Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 25 Mar 2014 (Tuesday) 18:11
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Need help in real time - camera not autofocusing

 
IlliniFan99
Member
83 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Mar 2013
     
Mar 25, 2014 18:11 |  #1

Wife is at daughter''s game with 60D 70-200L f/4 combo.
Doesn't seem to be autofocusing. No red dot for focus in either TV or any of the Auto modes.

What can she try?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
mjmackinnon
Senior Member
808 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
     
Mar 25, 2014 18:16 |  #2

try sliding the switch on the side back to enable auto focus.. it is probably on manual focus.


My Flickr (external link) - Canon EOS 5Diii | EF 50f/1.4 | EF 24-105 f/4L IS| EF 100-400L IS | EF 70-200f/4L |430 EX II | Elinchrom BX500Ri
Post Production: i7-2600k, Win7, iMac 27 i7 | Adobe Photoshop CS6

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kezug
Senior Member
782 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 150
Joined Mar 2010
Location: N.W. Indiana
     
Mar 25, 2014 18:17 |  #3

Is this in AI Servo mode? From what I understand you wont get a red dot. Just 1/2 press shutter when subject is in center, then pressing shutter after that will keep subject in focus. Make sure she is in continuous shot, not single shot.


Camera's: 70D, G12 | Len's: 18-135mm IS STM, 55-250mm IS STM, 50mm f/1.8 II | Photos:flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Beachcomber ­ Joe
Senior Member
466 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2010
Location: Southwest Florida
     
Mar 25, 2014 18:23 as a reply to  @ mjmackinnon's post |  #4

The dot does not illuminate when you are in AI-Servo. That might be the problem. Have her look at the distance indicator window in the 70-200 and see if it moves when trying to focus on objects of different distances.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Virto
Goldmember
Avatar
1,647 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Elgin, IL
     
Mar 25, 2014 18:24 |  #5

Set the camera to one shot and make sure the AF/MF switch on the lens is set to AF. Move it between the two positions just to be sure.

AI Servo will not give you a focus confirmation box or beep.

It's possible that back button focus is active. Press the * button on the back of the camera and see if the lens attempts to focus.

Beachcomber Joe wrote in post #16786082 (external link)
The dot does not illuminate when you are in AI-Servo. That might be the problem. Have her look at the distance indicator window in the 70-200 and see if it moves when trying to focus on objects of different distances.

If she cannot feel the lens focusing/moving elements, the distance scale will tell the tale.


Kelly - EOS 5D - EOS 40D - Rebel XS - EOS 10D - EOS 1D - SX230 - AE-1 - OM-1n - Minolta Himatic7 - EOS-1N
ABR800 - Several flashes, remote triggers, stands, too many and yet not enough lenses

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
IlliniFan99
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
83 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Mar 2013
     
Mar 25, 2014 18:52 |  #6

Beachcomber Joe wrote in post #16786082 (external link)
The dot does not illuminate when you are in AI-Servo. That might be the problem. Have her look at the distance indicator window in the 70-200 and see if it moves when trying to focus on objects of different distances.

It is in AI servo. I should have remembered that. She did look at the distance indicator and it's moving so all should be good. I guess I'll be sure when she gets home.

Sorry for the fire drill, but she called in a panic...

Thanks for all the quick replies!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

937 views & 0 likes for this thread
Need help in real time - camera not autofocusing
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is suiyuan
644 guests, 199 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.