Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 19 May 2014 (Monday) 07:26
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon 6D Sync Speed with Elinchrom Skyport

 
dcooper
Mostly Lurking
16 posts
Joined Apr 2014
     
May 19, 2014 07:26 |  #1

Hi

I have a the Elinchrom D-Lite RX One set and I am thinking of buying a 6D for Product photography.

Does anybody please know what Sync speed you can get with the 6D and the Elinchrom Skyport trigger?

Thank you,

D.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
usdm
Member
Avatar
212 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 24
Joined Sep 2012
Location: Bklyn NY
     
May 19, 2014 09:18 |  #2

dcooper wrote in post #16914507 (external link)
Hi

I have a the Elinchrom D-Lite RX One set and I am thinking of buying a 6D for Product photography.

Does anybody please know what Sync speed you can get with the 6D and the Elinchrom Skyport trigger?

Thank you,

D.

Max is 1/160 to 1/180 on 6d


http://imagedphotograp​hy.com (external link)
Seeker of the "AH HA" moments....

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,187 posts
Gallery: 28 photos
Likes: 1312
Joined Dec 2006
     
May 19, 2014 09:28 |  #3

Sync speed shouldnt matter for product photography, but yes 160 is max on the 6D. The triggers should keep up.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dcooper
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
16 posts
Joined Apr 2014
     
May 19, 2014 10:55 as a reply to  @ gonzogolf's post |  #4

Thank you for your help guys.

My main concern if I buy this camera is the 1/180 Sync speed. Which as you said, should sync with the Skyport at 1/160.
If however, I can only get the perfect Sync at 1/125 (without any dark Shutter curtain areas in the frame) is 1/125 sync enough to block out ambient light in a room with curtains, but isn't pitch black, even if I stop the Aperture down?

The reason why I am asking is because up till now I have only used continuous lighting and window light, and when I bought my strobes, my camera wouldn't fire the Skyport. Which is one of many reasons why I am upgrading my camera.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,187 posts
Gallery: 28 photos
Likes: 1312
Joined Dec 2006
     
May 19, 2014 10:58 |  #5

To test it take a shot without the strobes at the sync speed. Unless you are pumping the ISO for no reason its unlikely that f8 at 1/100 would give much ambient contribution. if it does, then you have other things to work on, namely better curtains.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
OneyedJack
Member
Avatar
140 posts
Joined Dec 2009
Location: Eastern USA
     
May 19, 2014 12:41 |  #6

I have a 6D and use it with Elinchrom Skyport speed/BXRi lights. With the Skyport in standard mode, 1/160th is fine. 1/200th produces minor banding. Speed mode is no help on a 6D.It still produces banding at 1/200th, although less than in standard mode.

To get a 6D to operate at 1/180th I have to use a Canon speedlite. The 6D recognizes the speedlite and will change 1/200th to 1/180th automatically. I have no idea how to select 1/180th otherwise, particularly with 3rd party manual triggers like the Skyport.


5Dmk2 | 24-105f4 | 16-35f2.8 | 70-200f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
nathancarter
Cream of the Crop
5,474 posts
Gallery: 32 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 594
Joined Dec 2010
     
May 19, 2014 14:17 |  #7

With the 5D3, which has a similar-sized sensor, 1/160 is the fastest I can go with the Skyport Eco (and the Cactus V5, for that matter). 1/200 results in banding.

Except for shooting outdoors on a bright day, it's not an issue. ISO100 and 1/160 is enough to kill most indoor ambient unless you're using a very wide aperture.

In a room with curtains, you'll be fine even with a moderately wide aperture.


http://www.avidchick.c​om (external link) for business stuff
http://www.facebook.co​m/VictorVoyeur (external link) for fun stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dcooper
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
16 posts
Joined Apr 2014
     
May 20, 2014 03:50 as a reply to  @ nathancarter's post |  #8

Thank you for your help guys.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
btweller
Member
213 posts
Likes: 47
Joined Nov 2011
Location: Hickory Hills, IL
     
May 21, 2014 00:19 as a reply to  @ dcooper's post |  #9

To get to 1/180th with manual triggers, you have to change from 1/3 stop settings to 1/2 stop settings.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Left ­ Handed ­ Brisket
Combating camera shame since 1977...
Avatar
9,711 posts
Gallery: 14 photos
Likes: 2249
Joined Jun 2011
Location: The Uwharrie Mts, NC
     
May 21, 2014 06:46 |  #10

btweller wrote in post #16919042 (external link)
To get to 1/180th with manual triggers, you have to change from 1/3 stop settings to 1/2 stop settings.

