Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 05 Dec 2013 (Thursday) 13:17
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

I need some help Identifying some equipment and how to set it up

 
peeaanuut
Goldmember
Avatar
3,555 posts
Gallery: 32 photos
Likes: 702
Joined Feb 2011
     
Dec 05, 2013 13:17 |  #1

to preface, I have never used anything but a 430ex as a flash so this is all very new and foreign to me. A friend at work had these lights that she used a bit back. She couldnt remember much about them or anything as its been at least a year and she is a little scatter brained. So she is lending them to me to try and figure out. The set up is 2 lights on stands and 2 umbrellas. She said that they are continuous and strobe. There is no other cabling other than the plug for the lights and there is no controls other than a power switch. I have a T2i body and an Eos M body. How do I go about hooking them up? There is a plug on them that appears to look like a stereo headphone jack so I am hoping that is a step in the right direction. I am certain this is the lower of lower priced equipment but hey its free, so thats good for me to try and learn on. Any help would be great!

also, in trying to research, is this something that I would need on the lighting side to get them going? http://www.calumetphot​o.com …non-flash-systems/CF0090/ (external link)

I understand I will need a trigger on the camera end, but i figure one step at a time.

here are some photos.
i could find no branding on the lights what so ever.

IMAGE: http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7415/11224357023_51c1264207.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://www.flickr.com/​photos/peeaanuut/11224​357023/  (external link)
Untitled (external link) by peeaanuut (external link), on Flickr
IMAGE: http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3739/11224259834_517ca36361.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://www.flickr.com/​photos/peeaanuut/11224​259834/  (external link)
Untitled (external link) by peeaanuut (external link), on Flickr
IMAGE: http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3792/11224352873_18ea51d327.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://www.flickr.com/​photos/peeaanuut/11224​352873/  (external link)
Untitled (external link) by peeaanuut (external link), on Flickr

Stuff
http://joetakesphotos.​com/ (external link) : | : https://www.facebook.c​om/JKlingPhotos (external link) : | : https://twitter.com/jk​lingphotos (external link)
airbutchie - Joe was definitely right about adding contrast...
:)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,254 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 1541
Joined Dec 2006
     
Dec 05, 2013 13:27 |  #2

Those are what we used to call can lights. They are (likely) a single power strobe, that fires via a built in optical slave. You can fire them via any manual flash. If you put your 430exII in manual mode those strobes should see the flash and fire in response. You cant use ETTL because the preflash will fire the strobes before your camera fires.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FlashZebra
This space available
Avatar
4,427 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Northern Kentucky
     
Dec 05, 2013 13:30 |  #3

These are low intensity flash units that are power by AC (wall current).

Units either identical or very similar have been sold under hundreds of different brand names over the last 40 years (or more).

The unit in your image seems to have some sort of sync connector, likely a miniphone port (3.5mm) or SUBminphone port (2.5mm).

Many of these also have a built in optical slave , but I do not detect one from the images you supply but one may be lurking in a position not shown in the supplied images.

The red button is likely a "test" flash activation button.

Correction - This sentence is likely not true - These units do NOT have any specific "continuous" function. But you can unscrew them just like a light bulb and place a pedestrian light bulb in the bare socket.

New edit - Are there several small diodes on the face of the reflector? If so, there may be inherent "continuous" function. A new twist in this decades old design. A diode based modeling light system.

Enjoy! Lon


*
http://flashzebra.com/ (external link)
*

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
peeaanuut
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,555 posts
Gallery: 32 photos
Likes: 702
Joined Feb 2011
     
Dec 05, 2013 13:35 |  #4

excellent information! I finally got a chance to plug them in and click the red button and you are correct. There is no continuous so flash only. I imagine they are low end so there is no wireless soif I wanted to go corded I could get something like the below link and then get the right cording?

http://www.bhphotovide​o.com …sal_Hot_Shoe_Ad​apter.html (external link)


Stuff
http://joetakesphotos.​com/ (external link) : | : https://www.facebook.c​om/JKlingPhotos (external link) : | : https://twitter.com/jk​lingphotos (external link)
airbutchie - Joe was definitely right about adding contrast...
:)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,254 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 1541
Joined Dec 2006
     
Dec 05, 2013 13:38 |  #5

Yes, but have you tried firing your flash to see if they have a slave?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,254 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 1541
Joined Dec 2006
     
Dec 05, 2013 13:39 |  #6

BTW be wary of spending $30 or more to make (nearly useless) free lights work.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CAPhotog
Senior Member
334 posts
Joined May 2012
     
Dec 05, 2013 13:45 |  #7

What others said. They were called AC Master/Slave Studio Strobes and can still be found generically by that name. There were matching units that also had just the slave function alone. The idea was you fire one unit connected to your camera via the PC Sync cord and all other units will fire simultaneously. They fire at full power so adjustment is made by distance, bounce or scrims. You can fire them as a dumb slave using your on-camera flash, but must turn off the pre-flash to get them to sync. These were a fun way to get into flash photography on a small budget decades ago (and should work basically the same with manual operation).

