Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 02 Feb 2007 (Friday) 07:21
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

what is 5D maximum CF size?

 
flowrider
Goldmember
Avatar
3,586 posts
Gallery: 124 photos
Best ofs: 6
Likes: 787
Joined Dec 2009
Location: 604
     
Jan 16, 2014 13:19 |  #61

Holy old thread Batman!!

I've used a 32gig card no problem with the latest (old) firmware.


~Steve~
~ My Website-stevelowephoto.com (external link) ~ Facebook (external link)
Feedback Feedback Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Jim_T
Goldmember
Avatar
3,306 posts
Likes: 80
Joined Nov 2003
Location: Woodlands, MB, Canada
     
Jan 16, 2014 13:37 |  #62

I wonder if anyone has tried one of the new Sandisk 256 Gigabyte cards.. http://www.sandisk.com …tflash/extremep​ro-160mbs/ (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
purelithium
Blithering Idiot
Avatar
1,108 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
     
Jan 16, 2014 14:36 as a reply to  @ Jim_T's post |  #63

Wow, I almost forgot completely about POTN!


R.M. Gelan Hopkins
5D|Voigtlander 20 3.5|EF 50mm 1.8 Mk I|430EX
third element photography (external link) | Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Betfair
Member
90 posts
Joined Sep 2010
     
Jan 16, 2014 15:03 |  #64

128GB works fine on my 5d mk3


My Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EOS5DC
Senior Member
791 posts
Joined Dec 2013
     
Jan 16, 2014 16:53 |  #65
bannedPermanent ban

I used an el-cheapo Promaster 16GB CF card in my 5Dc. Never had a problem with it.


Bodies: 60D, 6D.
EFs: 15-85, 10-22
EF: 28-75, 35 f/2 IS, Σ70-200 OS, 100-400L
Flash: 580EX II, 430 EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Kanye
Senior Member
Avatar
670 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Oct 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
     
Jan 16, 2014 18:01 |  #66

8gb works.

I wouldn't go higher though as a matter of personal preference if one card should fail




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RPCrowe
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,209 posts
Likes: 1855
Joined Nov 2005
Location: San Diego County, California, USA
     
Jan 16, 2014 18:03 |  #67

Adam B. wrote in post #2642163 (external link)
This is just a thought, if you have an 8 gb card in and it goes bad, how many shots will you lose. I always use 2 gb cards. I haven't heard of too many card failures with the higher end cards, but the cheaper ones... I don't know!!! Better safe the sorry.

On the other hand, I am more likely to mislay a CF card than to have one go bad on me.


See my images at http://rpcrowe.smugmug​.com/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
El ­ Pedro
Senior Member
Avatar
708 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 12
Joined Sep 2012
Location: Australia
     
Jan 17, 2014 04:38 |  #68

Adam B. wrote in post #2642163 (external link)
This is just a thought, if you have an 8 gb card in and it goes bad, how many shots will you lose. I always use 2 gb cards. On the 5D I get around 125 to 140 raw shots per card. I've got a friend who uses an 8 gb card in a 30D, while shooting jpeg's he pegs the meter at 999 shots. I haven't heard of too many card failures with the higher end cards, but the cheaper ones... I don't know!!! Better safe the sorry.

Same story different GB. Hope someone digs this thread up in a few years time when we'll be choosing between 1TB or 2TB




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GregDunn
Goldmember
Avatar
1,289 posts
Likes: 129
Joined Mar 2013
Location: Indiana
     
Jan 18, 2014 14:33 |  #69

Been using high quality large CF cards since day 1 with all of my cameras. The only time I've ever lost images was when the battery grip came loose during a shoot and the camera trashed one picture. I remove the card after every shoot and transfer images across, too, so according to some I've been tempting fate for 10 years.

Of course, every time I buy a new body I get new cards for it, so I don't use any of them to extinction.


Canon 1Dx | 5D3 | 7D2 | 6D | 70-200L f/2.8IS | 70-200L f/4 | 24-70L f/2.8 | 24-105L f/4IS | 100-400L f/4.5-5.6IS | 17-55 f/2.8IS | 50 f/1.8 | 28-105 f/3.5-4.5 | 4x Godox AD360

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
whiteflyer
Goldmember
Avatar
1,738 posts
Gallery: 223 photos
Likes: 876
Joined Jun 2006
Location: Lancashire, England
     
Jan 18, 2014 16:26 |  #70

Over 100,000 shots taken, shots lost due to card failure 0, touch wood.

