Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon 
Thread started 06 Feb 2014 (Thursday) 16:09
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Shutter Release problem S100

 
SueR
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Feb 2014
Location: southern Ontario
     
Feb 06, 2014 16:09 |  #1

Anyone else having a problem with the shutter releasing on their S100? It is inconsistent but seems most often it takes up to 5 seconds to release after focussing or won't release at all. I just tried a reset to the camera and it is working better, but I am concerned that this might happen again.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
davidc502
Goldmember
Avatar
3,456 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 31
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Tennessee
     
Feb 09, 2014 16:43 |  #2

No problems here taking photos... Not sure if the s100 has a shutter. Might want to look it up.


_
My Gear is ---> Here

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bd3
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Mar 2014
     
Mar 06, 2014 00:24 |  #3

Hi SueR,

I have the exact same problem that just appeared out of nowhere about a year or so after I bought the camera.

I have to hold the button for a very long time before it manages to take a pictures. Sometimes it doesn't take a picture even after 5 seconds of holding. It immediately responds by focusing, then just freezes there as if I didn't push hard enough (trust me I'm pushing it all the way down).

Here's some people discussing the problem, but Canon is not admitting it is their fault yet...

http://forums.usa.cano​n.com …t-working-S100/td-p/12213 (external link)

Not sure what to do now.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SueR
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Feb 2014
Location: southern Ontario
     
Mar 12, 2014 20:50 |  #4

Hi bd3...frustrating isn't it. Seems if I just keep pressing the shutter button, eventually it starts to work and as long as I don't let it power down, it will keep working...Sometimes if it shuts off, it takes a couple of presses to get working again. Somehow that seems like a software problem, but who knows. Wish Canon would step in and help us. I hesitate to buy another Canon camera...
Sue




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ringer123
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Apr 2014
     
Apr 13, 2014 15:58 as a reply to  @ SueR's post |  #5

I am having the same problem! Very frustrating. Have missed many pictures. Ready to throw it against the wall!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hnikesch
Goldmember
Avatar
1,133 posts
Gallery: 24 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 19
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Michigan
     
Apr 13, 2014 19:23 |  #6

No problem with mine, but I run CHDK, so it operates differently but no delay. I always pre-focus my shots then it shoots instantly.


Hans
It is better to burn a roll of film than curse the darkness. Equip. Canon S100 w/CHDK, SD990 w/CHDK, SD900 w/CHDK, Pentax K30, & Kr, Pentax Q7 Flickr: (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
unhappycustomer
Hatchling
1 post
Joined May 2014
     
May 30, 2014 17:17 |  #7

http://forums.usa.cano​n.com …t-working-S100/td-p/12213 (external link)

There is a forum devoted to this problem. Please add your name, so Canon will start to take responsibility for this defect.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Nikfrom80's
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Nov 2014
     
Nov 12, 2014 14:18 |  #8

Hope this helps.. online petition to recall shutter button on the Canon S100

http://www.ipetitions.​com …request-to-recall-shutter (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
angeloweb
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Nov 2014
Location: Cincinnati, USA
     
Nov 17, 2014 08:37 as a reply to  @ Nikfrom80's's post |  #9

I got the same problem shortly after the warranty was over. Focuses fine with ½ press, but delays or fails on the full press of the shutter release. Signed the petition.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,555 views & 0 likes for this thread
Shutter Release problem S100
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is STKI
707 guests, 261 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.