Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 08 Nov 2013 (Friday) 12:59
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Exposure settings in Auto v's TV

 
lukefildes
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Nov 2013
     
Nov 08, 2013 12:59 |  #1

Hi

I was wondering if something could please explain something to me either I just don't understand how my Canon 50d works or there is something wrong with it

In fairly low light conditions i.e dark outside with living room light on if I set my 50d to full auto mode it will take a perfectly exposed image with the following settings 1/60, f4.0, ISO400.

If I then my camera to TV mode and set the shutter speed to 1/60 with ISO400 the camera will auto select apperature of f4.0. When I look through the view finder f4.0 will be flashing which I thought it only did to indicate over or under exposure? The needle is in the middle of the exposure comp bar. I'm confused? If I take the picture the picture is exposed fine, why is the f4.0 flashing?

Any help greatly appreciated:-)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
8,990 posts
Likes: 757
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Nov 08, 2013 13:52 |  #2

Can you post two representative images with EXIF info intact? Also what lens are you doing during this comparison?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
YashicaFX2
Goldmember
1,003 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2013
Location: A quiet place in the country.
     
Nov 08, 2013 17:54 |  #3
bannedPermanent ban

Sounds like it want to open up the aperture, and it was already wide open. Next time that happens, use slower shutter speed or higher ISO. That should fix it. Oh, that is normal for Canon cameras.


Dedicated APS-c shooter. Gripped 60D, 60 2.8, 10-22, 15-85, Σ70-200 OS and a big white something or other! Plus a 5D w/28-75.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Wilt
Reader's Digest Condensed version of War and Peace [POTN Vol 1]
Avatar
41,643 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 2504
Joined Aug 2005
Location: Belmont, CA
     
Nov 08, 2013 18:45 |  #4

When you say 'full auto', do you mean Green Box mode, or do you mean P?

It does seem odd that [ISO400, 1/60 f/4] results in blinking aperture in TV mode, but no blinkies in Green Box/P mode....with the identical settings! if it wanted a faster aperture, and the lens could not do that, blinkies are normal -- but not at the same indicated settings as other modes.

Running a quick test on my camera...

  • If I put my camera (40d) into Tv mode and point it to a dimly lit area at 1/60, because my lens cannot open wider than f/2.8, the f/2.8 starts to blink
  • If camera in Green Box mode, it pops up the built in flash, switches to 1/60 and chooses f/3.5, no blinkies
  • If camera in P mode, it leaves aperture at preset value, and slows the shutter suitably (to 0"3) no blinkies.

lukefildes wrote:
The needle is in the middle of the exposure comp bar. I'm confused? If I take the picture the picture is exposed fine, why is the f4.0 flashing?

The location of the EC needle does NOT alter the amount of exposure needed to render a 'proper exposure'...it simply biases the meter to shift what it thinks is 'proper exposure', when the needle is not centered. If 1/60 f/4 was 'just enough', cranking in EC +1 might then cause the aperture to blink (if f/4 is wide open for that lens) because in Tv mode it simply cannot get more light thru the lens, due to the aperture.


You need to give me OK to edit your image and repost! Keep POTN alive and well with member support https://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.p​hp
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Snydremark
my very own Lightrules moment
18,443 posts
Gallery: 45 photos
Likes: 1485
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
     
Nov 08, 2013 18:48 |  #5

What lens and focal length are you using? Did you change your focal length for the second shot?


- Eric S.: My Birds/Wildlife (external link) (7D MkII/5D IV, Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, Canon 24-105L f/4 IS, Canon 70-200L f/2.8 IS MkII, Canon 100-400L f/4.5-5.6 IS I/II)
"The easiest way to improve your photos is to adjust the loose nut between the shutter release and the ground."

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sandpiper
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,171 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 50
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Merseyside, England
     
Nov 08, 2013 19:30 as a reply to  @ Snydremark's post |  #6

Was f/4 the maximum aperture for that lens (and focal length if a zoom)?

If so, it could simply be that the scene was slightly different and there was a little more darker tone in the shot when you were in Tv. If the full auto shot was shooting wide open, then locking the ISO and setting shutter speed with Tv could result in the camera wanting more aperture if you pointed the camera at a part of the room where there was perhaps a bit less light wall and a bit more dark furniture, the meter would read the scene differently and want to increase exposure a bit to compensate for the darker tones it is now seeing. Did you happen to look at the exposure meter and notice if it was showing slight underexposure? It would probably only be one notch, a third of a stop or so, if the images are both near identical, but that would be enough to start the aperture number blinking.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lovemyram4x4
Goldmember
Avatar
2,198 posts
Gallery: 97 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 57
Joined Mar 2013
Location: Temecula
     
Nov 08, 2013 21:31 |  #7

You probably just had a another metering mode besides evaluative in Tv.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

734 views & 0 likes for this thread
Exposure settings in Auto v's TV
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member was a spammer, and banned as such!
933 guests, 231 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.