Considering how cheap import ETTL flashes are today, however, using them may be more fun as an experiment than efficient lighting source. Some creative uses are putting them in the background slightly out of view behind doorways or furniture; covering with colored cellophane for gel effects; and putting them in standard household lamps for creative lighting effect.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
peeaanuut
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,555 posts
Gallery: 32 photos
Likes: 702
Joined Feb 2011
     
Dec 05, 2013 13:53 |  #8

gonzogolf wrote in post #16504099 (external link)
Yes, but have you tried firing your flash to see if they have a slave?


Not yet, all the my actual photo equipment is at home, I just have this here at work since she brought it to me.

gonzogolf wrote in post #16504102 (external link)
BTW be wary of spending $30 or more to make (nearly useless) free lights work.


I figure that $30 is still cheaper than any of the other stuff I have seen out there. Kits starting at $500 and up are just out of my budget and I have no knowledge on how to piece meal them together.


Stuff
http://joetakesphotos.​com/ (external link) : | : https://www.facebook.c​om/JKlingPhotos (external link) : | : https://twitter.com/jk​lingphotos (external link)
airbutchie - Joe was definitely right about adding contrast...
:)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,254 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 1541
Joined Dec 2006
     
Dec 05, 2013 13:59 |  #9

peeaanuut wrote in post #16504125 (external link)
Not yet, all the my actual photo equipment is at home, I just have this here at work since she brought it to me.

I figure that $30 is still cheaper than any of the other stuff I have seen out there. Kits starting at $500 and up are just out of my budget and I have no knowledge on how to piece meal them together.

Dont be so sure. http://www.amazon.com …8-5&keywords=neewer+flas​h (external link)


What you have is a single power flash that doesnt do much. They were handy for lighting backgrounds, but dont waste good money after bad.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
peeaanuut
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,555 posts
Gallery: 32 photos
Likes: 702
Joined Feb 2011
     
Dec 05, 2013 14:04 |  #10

ahhh, wow, didnt know about those. I had looked at the Yongnuo stuff before. So would I be better off with something like this and a softbox? I just want to try to learn some basic lighting as all I have is the 430exII and have only ever used it on camera.


Stuff
http://joetakesphotos.​com/ (external link) : | : https://www.facebook.c​om/JKlingPhotos (external link) : | : https://twitter.com/jk​lingphotos (external link)
airbutchie - Joe was definitely right about adding contrast...
:)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,254 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 1541
Joined Dec 2006
     
Dec 05, 2013 14:08 |  #11

peeaanuut wrote in post #16504150 (external link)
ahhh, wow, didnt know about those. I had looked at the Yongnuo stuff before. So would I be better off with something like this and a softbox? I just want to try to learn some basic lighting as all I have is the 430exII and have only ever used it on camera.

Yes, you would be better off with pretty much anything else. I mean you have them, they are free, and you can find some uses for them. My point is that spending $30 to make those flashes work via cable is simply not worth the money for what you get.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
peeaanuut
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,555 posts
Gallery: 32 photos
Likes: 702
Joined Feb 2011
     
Dec 05, 2013 14:11 |  #12

I understand. Thanks for the help. Ill try to see if I can get her to remember where the rest of the equipment is. But I think im gonna order one of those flashes as a 2nd to have and play with. Thanks for the help!


Stuff
http://joetakesphotos.​com/ (external link) : | : https://www.facebook.c​om/JKlingPhotos (external link) : | : https://twitter.com/jk​lingphotos (external link)
airbutchie - Joe was definitely right about adding contrast...
:)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,254 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 1541
Joined Dec 2006
     
Dec 05, 2013 14:13 |  #13

peeaanuut wrote in post #16504166 (external link)
I understand. Thanks for the help. Ill try to see if I can get her to remember where the rest of the equipment is. But I think im gonna order one of those flashes as a 2nd to have and play with. Thanks for the help!

Do some research I think that essentially a rebranded YN, I just grabbed the first cheap flash I found to make a point. There might be better options for the money.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
peeaanuut
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,555 posts
Gallery: 32 photos
Likes: 702
Joined Feb 2011
     
Dec 05, 2013 20:54 |  #14

ok, so finally got off work and got to play with it a tad. They do fire wirelessly, how about that? Well I learn something new every day.

Thank you all for you help. I appreciate it very much.


Stuff
http://joetakesphotos.​com/ (external link) : | : https://www.facebook.c​om/JKlingPhotos (external link) : | : https://twitter.com/jk​lingphotos (external link)
airbutchie - Joe was definitely right about adding contrast...
:)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,516 views & 0 likes for this thread
I need some help Identifying some equipment and how to set it up
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Cosmo19
1034 guests, 306 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.