Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 05 Mar 2014 (Wednesday) 21:24
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Slow Response from 60D

 
Larry ­ Johnson
Goldmember
Avatar
1,355 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 463
Joined Sep 2011
Location: Virginia
     
Mar 05, 2014 21:24 |  #1

Does shooting RAW and/or increasing ISO way up (i.e. above 4000) reduce the response time of the 60D. Several times during a recent shoot I got a message from the camera that it was "waiting to process" or something to that effect. I only noticed it after the clouds rolled in and I bumped the ISO way up. I was shooting as many frames per second as possible. This was the first time I shot RAW as well, but didn't have a problem with the bright light in the morning. Thanks.


_______________
Ain't Nature Grand!
Shooting 7D2 with Canon 400mm, f/5.6.
60D, canon 18-135 EFS, and 1.4 extender in the bag.
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Frodge
Goldmember
Avatar
3,087 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 147
Joined Nov 2012
     
Mar 05, 2014 21:52 |  #2

Filled the buffer.


_______________
“It's kind of fun to do the impossible.” - Walt Disney.
Equipment: Tokina 12-24mm, Canon 40mm 2.8, Tamron 17-50 2.8 XR Di, Canon 18-55mm, Canon 50mm 1.8, Tamron 70-300VC / T3I and 60D

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GaryD
Member
113 posts
Joined Feb 2014
Location: Home
     
Mar 05, 2014 21:57 |  #3

Sounds like High-ISO NR is set to MAXIMUM. Turn it down a notch.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MakisM1
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,654 posts
Gallery: 28 photos
Likes: 386
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Houston
     
Mar 05, 2014 21:59 |  #4

Did you shoot RAW only, or RAW + JPEG?

What is your 'High ISO NR' setting?


Gerry
Canon 5D MkIII/Canon 60D/Canon EF-S 18-200/Canon EF 24-70L USM II/Canon EF 70-200L 2.8 USM II/Canon EF 50 f1.8 II/Σ 8-16/ 430 EXII
OS: Linux Ubuntu/PostProcessing: Darktable/Image Processing: GIMP

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Preeb
Goldmember
Avatar
2,646 posts
Gallery: 134 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1001
Joined Sep 2011
Location: Logan County, CO
     
Mar 05, 2014 22:47 |  #5

Larry Johnson wrote in post #16737705 (external link)
Does shooting RAW and/or increasing ISO way up (i.e. above 4000) reduce the response time of the 60D. Several times during a recent shoot I got a message from the camera that it was "waiting to process" or something to that effect. I only noticed it after the clouds rolled in and I bumped the ISO way up. I was shooting as many frames per second as possible. This was the first time I shot RAW as well, but didn't have a problem with the bright light in the morning. Thanks.

The buffer will only hold so much. When you fill it, then it takes a bit to write it to the card. You can't just hold down the shutter release forever in burst mode. I think that you can improve it by changing to MRAW or SRAW (just an assumption as I've never done it), but it still isn't infinite.


Rick
6D Mark II - EF 17-40 f4 L -- EF 100mm f2.8 L IS Macro -- EF 70-200 f4 L IS w/1.4 II TC

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MakisM1
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,654 posts
Gallery: 28 photos
Likes: 386
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Houston
     
Mar 05, 2014 22:56 |  #6

Sorry I didn't notice that you were shooting continuous mode. Yes the buffer fills after 15 or so photos. In JPEG it takes over fifty before the buffer fills up. That's why you probably didn't notice.

If you choose a smaller jpeg format, you can probably shoot hundreds...


Gerry
Canon 5D MkIII/Canon 60D/Canon EF-S 18-200/Canon EF 24-70L USM II/Canon EF 70-200L 2.8 USM II/Canon EF 50 f1.8 II/Σ 8-16/ 430 EXII
OS: Linux Ubuntu/PostProcessing: Darktable/Image Processing: GIMP

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
10,705 posts
Likes: 1300
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Mar 06, 2014 07:00 |  #7

MakisM1 wrote in post #16737783 (external link)
Did you shoot RAW only, or RAW + JPEG?

What is your 'High ISO NR' setting?

To check the High ISO NR setting see page 254 which I've attached.

You should also review pages 85, 86,87 of the manual.

If you are doing both RAW + the largest JPEG reduce or turn off the JPEG in situations demanding rapid data writes to the card. A full size JPEG is about 6 MB and can always be created from the RAW in post processing.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Kwirk
Member
237 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Jan 2010
     
Mar 06, 2014 07:05 |  #8

The higher the ISO, the larger the file size. You may have a slower card, in combination with filling the buffer, and using a high ISO, would likely result in a slower response time.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Larry ­ Johnson
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,355 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 463
Joined Sep 2011
Location: Virginia
     
Mar 06, 2014 07:07 as a reply to  @ John from PA's post |  #9

Thanks for all the responses. I was shooting in both RAW and JPG with normal NR. I've eliminated the JPEG shooting and disabled NR. I don't see why I'd need JPEGs now that I have Lightroom to post process.


_______________
Ain't Nature Grand!
Shooting 7D2 with Canon 400mm, f/5.6.
60D, canon 18-135 EFS, and 1.4 extender in the bag.
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Frodge
Goldmember
Avatar
3,087 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 147
Joined Nov 2012
     
Mar 06, 2014 07:21 |  #10

Larry Johnson wrote in post #16738340 (external link)
Thanks for all the responses. I was shooting in both RAW and JPG with normal NR. I've eliminated the JPEG shooting and disabled NR. I don't see why I'd need JPEGs now that I have Lightroom to post process.

It's nice having the JPEG as well imho. I've filled the buffer a couple times with my 60d, bu it's rare. Maybe don't machine gun as much...


_______________
“It's kind of fun to do the impossible.” - Walt Disney.
Equipment: Tokina 12-24mm, Canon 40mm 2.8, Tamron 17-50 2.8 XR Di, Canon 18-55mm, Canon 50mm 1.8, Tamron 70-300VC / T3I and 60D

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,278 views & 0 likes for this thread
Slow Response from 60D
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is markhilton
819 guests, 164 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.