Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 22 Dec 2013 (Sunday) 19:57
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Sending in 100-400 Lens to Canon Facility

 
SYS
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,180 posts
Gallery: 33 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1414
Joined Jul 2004
Location: Gilligan's Island
     
Dec 22, 2013 19:57 |  #1

How much does it cost nowadays to have the Irvine Canon facility to clean all the dust that has been accumulated inside the pump?



"Life is short, art is long..."
-Goethe
My Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
jbrackjr
Senior Member
481 posts
Likes: 35
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Georgia, USA
     
Dec 22, 2013 21:43 |  #2

I don't know, never had it done. However, I did have work done on a body and the Out of Warranty Standard Labor Charge was $209. Probably different for lenses though....


Jim
Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
According to the lazy TF, My flatulence rates
Avatar
55,026 posts
Likes: 2187
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Dec 22, 2013 22:05 |  #3

Don't know either but if your at all handy, you can do so your self. LensRentals shows how to clean a few lenses including the 100-400.
http://www.lensrentals​.com …-lens-dustings#canon10400 (external link)


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SYS
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,180 posts
Gallery: 33 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1414
Joined Jul 2004
Location: Gilligan's Island
     
Dec 22, 2013 23:18 |  #4

gjl711 wrote in post #16548121 (external link)
Don't know either but if your at all handy, you can do so your self. LensRentals shows how to clean a few lenses including the 100-400.
http://www.lensrentals​.com …-lens-dustings#canon10400 (external link)

Thanks for the link. I'm pretty handy as long as I have the right equipment. I'll have to first find out how much it cost to have Canon clean the lens and weigh the option.



"Life is short, art is long..."
-Goethe
My Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rddelliott
Member
206 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Lincoln, CA
     
Dec 23, 2013 09:38 |  #5

I would think the only way to accurately determine the cost is send it in to Irvine for an estimate. If you decide the cost is excessive, they will just send it back to you.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hollis_f
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,649 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 85
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Sussex, UK
     
Dec 24, 2013 03:41 |  #6

SYS wrote in post #16547856 (external link)
How much does it cost nowadays to have the Irvine Canon facility to clean all the dust that has been accumulated inside the pump?

Can you actually see a load of dust? Does it affect your shooting?


Frank Hollis - Retired mass spectroscopist
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he'll complain about the withdrawal of his free fish entitlement.
Gear Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SYS
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,180 posts
Gallery: 33 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1414
Joined Jul 2004
Location: Gilligan's Island
     
Dec 24, 2013 08:00 |  #7

hollis_f wrote in post #16550657 (external link)
Can you actually see a load of dust? Does it affect your shooting?

I don't know about a "load," but enough dust there for me to resort to cloning them out in post.



"Life is short, art is long..."
-Goethe
My Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
According to the lazy TF, My flatulence rates
Avatar
55,026 posts
Likes: 2187
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Dec 24, 2013 08:21 |  #8

SYS wrote in post #16550920 (external link)
I don't know about a "load," but enough dust there for me to resort to cloning them out in post.

I have good news and I have bad news. First, you do not need to do anything with your 100-400. it is just fine the way it is. Though there are a few dust specks, they are not what is causing your problem.

Now the bad, you have a dirty sensor and it needs to be cleaned. Try this and post the picture.
1. Take a picture with a very small aperture, the smaller, the better but get it above f/22. Take it as out of focus as possible and of a uniformly colored surface. A cloudless blue sky works great as does a computer monitor displaying a blank word page. If taking the sky, set the lens to minimum focus. If taking a computer monitor, take it as close as possible and focus to infinity. On top of that, move the lens to introduce motion blur as well. This will give you a totally OOF shot. The only thing in focus will be your sensor dust.
2. Bring the picture into your favorite editor and apply "auto levels" This will make the picture look horrible but the dust will pop right out.
3. Clean your sensor.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jhayesvw
Cream of the Crop
7,229 posts
Gallery: 167 photos
Likes: 255
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Tucson AZ
     
Dec 24, 2013 08:29 |  #9

I agree with JJ above. My 100-400 has some dust but it has never shown up
in shots. It could be the lens but its almost as likely its on the sensor.



My Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SYS
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,180 posts
Gallery: 33 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1414
Joined Jul 2004
Location: Gilligan's Island
     
Dec 24, 2013 08:40 |  #10

If sensor is the culprit, then I should have to same issues with all of my lenses. It's only with the 100-400.



"Life is short, art is long..."
-Goethe
My Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
According to the lazy TF, My flatulence rates
Avatar
55,026 posts
Likes: 2187
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Dec 24, 2013 09:05 |  #11

SYS wrote in post #16550980 (external link)
If sensor is the culprit, then I should have to same issues with all of my lenses. It's only with the 100-400.

Maybe your shooting with a smaller aperture with the 100-400. Imperfections on the lens are rarely seen on a photo and if they are, they are really diffused. If it's sharp enough to need cloning out, it's on the high pass filter right in front of the sensor. Try taking a pic as I suggested and see of the specks line up with what your cloning out.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
According to the lazy TF, My flatulence rates
Avatar
55,026 posts
Likes: 2187
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Dec 24, 2013 09:15 |  #12

A good read about lens dust.
http://www.lensrentals​.com …e-apocalypse-of-lens-dust (external link)


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jbrackjr
Senior Member
481 posts
Likes: 35
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Georgia, USA
     
Dec 24, 2013 10:46 |  #13

rddelliott wrote in post #16548920 (external link)
I would think the only way to accurately determine the cost is send it in to Irvine for an estimate. If you decide the cost is excessive, they will just send it back to you.

I agree. I have tried several times to get an estimate for repairs and they refuse to do so.


Jim
Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
amfoto1
Cream of the Crop
10,251 posts
Likes: 83
Joined Aug 2007
Location: San Jose, California
     
Dec 24, 2013 11:16 |  #14

SYS wrote in post #16550980 (external link)
If sensor is the culprit, then I should have to same issues with all of my lenses. It's only with the 100-400.

The sensor is definitely the culprit. There's no way you'd see dust specks inside a lens in your images. Especially not with a telephoto.

Dust inside a lens, or on the front or rear element surfaces .... a lot of it... can cause flare effects and some loss of overall contrast and resolution. But the specks still will not show up in your images.

So you would be wasting your money, sending the lens in for a cleaning. It won't correct the problem.

Test your camera with other lenses. Stop them down to a very small aperture and shoot a plain background, such as a clear blue sky. Depending upon what exposure mode you are using and the brightness of whatever you are shooting, you might want to dial in some + Exposure Compensation too. For example, if shooting the ckear blue sky use at least + 1 EC.... maybe even more. If you are seeing them with the 100-400, I'm sure you will see them with other lenses, too. The specks will usually appear in the same place on the image. (Cameras with a self-cleaning sensor might move the specks around or clear the problem entirely.)

Clean the camera's sensor to solve the problem. Either do it yourself or take the camera to a repair shop for a sensor cleaning.


Alan Myers (external link) "Walk softly and carry a big lens."
5DII, 7DII(x2), 7D(x2) & other cameras. 10-22mm, Tokina 12-24/4, 20/2.8, TS 24/3.5L, 24-70/2.8L, 28/1.8, 28-135 IS (x2), TS 45/2.8, 50/1.4, Tamron 60/2.0, 70-200/4L IS, 70-200/2.8 IS, 85/1.8, Tamron 90/2.5 Macro, 100/2.8 USM, 100-400L II, 135/2L, 180/3.5L, 300/4L IS (x2), 300/2.8L IS, 500/4L IS, EF 1.4X II, EF 2X II. Flashes, studio strobes & various access. - FLICKR (external link) - ZENFOLIO (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SYS
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,180 posts
Gallery: 33 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1414
Joined Jul 2004
Location: Gilligan's Island
     
Dec 24, 2013 12:17 |  #15

Well, thanks to JJ and Alan and everyone else. I just received my new D5III camera and went through JJ's recommended process with 100-400 lens. Yup, no speck of dust!! You guys just saved me money! Merry Christmas to everyone! :D



"Life is short, art is long..."
-Goethe
My Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,816 views & 0 likes for this thread
Sending in 100-400 Lens to Canon Facility
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is masoudyas
940 guests, 349 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.