Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
Thread started 26 Apr 2014 (Saturday) 22:01
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

More storage but which one..

 
rooeey
-Shorty-
Avatar
2,554 posts
Likes: 5
Joined May 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
     
Apr 26, 2014 22:01 |  #1

I am on Mac and am looking for some more safe secure storage..

Was thinking of the WD NAS 2x1.5 with Raid...

Pros and cons ?

Should i just get a 2TB EXT drive...

I'm no tech head but manage to get around most basic stuff OK would need to consider ease of use and Mac compatability options...

Your opinions and advise are all ways appretiated..


1D MK111 , 5D Classic,24-70F2.8, 16-35F2.8, 70-200F2.8 IS a 430EXII 2x 580EXII and a Mac...:cool:
http://s229.photobucke​t.com/albums/ee124/roo​eey/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
cbowlsby
Member
175 posts
Joined May 2013
Location: CA
     
Apr 26, 2014 23:00 |  #2

What do you really want to get out of this? Do you want RAID?

Does it need to be simple to use? If so then a NAS is probably overkill and you're better off with a usb drive.

OTOH if you want network access then something like a Synology NAS is pretty sweet.


feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RHChan84
Goldmember
Avatar
2,320 posts
Likes: 24
Joined Apr 2011
Location: Mass
     
Apr 26, 2014 23:01 |  #3

Synology NAS drive with Raid.

All stored on a network so any computer can access it weather it's a MAC or PC.


http://www.amazon.com …&sr=8-1&keywords=Synology (external link)

This is what I am looking into right now. 2HDs with DLNA capabilities. There is a higher end one but useless for my applications. It has a dual core instead of a single core and USB3 but I need a NAS so that is useless for me. http://www.amazon.com …&sr=8-3&keywords=Synology (external link). This is also $100 more.


Canon (60D Gripped | 18-135mm f3.5-5.6 IS | 40mm f2.8 | 50mm f1.8 | 70-200 F4L IS| 430 EXII)
Tamron (17-50 f2.8 VC)
Feedback
Facebook (external link)

flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rooeey
THREAD ­ STARTER
-Shorty-
Avatar
2,554 posts
Likes: 5
Joined May 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
     
Apr 27, 2014 00:44 |  #4

cbowlsby wrote in post #16863987 (external link)
What do you really want to get out of this? Do you want RAID?

Does it need to be simple to use? If so then a NAS is probably overkill and you're better off with a usb drive.

OTOH if you want network access then something like a Synology NAS is pretty sweet.

NAS not crucial but i like Mirrored drives just in case ???

What do you think ?


1D MK111 , 5D Classic,24-70F2.8, 16-35F2.8, 70-200F2.8 IS a 430EXII 2x 580EXII and a Mac...:cool:
http://s229.photobucke​t.com/albums/ee124/roo​eey/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cbowlsby
Member
175 posts
Joined May 2013
Location: CA
     
Apr 27, 2014 02:42 as a reply to  @ rooeey's post |  #5

If you want mirrored drives then get yourself a Synology NAS.


feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
broadcast_techie
Member
Avatar
180 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 19
Joined Jun 2008
     
Apr 27, 2014 05:59 |  #6

RAID 1 only protects against a disk failure in the pair, it does not protect you against accidental deletion.

NAS is convenient, but slow - USB3 / Firewire disks have a distinct speed advantage over network (unless you have a 10G network?)

I use 2 x 1TB (firewire) drives which I back up to independently using File Synchronization: https://www.macupdate.​com …9926/file-synchronization (external link) - occasionally I'll sync between the two to make sure nothing is missing. Normally I only work to one drive at once.

Additionally it gives me 2 independent copies of all photos, one disk can be stored off site etc. (I don't normally, which is bad, but I do limit the time they are connected together. I know other keep a disk at a friends / workplace etc.).




