Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 19 Oct 2013 (Saturday) 09:10
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon 5D focusing screen check

 
kavster
Member
35 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Glenarm, Northern Ireland
     
Oct 19, 2013 09:10 |  #1

I've just got a 5D off ebay and it's working perfectly except that I'm struggling with over-exposure on my photos. Currently I'm underexposing to compensate but it occurred to me that when I was going through the cameras settings the focus screen was set to D which is the setting to use when the manual screen is installed. I've also read that having the wrong setting there can cause exposure issues.

Is there any way to tell what screen is installed?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
n1as
Goldmember
2,327 posts
Likes: 24
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Salem, OR
     
Oct 19, 2013 09:14 |  #2

There is an ID stamped in the little tab on the side of the screen. You have to take the screen out to see it and you cannot remove fingerprints from the screen so you MUST NOT touch it. Wear gloves and use the screen removal tool.

Some screens have a particular grid pattern to them so you may be able to tell what it is by looking through the camera.

Or just change the setting in the menu and see if your exposures get better.


- Keith
http://darwinphoto.zen​folio.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Wilt
Reader's Digest Condensed version of War and Peace [POTN Vol 1]
Avatar
41,506 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 2456
Joined Aug 2005
Location: Belmont, CA
     
Oct 19, 2013 10:56 |  #3

The EE-D screen has a grid pattern on it. If you do not see horizontal and vertical scribe marks thru the viewfinder, you do not want the D setting in the CFn... a simple evaluation of CFn setting vs. screen, that doesn't even require any handling of the focus screen! Then check your metering again.

BTW, no Canon screens for 5D have a center focus aid (microprism or split image) in the center. Only third-party focus screens have center focus aids, and there is no CFn setting which corrects the metering for these screens!


You need to give me OK to edit your image and repost! Keep POTN alive and well with member support https://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.p​hp
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
UKmitch86
Senior Member
Avatar
318 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Likes: 14
Joined Jun 2012
Location: Leicestershire, UK
     
Oct 19, 2013 10:59 |  #4

kavster wrote in post #16382703 (external link)
I've just got a 5D off ebay and it's working perfectly except that I'm struggling with over-exposure on my photos. Currently I'm underexposing to compensate but it occurred to me that when I was going through the cameras settings the focus screen was set to D which is the setting to use when the manual screen is installed. I've also read that having the wrong setting there can cause exposure issues.

Is there any way to tell what screen is installed?

This is your best bet for identifying which it is;
http://www.learn.usa.c​anon.com …ingScreens_Quic​kGuide.pdf (external link)


Canon 1Ds3 | 16-35/4 | 50/1.8 | 135/2
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/ukmitch86/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kavster
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
35 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Glenarm, Northern Ireland
     
Oct 19, 2013 14:45 |  #5

OK thanks everyone. I think it is the standard laser matte with no grid lines that is fitted, I've set the focus screen to that one and I'll do some further testing on the exposure issue.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

957 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon 5D focusing screen check
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is juans613
790 guests, 310 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.