Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 13 Mar 2014 (Thursday) 09:03
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5D MK III: What's Your C1, C2, C3 Settings?

 
SYS
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,227 posts
Gallery: 33 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1731
Joined Jul 2004
Location: Gilligan's Island
     
Mar 13, 2014 09:03 |  #1

Curious about how 5D MK III owners have programmed these custom settings. Please share.



"Life is short, art is long..."
-Goethe
My Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Lenty007
Member
221 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 21
Joined May 2006
Location: Ghent, Belgium
     
Mar 13, 2014 09:36 |  #2

I only have set C1 (to avoid confusing myself) to studio settings:
ISO 100 - 1/125 - F/8 - Center point AF - Single shots
Good luck




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,036 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 289
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Mar 13, 2014 10:03 as a reply to  @ Lenty007's post |  #3

I have different groups of C1-C3 settings, for different purposes.
One group for my orienteering events, another for everyday purposes, a third suitable for portrait/studio style, yet another specialized for landscape and similar stuff.
Then I either set something up ad hoc, without using these setups, or I do use them, loading the group of settings from the memory card.

Now this isn't supported for the 5D Mark III, but the similarity is that create setups for recurring events, and if you find more than three that are recurring, you simply have to prioritize. The 1DX can handle 30 (three setups in ten different files), but that's specific for that model.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
nrvnqsrxk
Hatchling
8 posts
Joined Jun 2013
     
Mar 13, 2014 10:23 |  #4

C3 is my Cinestyle profile that I use to shoot video with.
C1 and C2 are my dynamic settings that I change to suit every environment that I'm working in. If I'm shooting an event:

- I'll take a light reading w/ my sekonic in the light, custom white balance w/ DGK & save to C1.
- Then I'll do the same process above with the shadows.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
moltengold
Goldmember
4,296 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Jul 2011
     
Mar 13, 2014 13:18 |  #5

i dont use them


| Canon EOS | and some canon lenses

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
zarray
Member
167 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Singapore/ London
     
Mar 13, 2014 13:23 as a reply to  @ moltengold's post |  #6

I only have one Custom setting for bracketed shots on tripod:
Av mode set to F8, ISO 100
Bracketing enabled
-2second delay


5D Mark II | 5Dc |17-40 | 24-105 | 70-200 F2.8 IS | Sigma 50mm 1.4 | 580EX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
David ­ Arbogast
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,390 posts
Gallery: 36 photos
Likes: 8095
Joined Aug 2010
Location: West Point, Georgia
     
Mar 13, 2014 14:44 |  #7

C1 = optimized for single-exposure landscape/architecture photography.
C2 = optimized for multiple-bracket landscape/architecture photography.
C3 = optimized for wildlife photography (birds).


David | Flickr (external link)
Sony α7R II | CV 12mm, FE 12-24mm, Loxia 21mm, Loxia 35mm, CV 40mm, FE 50mm ZA, Loxia 85mm, Batis 85mm, Batis 135mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
paddler4
Goldmember
Avatar
1,319 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 7
Joined Aug 2009
     
Mar 13, 2014 15:27 |  #8

1. starting point for indoor candid flash
2. starting point for natural light, outdoor candids
3. macro flash

all include location of both AF points in both portrait and landscape mode.


Check out my photos at http://dkoretz.smugmug​.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bucovetsky
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Mar 2014
     
Mar 13, 2014 17:34 |  #9

C1 - AV, Auto ISO, Sigle focus point, single shot - For quick indoor snapshots
C2 - AV, ISO 100, Bracketing, Timer 2 sec - Tripod bracketing
C3 - AV, auto ISo, Continuous shot high, AI servo - To catch action quickly

I use AV, M, most of the time though.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SYS
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,227 posts
Gallery: 33 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1731
Joined Jul 2004
Location: Gilligan's Island
     
Mar 15, 2014 08:48 |  #10

C1: For AEB, AV, ISO 100, 5 shot bracketing
C2: For indoor low light, Auto ISO with limit to 6400
C3: For birding and sports, AI Servo, H Continuous



"Life is short, art is long..."
-Goethe
My Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SYS
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,227 posts
Gallery: 33 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1731
Joined Jul 2004
Location: Gilligan's Island
     
Mar 19, 2014 09:29 |  #11

I was hoping to customize the CF card slot with C3 (above) and the SD card slot with C1-C2. Apparently, 5D3 is not that smart...



"Life is short, art is long..."
-Goethe
My Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,036 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 289
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Mar 19, 2014 09:36 as a reply to  @ SYS's post |  #12

You mean to be able to direct where images are saved by storing differnt settings for card selection in the custom settings?

No, whether it's smart or not can be discussed, but these cameras are programmed to as far as possible try to find a card to store your images on, if there at all is one. So the camera will change that setting on it's own behalf, if what you selected is impossible. Like shooting to the SD card when only a CF card is inserted.

The closest you can come is the storage of the whole camera setup, C1-C3 included, in a file on the memory card in the 1DX. When you read that back, you get the card selection back too. But you can't store the card selection in C1-C3 on the 1DX either.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SYS
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,227 posts
Gallery: 33 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1731
Joined Jul 2004
Location: Gilligan's Island
     
Mar 19, 2014 09:53 |  #13

Yea, that's too bad. It'd be so cool to be able to customize the card setting. For BIF and sports (my C3), I wouldn't want to use the SD card, and for normal shootings I don't need to store the images in the fast CF card. For AEB shots for HDR, it'd be nice to just find them all in the SD card (C1). Wishful thinking on my part...



"Life is short, art is long..."
-Goethe
My Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,036 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 289
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Mar 19, 2014 10:33 as a reply to  @ SYS's post |  #14

I would presume that when Canon asked somebody who lives on photography: "Do you want to be able to firmly direct images to one card, which means no shooting is possible if that card is missing, or do you want to make the setting manually all the time and just have the camera redirect if you forgot to put in a card, or if the card failed?"

Then he who gets bread on the table only if he brings images home suggested the current solution.
But this is my own assumption, and it's pure guesswork. It may be something completely different.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
36,583 posts
Gallery: 108 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5622
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Mar 19, 2014 10:37 as a reply to  @ apersson850's post |  #15

C1 - super fast sports action, different starting AF points in both orientations, custom WB set, custom picture style set
C2 - cheerleader mode, a less aggressive version of C1
C3 - portrait mode for the events


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: 1.4x TC
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

10,100 views & 0 likes for this thread
5D MK III: What's Your C1, C2, C3 Settings?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is MandeepNayee
820 guests, 229 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.