to slave, the slave 'symbol' on the flash won't appear. I have more issues, but this is the first one i need help with......I hope someone takes pity on this thicko and he can get the set-up he wants....thanks sparks




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,254 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 1541
Joined Dec 2006
     
Oct 09, 2013 09:38 |  #2

580ex or 580exII? On the 580ex there is a slave master switch that needs to be engaged.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sparky415
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
6 posts
Joined Oct 2013
     
Oct 09, 2013 09:40 |  #3

Hi they are bothex...not exII..
the slave switch in engaged....




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sparky415
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
6 posts
Joined Oct 2013
     
Oct 09, 2013 11:21 |  #4

OK...it was a dodgey switch!!!! on the flashes both say zoom 24 but it wont let me zoom any further in...basically i want a very fast flash speed to freeze fast movement.....i'm using an external power source to try and ensure quick recharging of the batterys......can anyone tell me how to set for a fast flash speed as both flashes don't seem to want to do anything....




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,254 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 1541
Joined Dec 2006
     
Oct 09, 2013 11:33 |  #5

To freeze motion you want the flash at its lowest power. Ideally you would have them in manual mode with the power set at 1/125. I have no idea what you mean by the flashes dont seem to want to do anything.....




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sparky415
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
6 posts
Joined Oct 2013
     
Oct 09, 2013 11:35 |  #6

I cannot get them to do anything at all no matter what buttons on the back i press......
I want to increase the zoom to about 50 and shoot at a low power like you say, but both flashes won't respond....its obviously something I'm doing wrong......
according to the manual if i press MODE for 2 seconds it flashes..or is meant to flash....with mine it's doing nothing HELP!!!!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sparky415
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
6 posts
Joined Oct 2013
     
Oct 09, 2013 11:48 |  #7

This is what it looks like....


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,254 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 1541
Joined Dec 2006
     
Oct 09, 2013 11:57 |  #8

Hold the zoom button until it flashes to change the zoom. Then roll the wheel. If they arent responding to that, perhaps pull the batteries for a few minutes to reset the flash and try it again.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sparky415
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
6 posts
Joined Oct 2013
     
Oct 09, 2013 12:06 |  #9

Done both...to no effect.....

I've tried unplugging them from the external power source, turning the ST transmitter off.....still the same... HELP!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,254 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 1541
Joined Dec 2006
     
Oct 09, 2013 13:16 |  #10

The ST wouldnt matter as the flashes dont really communicate until the preflash code is sent. Just to be clear, you need a fully charged set of batteries inside in addition to the external power supply. That might be an issue to consider. Also take them out of slave mode and try to change the settings.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CAPhotog
Senior Member
334 posts
Joined May 2012
     
Oct 11, 2013 08:22 |  #11

Make sure the pull-out wide diffuser and white bounce card are pushed all the way in. The zoom will not work if they are not fully retracted. There's a micro switch inside that prevents zooming when the wide diffuser is pulled out. It will stay on 24mm for some reason, not the widest setting, but I can't remember why. There are older threads in this forum on the subject.

FYI: You also have the flash shown above in high speed sync mode and a custom function set. Don't know if these are part of the problem but could be if different than the other unit.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
inkista
Senior Member
Avatar
653 posts
Likes: 83
Joined Oct 2007
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
     
Oct 14, 2013 19:07 as a reply to  @ CAPhotog's post |  #12

Just me, but if you want to explicitly set the flashes to 1/128 power, should you not have them in M mode, rather than ETTL?

Also, with the not-firing, check that all three devices are using the same channel.


I'm a woman. I shoot with a Fuji X100T, Panasonic GX-7, Canon 5DmkII, and 50D. flickr stream (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

895 views & 0 likes for this thread
problem with 580ex flash...
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is CalebCorneloup
853 guests, 315 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.