Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 18 Jan 2013 (Friday) 16:05
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

What size card does the 50D recognize?

 
KirkS518
Goldmember
Avatar
3,983 posts
Likes: 24
Joined Apr 2012
Location: Central Gulf Coast, Flori-duh
     
Jan 18, 2013 16:05 |  #1

Just got my new-to-me 50D, and the manual doesn't say what size CF card it will recognize up to. I have a 16gb, and my 350D doesn't recognize more then 8gb, so I would format on the laptop, and still be able to use all 16gb. Will the 50D see it as 16gb and format it to 16gb? The manual (yes, I checked) doesn't mention a size for the card. Thanks!


If steroids are illegal for athletes, should PS be illegal for models?
Digital - 50D, 20D IR Conv, 9 Lenses from 8mm to 300mm
Analog - Mamiya RB67 Pro-SD, Canon A-1, Nikon F4S, YashicaMat 124G, Rollei 35S, QL17 GIII, Zeiss Ikon Ikoflex 1st Version, and and entire room full of lenses and other stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
9,450 posts
Likes: 895
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Jan 18, 2013 16:28 |  #2

16 gb is a good size to stick with. You can go to 32 and the camera will work fine, but that is putting allyour eggs in one basket. If you have any issue, you lose everything. Some people don't like the 32 gb card because it can hold more than 1000 images but the camaera counter only goes to 999. Don't forget to do an in camera low level format.

On another note, make sure you download and install the latest and greatest firmware.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
According to the lazy TF, My flatulence rates
Avatar
55,432 posts
Likes: 2392
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Jan 18, 2013 16:37 |  #3

pop it in and see. Way easier than asking the forum and more accurate as well.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
amfoto1
Cream of the Crop
10,251 posts
Likes: 84
Joined Aug 2007
Location: San Jose, California
     
Jan 18, 2013 16:41 |  #4

16GB will be fine. I used 8GB and 16GB with 50D. I used mostly 8GB, 250-300 RAW shots per card is all the eggs I want in any single basket... I mostly use the 16GB with 5DII.


Alan Myers (external link) "Walk softly and carry a big lens."
5DII, 7DII(x2), 7D(x2) & other cameras. 10-22mm, Tokina 12-24/4, 20/2.8, TS 24/3.5L, 24-70/2.8L, 28/1.8, 28-135 IS (x2), TS 45/2.8, 50/1.4, Tamron 60/2.0, 70-200/4L IS, 70-200/2.8 IS, 85/1.8, Tamron 90/2.5 Macro, 100/2.8 USM, 100-400L II, 135/2L, 180/3.5L, 300/4L IS (x2), 300/2.8L IS, 500/4L IS, EF 1.4X II, EF 2X II. Flashes, studio strobes & various access. - FLICKR (external link) - ZENFOLIO (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lettershop
A lame title from the TF
Avatar
967 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Sep 2009
Location: Fairport NY
     
Jan 18, 2013 16:47 |  #5

+1 on gjl711


1DX, Gripped 60D,10-22mm, 18-135mm, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS, 24-70L, TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II, 100mm f2.8 Macro, 50mm f/1.4, 60mm 2/2.8 Macro, 580ex, 430EXII, Pocketwizards, Softbox, Tamron 1.4X TC, Canon 2x TC, GT3541LS, BH-55

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Canon ­ Amateur
Senior Member
Avatar
275 posts
Gallery: 20 photos
Likes: 84
Joined Aug 2010
Location: The Netherlands
     
Jan 18, 2013 17:01 |  #6

I use a 16GB and an 8GB CF Card in my 50D, both containing ML.
Never had any problem with them.


Canon EOS 1D Mark IV / Canon EOS M3 / Lytro illum

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
NinetyEight
"Banned for life"
Avatar
3,196 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 23
Joined Sep 2008
Location: Dorset - England
     
Jan 19, 2013 08:21 |  #7

16Gb worked fine with my old 50D.


