Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 11 Apr 2014 (Friday) 12:01
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Shutter count?

 
Longcove
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Apr 2014
     
Apr 11, 2014 12:01 |  #1

Hi: I just bought a 550D rather cheaply and I wonder how to access the shutter count.
I'm sure the question has been asked before but I couldn't find it.
Thanks.
Donald




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
runninmann
what the heck do I know?
Avatar
8,156 posts
Gallery: 47 photos
Likes: 149
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Michigan-U.S.A.
     
Apr 11, 2014 12:32 |  #2

Welcome to POTN!

This thread might help: https://photography-on-the.net …/showthread.php​?t=1152012


My Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dpds68
Goldmember
Avatar
1,464 posts
Likes: 2
Joined May 2008
Location: Trinidad and Tobago W.I.
     
Apr 11, 2014 13:00 |  #3

Welcome also look at the bottom left side of this page and read "Similar Threads"

David


Gripped Canon 7D,20D,XT / Tamron 17-50mm 2.8, Canon 85mm f1.8 , 70-200 2.8L,EF50mm1.8 II,Sigma 150-500mm OS, Sigma 105mm 2.8 Macro, Sigma 10-20mm 4-5.6
Vivitar285Hv x2,Canon430EX,Nissin Di866,CTR-301P Triggers,
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/dpds68/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
watt100
Cream of the Crop
14,021 posts
Likes: 29
Joined Jun 2008
     
Apr 12, 2014 03:56 |  #4

runninmann wrote in post #16826469 (external link)
Welcome to POTN!

This thread might help: https://photography-on-the.net …/showthread.php​?t=1152012

yes, but a post at the end of that thread warns there is plenty of bad advice in that thread!

I use Magic Lantern for my shutter count
http://www.magiclanter​n.fm (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
runninmann
what the heck do I know?
Avatar
8,156 posts
Gallery: 47 photos
Likes: 149
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Michigan-U.S.A.
     
Apr 12, 2014 04:00 |  #5

watt100 wrote in post #16827863 (external link)
yes, but a post at the end of that thread warns there is plenty of bad advice in that thread!
I use Magic Lantern for my shutter count
http://www.magiclanter​n.fm (external link)

Watt100, you've been around long enough to know that can be said about many threads. :lol:


My Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
InfiniteDivide
"I wish to be spared"
Avatar
2,844 posts
Gallery: 265 photos
Likes: 217
Joined Dec 2013
Location: Kawasaki, Japan
     
Apr 12, 2014 04:24 |  #6

If you have a Mac use Shutter Count app It is not free but has unlimited uses once purchased.
Worth the $2 to me because it doesn't need an internet connection to check like the website ones.
You can now check my own gear, my friend's, and used gear in 30 seconds from my laptop.


James Patrus
6D | 16-35L F4 | 24L II | 50L | 100L | |  -> Website (external link) & Gallery (external link)
For Sale:Canon 16-35mm f4 IS l Do you enjoy Super Famicom games? (external link) PM me directly.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
watt100
Cream of the Crop
14,021 posts
Likes: 29
Joined Jun 2008
     
Apr 12, 2014 04:36 |  #7

InfiniteDivide wrote in post #16827881 (external link)
If you have a Mac use Shutter Count app It is not free but has unlimited uses once purchased.
Worth the $2 to me because it doesn't need an internet connection to check like the website ones.
You can now check my own gear, my friend's, and used gear in 30 seconds from my laptop.

but why pay for something when it's free?
makes no sense !




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
InfiniteDivide
"I wish to be spared"
Avatar
2,844 posts
Gallery: 265 photos
Likes: 217
Joined Dec 2013
Location: Kawasaki, Japan
     
Apr 12, 2014 05:06 |  #8

Because the other options required me to have internet access active or windows OS on my laptop, in order to check gear.
It is honestly easier to pay the $2 once. :) Mostly because I don't have internet access, mobilly.
Having instant internet access 24 / 7 is not something I have the luxury of.
I don't understand why others pay PER CHECK with other websites.
My app checks unlimited times on any Canon camera, past, current, or new.


James Patrus
6D | 16-35L F4 | 24L II | 50L | 100L | |  -> Website (external link) & Gallery (external link)
For Sale:Canon 16-35mm f4 IS l Do you enjoy Super Famicom games? (external link) PM me directly.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
36,863 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5757
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Apr 12, 2014 05:22 |  #9

Gphoto2 is free and doesn't require internet access for the Mac platform. Most likely that was wrapped and then sold to you for $2.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: 2x Teleconverter
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
InfiniteDivide
"I wish to be spared"
Avatar
2,844 posts
Gallery: 265 photos
Likes: 217
Joined Dec 2013
Location: Kawasaki, Japan
     
Apr 12, 2014 05:38 |  #10

^ Hmmm perhaps you are right, about 10 months ago I researched options for Mac and came up with many websites and offerings.
But what's done is done. I don't feel ripped off either way and I am not unhappy with the program.


James Patrus
6D | 16-35L F4 | 24L II | 50L | 100L | |  -> Website (external link) & Gallery (external link)
For Sale:Canon 16-35mm f4 IS l Do you enjoy Super Famicom games? (external link) PM me directly.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
36,863 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5757
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Apr 12, 2014 06:24 |  #11

InfiniteDivide wrote in post #16827970 (external link)
^ Hmmm perhaps you are right, about 10 months ago I researched options for Mac and came up with many websites and offerings.
But what's done is done. I don't feel ripped off either way and I am not unhappy with the program.

$2 is nothing to worry about obviously, but it is good that others know about the free mac solution, or even linux solution.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: 2x Teleconverter
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,494 views & 0 likes for this thread
Shutter count?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Jbrace
998 guests, 321 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.