Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 22 May 2014 (Thursday) 09:24
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Can you run 32gb RAM on a windows 7 setup?

 
Canon_Shoe
Goldmember
Avatar
1,311 posts
Gallery: 26 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 549
Joined Jan 2012
Location: Kihei, HI
     
May 22, 2014 09:24 |  #1

I've heard windows 7 only uses 16gb RAM, but is that true if you get windows 7 ultimate? Trying to configure a Desktop and I really don't want to use windows 8


Facebook-- http://www.facebook.co​m/AndrewShoemakerPhoto​graphy (external link)
Website----http://andrewshoemaker​photography.com/ (external link)
Nikon D810, Nikon 14-24, Nikon 24-70 F/2.8 VR, Nikon 70-200 VR II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Bad ­ Habit
Goldmember
Avatar
2,102 posts
Gallery: 53 photos
Likes: 157
Joined Apr 2011
Location: If I'm not here, I must be someplace else
     
May 22, 2014 09:33 |  #2

You have to have Win 7 Professional, then you can go up to 192Gb, as long as the motherboard will support it. Win 7 Home Premium only supports 16Gb. 64 bit versions


JR / flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Canon_Shoe
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,311 posts
Gallery: 26 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 549
Joined Jan 2012
Location: Kihei, HI
     
May 22, 2014 09:40 |  #3

Nice, thanks! So if I build it with 32gb RAM and Win 7 Pro, it can use it all right?


Facebook-- http://www.facebook.co​m/AndrewShoemakerPhoto​graphy (external link)
Website----http://andrewshoemaker​photography.com/ (external link)
Nikon D810, Nikon 14-24, Nikon 24-70 F/2.8 VR, Nikon 70-200 VR II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
solepatch
Goldmember
Avatar
1,202 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 125
Joined Jun 2012
Location: Lexington Ky
     
May 22, 2014 09:50 |  #4

I have 7 Ultimate and am currently using 32Gb very happily.


Aaron
Canon 6D | 70D | Σ35 F/1.4A | Tamron 24-70 F/2.8 Di VC USD | 40 F/2.8 | 85 F/1.8 | 70-210 F/3.5-4.5 | Rokinon 14 F/2.8 | 430ex ii | YN-622C | Zoom H4N
Canon EOS M | 22 F/2 Pancake | C/Y Zeiss 50 F/1.4 t*

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bad ­ Habit
Goldmember
Avatar
2,102 posts
Gallery: 53 photos
Likes: 157
Joined Apr 2011
Location: If I'm not here, I must be someplace else
     
May 22, 2014 09:51 |  #5

As long as the BIOS on the Motherboard can see and use it, yes.


JR / flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
50,029 posts
Gallery: 161 photos
Likes: 6756
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
May 22, 2014 10:53 |  #6

So, summing it up, you need the correct 64 bit version of the OS, and you need to be sure your motherboard will support it/the density of RAM sticks you need to achieve it.

Here are the upper RAM limits for the different editions of 64 bit Windows 7:
(note: all 32 bit versions top off at 4GB)

Starter: 8GB
Home Basic: 8GB
Home Premium: 16GB
Professional: 192GB
Enterprise: 192GB
Ultimate: 192GB

Now the 198 number is actually not a hard limit, where as the lower numbers are, they actually cripple the OS to disallow using more RAM.


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
morph2_7
Goldmember
1,112 posts
Joined Sep 2012
Location: Los Angeles
     
May 22, 2014 11:48 |  #7

CyberDyneSystems wrote in post #16922361 (external link)
Here are the upper RAM limits for the different editions of 64 bit Windows 7:
(note: all 32 bit versions top off at 4GB)

Starter: 8GB
Home Basic: 8GB
Home Premium: 16GB
Professional: 192GB
Enterprise: 192GB
Ultimate: 192GB

(slightly off topic)
All correct except Starter edition which only recognizes 2GB (32bit). There's no 64 bit Starter edition.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Canon_Shoe
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,311 posts
Gallery: 26 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 549
Joined Jan 2012
Location: Kihei, HI
     
May 22, 2014 13:09 |  #8

Very nice! Great info as usual everyone, thank you!


Facebook-- http://www.facebook.co​m/AndrewShoemakerPhoto​graphy (external link)
Website----http://andrewshoemaker​photography.com/ (external link)
Nikon D810, Nikon 14-24, Nikon 24-70 F/2.8 VR, Nikon 70-200 VR II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

957 views & 0 likes for this thread
Can you run 32gb RAM on a windows 7 setup?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is gardenchefs
1123 guests, 355 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.