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gregg.Siam
Goldmember
Avatar
2,383 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Location: Bangkok
     
Apr 27, 2014 07:51 as a reply to  @ broadcast_techie's post |  #7

If you go the RAID route or NAS RAID, make sure you get enterprise drives made for raid. The reason being is you have time limited error control (TLER) in say a WD enterprise drive. Non-enterprise drives have it disabled by default.

TLER is enabled to prevent the drives error control time to not exceed the RAID controllers time. If it does, the drive is dropped from the array and needs to be manually added and synched.


5D MKIII | 24-105mm f/4 L| 50mm f/1.8 | 600EX-RT [FONT=Tahoma][COLOR=bl​ue][FONT="]|
∞ 500px (external link)
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rooeey
THREAD ­ STARTER
-Shorty-
Avatar
2,554 posts
Likes: 5
Joined May 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
     
Apr 28, 2014 05:22 |  #8

Learning a lot hear thanks peeps ..

Much appreciated


1D MK111 , 5D Classic,24-70F2.8, 16-35F2.8, 70-200F2.8 IS a 430EXII 2x 580EXII and a Mac...:cool:
http://s229.photobucke​t.com/albums/ee124/roo​eey/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TLN
Senior Member
284 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Sep 2009
     
Apr 28, 2014 09:44 |  #9

Get a NAS. Synology is one of the best.
Or, if don't mind paying more, get some more complicated thing, I recently got a HP microserver - amazing thing, way better then synology. But you need to know what you're buying it for.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Aronis
Member
Avatar
192 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 35
Joined Jan 2014
     
Apr 28, 2014 19:13 |  #10

I have an odd mix of back up drives.

IMac with SSD and 2TB hard disk backed up to...
Lacie 2big thunderbolt 3 tb RAID.
NAS 3tb single disk Seagate drive (works pretty well and you can access it remotely THROUGH Seagate's server, so the bot attacks go there, you can set up several access accounts)
Apple time capsule 2tb (primary network router, also remotely accessible)
Iomega 2 TB drive FireWire to a Mac Mini. Redundant backup of my aperture vault.
Windows huge gaming rig with two RAIDs (one is 3 TB AND the other 2 TB
Burned DVDs.

Just bought second Lacie 2big but the 8 TB model.

:)

Now I have to shoot more photos.

Mike


1Dx, 10D 28-70 L 2.8, 70-200 L 2.8 III, 50 1.4, 28 2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
phantelope
Goldmember
Avatar
1,889 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 40
Joined Sep 2008
Location: NorCal
     
Apr 28, 2014 19:20 |  #11

I have 4 external drives, two are backups of the other two. And one drive at my wife's work. But I also backup with crashplan. RAID and all the other options go a bit over my head and I have little interest in learning about them (boring) but I think my system should be fine. I import onto two drives and occasionally copy things over to the portable drive and everything updates automatically with crashplan. I let them figure out server banks and all that. Would do me no good if the house burns down or gets robbed anyway. Hopefully crashplan won't pack up the same night something happens here at home :-)


40D, 5D3, a bunch of lenses and other things :cool:

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lyle ­ Krannichfeld
Senior Member
397 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 124
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Kihei, HI
     
Apr 29, 2014 00:39 |  #12

I also use a Lacie 2big, the thunderbolt variety. No complaints, just wish it were faster (the thunderbolt is bottlenecked by the hard drives), but it's fast enough. I use the 2tb drives, and as they fill up I keep one off site.


Fine Art Landscape/Wildlife Photographer on Maui: INSTAGRAM (external link) FACEBOOK (external link)
Tonga tours to swim with the Humpbacks: AUMAKUA TOURS (external link)
Sony A7R III, 12-24G, 16-35GM, 50 1.4ZA, 85 1.4GM
DJI Inspire 2 with X7 and 16, 24, 35, 50

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,798 views & 0 likes for this thread
More storage but which one..
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is jabes001
738 guests, 339 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.