Kev

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KirkS518
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,983 posts
Likes: 24
Joined Apr 2012
Location: Central Gulf Coast, Flori-duh
     
Jan 19, 2013 09:28 |  #8

Yeah, it recognizes the 16gb no problem. Still wondering what the max card size it will recognize is though. Surprised this wasn't in the manual.


If steroids are illegal for athletes, should PS be illegal for models?
Digital - 50D, 20D IR Conv, 9 Lenses from 8mm to 300mm
Analog - Mamiya RB67 Pro-SD, Canon A-1, Nikon F4S, YashicaMat 124G, Rollei 35S, QL17 GIII, Zeiss Ikon Ikoflex 1st Version, and and entire room full of lenses and other stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jjackflash
"I MISSED THE STRIPPERS"
Avatar
626 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 36
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Barad-dûr
     
Jan 19, 2013 09:32 |  #9

i use a 32gb in mine
works fine


http://jjackflash.zenf​olio.com/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hollis_f
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,649 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 85
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Sussex, UK
     
Jan 20, 2013 06:38 |  #10

KirkS518 wrote in post #15508068 (external link)
Yeah, it recognizes the 16gb no problem. Still wondering what the max card size it will recognize is though. Surprised this wasn't in the manual.

It wasn't in the manual because when the manual was writ the largest available card was probably 16GB. But Canon knew that larger cards would become available during the lifetime of the camera. So it had three choices -

  • Say that the limit was 16GB, because that's all that it had tested, and suffer the wrath of users who thought, wrongly, that larger cards wouldn't work.
  • Say that the lmit was 2TB and risk a change in the CF format that made them incompatible.
  • Ignore it.
I'm pretty sure it'll be OK up to 137GB and possibly more.

Frank Hollis - Retired mass spectroscopist
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he'll complain about the withdrawal of his free fish entitlement.
Gear Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kickmaster
Senior Member
Avatar
556 posts
Gallery: 30 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 218
Joined Nov 2004
Location: San Diego. CA
     
Jan 20, 2013 10:00 |  #11

Use a 32 in mine.


Canon Forever! 5D III, 1DX, L Primes & Zooms, Kino-Flo, Einsteins, Interfit's, Diva Ringlight, Phottix Indra 500 TTL, Interfit S1's..... Full studio....

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bill ­ Emmett
Member
201 posts
Likes: 10
Joined May 2012
Location: New Orleans, Louisiana
     
Jan 21, 2013 10:36 |  #12

I have and have used a 32mb card in my 50D while on a cruise last Summer. But, I've decided to drop down to a 8mb, or 16mb cards. Why, because a friend of mine had a failure with over 400 shots on his 32mb card, and he lost every one of his pictures. So, I now shoot with a 8mb card, and download them as often as I can. Presently, I download all my pictures daily when I shoot them. I don't like a PP log jam with a 1000 photos to view, and process. Don't under cut your 50d, it's a great camera and will last you many a year. Oh, yes, format your card IN THE CAMERA!


New Canon EOS 5D Mark IV, Canon EOS 7D Mark II, Canon EOS 50D, Canon 7D Classic, Canon 6D, Canon EF 70-200 f4L USM with IS, Canon 40mm pancake, Canon EF 50mm 1.8, Canon EF-S 10-22mm wide angle, Canon EF-S 18-135 IS STM, Canon EF 100mm 2.8L USM Macro, Tamron 18-270mm Dii VC, Tamron SP 150-600mm VC, Tamron SP 24-70mm f2.8 VC USM, Canon EF 16-35 f2.8L II USM, Tamron 2X Tele-Extender, 1.4 Tele-extender

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Shooting
Goldmember
Avatar
1,552 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2008
     
Mar 17, 2014 14:57 as a reply to  @ Bill Emmett's post |  #13

I use a 16 all the time, tried the 32 once and it had to be formatted with a special program and my camera never did recognize it.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,540 views & 0 likes for this thread
What size card does the 50D recognize?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Lenscreep
989 guests, 317 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.