Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 12 Jan 2014 (Sunday) 10:20
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Help with image

 
jroovs
Member
232 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jul 2011
Location: SW Ontario
     
Jan 12, 2014 10:20 |  #1

My wife wants to get this enlarged on canvas, except she wants me to remove the fencepost on the left if possible using PS (I have CS5). I've tried doing that with content aware fill and healing brush, but can't get it to look right, the weeds are giving me some issues. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I'm not very good with PS and I use LR for 99% of my editing. Thanks in advance!

IMAGE: http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2836/11909343443_19e974882f_c.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://www.flickr.com …ordanroovers/11​909343443/  (external link)
SnowyCanvasPrint-1 (external link) by UpOnTheRoof (external link), on Flickr

7D, 6D, 24-105L, 100 2.8, 400 5.6 L

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Grizz
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,497 posts
Gallery: 319 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 3371
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Waldwick, NJ USA
     
Jan 12, 2014 10:38 |  #2

Just used the clone tool in PS.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Craig * Canon 7D Mark II * 60D * 10D * Tamron SP 150-600 f/5-6.3 Di VC USD * EF 400 5.6L USM * EF 17-40 4.0L USM * EF 70-210 4.0 * EF 28 2.8 * EF 50 1.8 MK1*Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Grizz
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,497 posts
Gallery: 319 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 3371
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Waldwick, NJ USA
     
Jan 12, 2014 10:46 |  #3

..or this (just kidding) :)


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Craig * Canon 7D Mark II * 60D * 10D * Tamron SP 150-600 f/5-6.3 Di VC USD * EF 400 5.6L USM * EF 17-40 4.0L USM * EF 70-210 4.0 * EF 28 2.8 * EF 50 1.8 MK1*Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JakAHearts
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,739 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 1479
Joined Sep 2010
Location: Silver Spring, MD
     
Jan 12, 2014 10:48 |  #4

Grizz wrote in post #16599185 (external link)
..or this (just kidding) :)

Lol bw!


Shane
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jroovs
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
232 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jul 2011
Location: SW Ontario
     
Jan 12, 2014 11:00 |  #5

Lol, you did in minutes what I couldn't do in hours! I'll look up how to use the clone tool and see where that gets me.


7D, 6D, 24-105L, 100 2.8, 400 5.6 L

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PhotosGuy
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
75,941 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 2583
Joined Feb 2004
Location: Middle of Michigan
     
Jan 12, 2014 12:29 |  #6

Nice shot! Sometimes the clone tool is easier to work with if you make a selection first where there is a sharp border between colors. There I've found that it's easier to select an area & clone within it to keep the colors from mixing.
https://photography-on-the.net …hp?p=7673809&po​stcount=11


FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?
New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1600 pixels on any side.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jroovs
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
232 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jul 2011
Location: SW Ontario
     
Jan 12, 2014 15:17 |  #7

PhotosGuy wrote in post #16599491 (external link)
Nice shot! Sometimes the clone tool is easier to work with if you make a selection first where there is a sharp border between colors. There I've found that it's easier to select an area & clone within it to keep the colors from mixing.
https://photography-on-the.net …hp?p=7673809&po​stcount=11

Thanks for posting that - I'll have to check it out and learn more about using this tool. I was able to use the clone and after about 10 minutes of fooling around with it, got what I thought was a satisfactory result.


7D, 6D, 24-105L, 100 2.8, 400 5.6 L

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AlFooteIII
Senior Member
445 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 38
Joined Jul 2013
Location: New York City
     
Jan 12, 2014 15:35 |  #8

FWIW, I like it better with the second post...


Specializing in Theatrical Photography. See my work at:
www.alfoote3photograph​y.com/ (external link)
www.facebook.com/alfoo​te3photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TC77
Member
Avatar
47 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 26
Joined Oct 2012
Location: Rockhampton, Queensland
     
Jan 12, 2014 16:07 |  #9

AlFooteIII wrote in post #16599859 (external link)
FWIW, I like it better with the second post...

I agree.


Instagram - @tc.photographics
https://www.facebook.c​om/TCPhotographics (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Pumba
Member
193 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2012
Location: Nr Stonehenge
     
Jan 12, 2014 16:42 |  #10

AlFooteIII wrote in post #16599859 (external link)
FWIW, I like it better with the second post...

I do aswell :)


6d, 70d, 70-300L, [COLOR="Black"]100L Macro, 40mm 2.8 STM, 580exii, 430ex and still NO idea

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JakAHearts
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,739 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 1479
Joined Sep 2010
Location: Silver Spring, MD
     
Jan 12, 2014 16:43 |  #11

You guys must not be married. He said "my wife wants". Your opinions are invalid. :)


Shane
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jroovs
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
232 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jul 2011
Location: SW Ontario
     
Jan 12, 2014 18:54 |  #12

JakAHearts wrote in post #16600015 (external link)
You guys must not be married. He said "my wife wants". Your opinions are invalid. :)

Lol, this :cool:


7D, 6D, 24-105L, 100 2.8, 400 5.6 L

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jan 16, 2014 02:33 |  #13

The clone tool can indeed be pretty quick if you just learn to use it.

Of course, that's the problem: people grab fancy software (often spendy) but don't take the time to learn the tools!, until...:)


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Alveric
Goldmember
Avatar
4,598 posts
Gallery: 38 photos
Likes: 1056
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Canada
     
Jan 16, 2014 02:35 |  #14
bannedPermanent ban

Try the Patch tool too, in some situations it can be faster than the clone tool and less messy. In some other situations the converse is true. I use a combination of both.


'The success of the second-rate is deplorable in itself; but it is more deplorable in that it very often obscures the genuine masterpiece. If the crowd runs after the false, it must neglect the true.' —Arthur Machen
Why 'The Histogram' Sux (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jroovs
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
232 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jul 2011
Location: SW Ontario
     
Jan 17, 2014 08:07 |  #15

tonylong wrote in post #16609662 (external link)
The clone tool can indeed be pretty quick if you just learn to use it.

Of course, that's the problem: people grab fancy software (often spendy) but don't take the time to learn the tools!, until...:)

I definitely fall into that category. I got LR3 and CS5 at the same time at the student rate, and have taken the time to become pretty comfortable in LR. Problem is, almost everything I need to do is in LR, and I haven't had the time to learn PS with an infant, full-time job, and a part-time master's degree on the go. When I'm done my course, I plan on doing a better job of learning CS5.

Alveric wrote in post #16609663 (external link)
Try the Patch tool too, in some situations it can be faster than the clone tool and less messy. In some other situations the converse is true. I use a combination of both.

Thanks, I'll give that a shot.


7D, 6D, 24-105L, 100 2.8, 400 5.6 L

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,868 views & 0 likes for this thread
Help with image
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is LaurentM
982 guests, 320 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.