Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 12 Nov 2013 (Tuesday) 20:01
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

need help with two 1D IINs

 
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,275 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 409
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Nov 13, 2013 08:31 as a reply to  @ post 16447781 |  #16

All right, then you know.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Nmura
Senior Member
732 posts
Likes: 121
Joined Apr 2009
Location: Hawaii
     
Nov 13, 2013 11:06 |  #17

I bought a used 1d IIN once and it had 170K+. Just for peace of mind, I had the shutter replaced at Canon. At the same time I asked Canon to verify the shutter count and it read 170k+. When it came back with a new shutter, I ran it through one of those software the reads shutter counts, and it still read 170+. I called Canon and asked them about it and they told me they do not reset the count. I eventually sold the camera months later and provided the buyer with a copy of the receipt from Canon.


Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
turmoil
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
148 posts
Likes: 26
Joined Jul 2013
Location: Harrisburg
     
Nov 13, 2013 11:33 |  #18

Nmura wrote in post #16448408 (external link)
I bought a used 1d IIN once and it had 170K+. Just for peace of mind, I had the shutter replaced at Canon. At the same time I asked Canon to verify the shutter count and it read 170k+. When it came back with a new shutter, I ran it through one of those software the reads shutter counts, and it still read 170+. I called Canon and asked them about it and they told me they do not reset the count. I eventually sold the camera months later and provided the buyer with a copy of the receipt from Canon.

That's good to know. thanks for the info.

Does CPS still service this model though? If not, what's another reliable place to check out?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
OuttaCtrl
Senior Member
Avatar
381 posts
Joined Oct 2012
Location: San Jose, CA
     
Nov 13, 2013 11:37 |  #19

turmoil wrote in post #16448474 (external link)
That's good to know. thanks for the info.

Does CPS still service this model though? If not, what's another reliable place to check out?

Yes Canon Service Center will support the II N for one more year or at least half of that year. Only the II will not be supported.


Cameras: 5D III Gripped | 1D MK 3 | 70D
Lens: 18-135 STM | 24-70 L MKII | 70-200 L IS MKII
PC: i7-3930K | 32GB Kingston Hyper-X | nVidia Quadro 4000 | Asus P9X79 Pro | 27" Samsung SA monitor | 34" LG 34UM95-P | Spyder 4 Elite

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PaulB
Goldmember
1,543 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Leeds, Yorkshire
     
Nov 13, 2013 12:10 |  #20

Fred2176 wrote in post #16446945 (external link)
I would try to see if magic lantern would work with those cameras.I know for a fact canon resets the shutter count when they put a new shutter in the camera.I would of asked the guy for the paper work stating that they did replace the shutters on those.If not you could call canon and tell them that you just bought those cameras,give them the serial numbers and ask If they were sent in for shutter replacement.

Totally wrong information.
Canon DSLR's will only have the 'actuation' count reset when the mirror box is replaced.
Replacing a shutter does NOT reset the actuation count which is stored in the mirror box.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
turmoil
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
148 posts
Likes: 26
Joined Jul 2013
Location: Harrisburg
     
Nov 13, 2013 12:29 |  #21

PaulB wrote in post #16448574 (external link)
Totally wrong information.
Canon DSLR's will only have the 'actuation' count reset when the mirror box is replaced.
Replacing a shutter does NOT reset the actuation count which is stored in the mirror box.

Thanks for the clarification.

I'm going to contact Canon later today to inquire about the service history of these two cameras. Hopefully that will shed some more light on this.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
joeseph
"smells like turd"
Avatar
10,984 posts
Gallery: 194 photos
Likes: 3804
Joined Jan 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
     
Nov 13, 2013 17:23 |  #22

PaulB wrote in post #16448574 (external link)
Totally wrong information.
Canon DSLR's will only have the 'actuation' count reset when the mirror box is replaced.
Replacing a shutter does NOT reset the actuation count which is stored in the mirror box.

The 1D service manual lists resetting the shot count when replacing the shutter as "required" it mentions that resetting count after replacing the main flex (i.e. main PCB) as "as required"


some fairly old canon camera stuff, canon lenses, Manfrotto "thingy", and an M5, also an M6 that has had a 720nm filter bolted onto the sensor:
TF posting: here :-)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
OuttaCtrl
Senior Member
Avatar
381 posts
Joined Oct 2012
Location: San Jose, CA
     
Nov 13, 2013 18:09 |  #23

PaulB wrote in post #16448574 (external link)
Totally wrong information.
Canon DSLR's will only have the 'actuation' count reset when the mirror box is replaced.
Replacing a shutter does NOT reset the actuation count which is stored in the mirror box.

Here is a local ad that shows that they so reset the actuations when the shutter is replaced.

"...Canon 1D Mark IV camera with a new shutter that was replaced by Canon factory on Nov. 8th 2013. It has 5 shutter clicks..."


Cameras: 5D III Gripped | 1D MK 3 | 70D
Lens: 18-135 STM | 24-70 L MKII | 70-200 L IS MKII
PC: i7-3930K | 32GB Kingston Hyper-X | nVidia Quadro 4000 | Asus P9X79 Pro | 27" Samsung SA monitor | 34" LG 34UM95-P | Spyder 4 Elite

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mak65
Senior Member
331 posts
Likes: 17
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Cypress, TX
     
Nov 16, 2013 19:19 |  #24

OuttaCtrl wrote in post #16449573 (external link)
Here is a local ad that shows that they so reset the actuations when the shutter is replaced.

"...Canon 1D Mark IV camera with a new shutter that was replaced by Canon factory on Nov. 8th 2013. It has 5 shutter clicks..."

Actually, the quote indicates that the camera had a recent shutter replacement and that 5 photos (or test firings) were made since the replacement. Nothing to indicate Canon reset the count.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,027 views & 0 likes for this thread
need help with two 1D IINs
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is ArcticRose
747 guests, 303 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.