Now I do only use 16GB cf cards as I find I get around 450 shots on each from my 1d4 so 2 or 3 cards will last the day normally. I do have an SD card in there too, just for when the action prevents me from swapping cards at that precise moment.

I've always been in the bigger card camp, but those 4GB ones I got for the 30D are just a bit small now, glad I didn't take the eggs in one basket route and buy a load of 1GB ones as suggested.


Whiteflyer Photography (external link) | Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
monkey44
Senior Member
Avatar
726 posts
Likes: 15
Joined Jul 2003
     
Jan 21, 2014 20:44 |  #71

whiteflyer wrote in post #16616419 (external link)
Over 100,000 shots taken, shots lost due to card failure 0, touch wood.

Now I do only use 16GB cf cards as I find I get around 450 shots on each from my 1d4 so 2 or 3 cards will last the day normally. I do have an SD card in there too, just for when the action prevents me from swapping cards at that precise moment.

I've always been in the bigger card camp, but those 4GB ones I got for the 30D are just a bit small now, glad I didn't take the eggs in one basket route and buy a load of 1GB ones as suggested.

Yes, I hear it ... I went up only to the 16g Lexar for 5dm3 and 8g Lexar for the 30d backup. Will never use the 32g or higher cards -- Too much to lose. I figure I'll shoot some in each, switch it out, and get a variety of 'timing' spread over the four cards, so if one dies, we lose only part of the entire shoot, and not lose it all during one part of it - In over ten years of shooting DSLR, I've had ONE bad disk and it failed the first time out - so, did not lose any work due to that fail.

Seems like a very good idea to spread it over a couple cards, even if you KNOW its good one. Why take a chance when it costs nothing extra.

The 5dm3 also has a SD card slot - you can shoot copies - so in that case, I do run a 32g card, and duplicate to it as a back-up too ... It's a nice feature, because you then get duplicates of every shot, and if one card fails - you have it.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jt354
Senior Member
401 posts
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Michigan
     
Jan 21, 2014 23:08 |  #72

Man, I knew something was up when I started reading this and everyone was talking about 2GB CF cards. This thread's celebrating seven years soon...anyway I use 16GB Sandisk extreme SD cards in my cameras, cost me $20-30 a piece. Times change.


Zenfolio (external link)
flickr (external link)
Gear: Canon 60D / Canon G12 / Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 / Canon 35mm f/2 IS / Canon 85mm f/1.8 / Tamron SP 70-300mm f/4-5.6 / Speedlite 430 EXII / Slik 700DX legs / Cullmann MB6 head

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ejenner
Goldmember
Avatar
3,835 posts
Gallery: 92 photos
Likes: 949
Joined Nov 2011
Location: Denver, CO
     
Jan 21, 2014 23:31 as a reply to  @ jt354's post |  #73

I would never have gone to 32Gb except for one thing - raw video. You can fill up a 32Gb card pretty quickly with that.

Otherwise even on vacation I download shots each day and always have 2 copies - if I re-format a card for the next day I have 2 copies on separate drives.


Edward Jenner
5DIV, M6, GX1 II, Sig15mm FE, 16-35 F4,TS-E 17, TS-E 24, M11-22, M18-150 ,24-105, T45 1.8VC, 70-200 f4 IS, 70-200 2.8 vII, Sig 85 1.4, 100L, 135L, 400DOII.
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/48305795@N03/ (external link)
https://www.facebook.c​om/edward.jenner.372/p​hotos (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ilia3101
Hatchling
Avatar
9 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2015
     
Feb 22, 2015 09:10 |  #74

64g works with 5d classic


Panasonic Lumix DMC-GH2 | Sony NEX-5 / NEX-5 / NEX-5C | Apple iPad Air | Canon EOS 5D Mark II | Helios 58mm f/2 44-3 MC | Tamron AF 19-35mm f/3.5-4.5

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

17,446 views & 0 likes for this thread
what is 5D maximum CF size?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is chopkins55
966 guests, 280 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.