Yup.

I see very little banding at 1/200 with my 6D and YN 622 II triggers. No black at all, just a bit of grey that takes up maybe 1/20th of the frame or less.


PSA: The above post may contain sarcasm, reply at your own risk | Not in gear database: Auto Sears 50mm 2.0 / 3x CL-360, Nikon SB-28, SunPak auto 322 D, Minolta 20

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Left ­ Handed ­ Brisket
Combating camera shame since 1977...
Avatar
9,711 posts
Gallery: 14 photos
Likes: 2249
Joined Jun 2011
Location: The Uwharrie Mts, NC
     
May 21, 2014 07:28 as a reply to  @ Left Handed Brisket's post |  #11

I was set up with a white board in front of my camera and with my 580 EX II and Nikon SB-28 in Qboxes, so I went ahead and did this little test. The pic pretty much explains it, except that the first of the 1/200 tests was the last shot before the batteries in the on-camera 622 died. When I replaced them the banding was actually a bit worse, weird.

I use one 75 watt incandescent bulb over my desk while shooting and there is a tiny bit of outside light coming in from 3 windows that have cardboard blocking most of the light. I also have a laptop and big external monitor on for tethered shooting. That gives plenty of light to move around and enough to read/write a few notes at my desk. At 1/160 f/8 ISO 200 (proper exposure for the current flash set up) I get pure black on this board. My desk is no more than 8 feet from the board but the light is basically on the same plane as the board (ie, not in front of it)

to tell the truth, even with my overhead fluorescent lights on, the board is still pitch black with those settings.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


PSA: The above post may contain sarcasm, reply at your own risk | Not in gear database: Auto Sears 50mm 2.0 / 3x CL-360, Nikon SB-28, SunPak auto 322 D, Minolta 20

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Left ­ Handed ­ Brisket
Combating camera shame since 1977...
Avatar
9,711 posts
Gallery: 14 photos
Likes: 2249
Joined Jun 2011
Location: The Uwharrie Mts, NC
     
May 21, 2014 07:47 as a reply to  @ Left Handed Brisket's post |  #12

lighting board "hat trick" !!!

dcooper wrote in post #16914903 (external link)
If however, I can only get the perfect Sync at 1/125 (without any dark Shutter curtain areas in the frame) is 1/125 sync enough to block out ambient light in a room with curtains, but isn't pitch black, even if I stop the Aperture down?

Did one more test for you, I don't see any sign of light under the shooting conditions outlined above until 1/60 f/1.8 ISO 200


PSA: The above post may contain sarcasm, reply at your own risk | Not in gear database: Auto Sears 50mm 2.0 / 3x CL-360, Nikon SB-28, SunPak auto 322 D, Minolta 20

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,187 posts
Gallery: 28 photos
Likes: 1312
Joined Dec 2006
     
May 21, 2014 09:00 |  #13

dcooper wrote in post #16914903 (external link)
Thank you for your help guys.

My main concern if I buy this camera is the 1/180 Sync speed. Which as you said, should sync with the Skyport at 1/160.
If however, I can only get the perfect Sync at 1/125 (without any dark Shutter curtain areas in the frame) is 1/125 sync enough to block out ambient light in a room with curtains, but isn't pitch black, even if I stop the Aperture down?

Once again, easy test for this. Take a shot at 1/125 at your expected aperture in the room you are going to shoot in. Is the frame dark? If yes, no problem. If no, work on better curtains. Twisting yourself in knots over sync speed in the studio is pointless, just drape a blanket over your windows and do your thing.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dcooper
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
16 posts
Joined Apr 2014
     
May 23, 2014 04:00 |  #14

hes gone wrote in post #16919477 (external link)
=he's gone;16919477]lighting board "hat trick" !!!

Did one more test for you, I don't see any sign of light under the shooting conditions outlined above until 1/60 f/1.8 ISO 200

Sorry, I haven't gotten back to you till now. Thank you very much for doing the tests for me. I really appreciate it. :D

Thank you all for your great replies and help.

D.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,232 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon 6D Sync Speed with Elinchrom Skyport
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is bushpilot
852 guests, 317 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.