Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 23 May 2014 (Friday) 06:07
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

How to change folder name?

 
Photo123abc
Member
236 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Dec 2012
Location: Finland
     
May 23, 2014 06:07 |  #1

Ive been shooting recently with two cameras and I wonder how can I change folder name on 6D so I can have both cameras files on separate folders in the same card. Or is this even possible in-camera? I cant find it anywhere on the menu.


You are what you eat - I dont remember eating a photographer.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,114 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 335
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
May 23, 2014 06:18 |  #2

Do you intend to move the same card from one camera to the other?
It's not too smart, since each time you insert a card with images on it in the camera, the camera will start the indexing procedure, and if there are quite a few images, this process takes a long time to complete.

But all cameras allow the creation of a new folder, so the 6D does that too. Then some cameras allow you to choose which folder to use, not just the most recently created. The 7D supports this, so I presume the 6D does too, but I haven't checked.

You can probably set different file names for the cameras too (the 7D supports it, at least), so that pictures taken will not be called IMG_0123, IMG_0124 etc., but A6D_0123 from one camera and B6D_0124 from the other, for example.

Significantly smarter and easier is using one card in each camera, and then decide at upload time how you want to store the images in your computer. Together, separated or whatever.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Photo123abc
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
236 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Dec 2012
Location: Finland
     
May 23, 2014 06:45 as a reply to  @ apersson850's post |  #3

My intention was to copy files from camera to my laptop for storage until I come back from my trip (I go photograph brown bears soon for a 4 day trip) if camera could rename folder it would be easier for me to keep things organised until I can place them to my hard drive.

But still cant find it in the menu? Can some one tell me how to do it step-by-step?

I can create new folder but cant rename it, its just 100CANON or 101CANON etc.
Can I change this for example: 101CANON-6D etc. or to change filename. But how? :confused:


You are what you eat - I dont remember eating a photographer.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
9,446 posts
Likes: 894
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
May 23, 2014 07:06 |  #4

Photo123abc wrote in post #16924240 (external link)
My intention was to copy files from camera to my laptop for storage until I come back from my trip (I go photograph brown bears soon for a 4 day trip) if camera could rename folder it would be easier for me to keep things organised until I can place them to my hard drive.

Why not use the EOS Utility to accomplish the transfer? The software sets up a folder structure based on date using a format of yyyy-mm-dd.

The points made by "apersson850" are important, so you should carefully review them and the ramifications. Beyond that review pages 160 and 161 of the manual for the procedure to set up and use a specific folder.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,114 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 335
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
May 23, 2014 09:03 as a reply to  @ John from PA's post |  #5

With EOS Utility you can set it up to rename the files in just about any way you like, when doing the transfer. Easy to program different handling for files from different cameras, or moving the files to different folders on the laptop. That would accomplish the same thing.

How do yo intend to transfer the images? By cable or by moving the card? Even if you move the card you can easily lift the images to different destination folders, to keep them separated.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rrblint
Listen! .... do you smell something?
Avatar
22,242 posts
Gallery: 38 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 1569
Joined May 2012
Location: U.S.A.
     
May 23, 2014 10:19 as a reply to  @ apersson850's post |  #6

You can create names for folders(according to the prescribed theme: ###ABC_D), but only using a computer to do so. However the card can then be placed in and used in the camera afterward. According to the manual:


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Mark

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
svarley
Senior Member
Avatar
592 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Mar 2009
Location: LA, CA
     
May 23, 2014 11:43 |  #7

SD cards are the cheapest things you put in your camera, just keep the card in camera. It really makes no sense to move cards between cameras and in fact, Canon recommends formatting a card that has been used in a difference camera (although I know you can do it)

What are you trying to accomplish by only using one card?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
50,101 posts
Gallery: 161 photos
Likes: 6818
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
May 23, 2014 20:13 |  #8

So have we concluded that 6D can not do this in camera?
1Ds can, and so can 5DIII. Not sure about 6D.


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RayinAlaska
Senior Member
425 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 39
Joined Sep 2013
Location: Alaska's interior
     
May 23, 2014 20:24 |  #9

The OP can change any of the folders to dates or names using the EOS software used to download the photos to the computer, or with any of the Adobe photo downloaders. The name (or date) can be changed just before downloading the photos.

He should also be able to change the folder name or date once the photos are downloaded to the computer. I don't know how to do this on a PC, but on the Mac all you have to do is to select the folder's name or date (with the mouse's button to insert the text tool or cursor), and then type whatever you want.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 545
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
May 23, 2014 20:46 |  #10

My 5DC body has a "Select folder" menu choice if you scroll down (you can also use it to create a new folder), it's below the "File numbering" menu item. But, my 30D doesn't have this function. I don't know what newer cameras have it! The problem with creating a folder in the computer is that if the camera does not have a "select folder" function then, well, you can't do it!

For what I do, I don't "share" cards between cameras. If I do switch a card over, I'll Format it in the camera to make sure that everything is "compatible", but doing so would erase files from another camera. I pack spare cards, so I don't have to bother with that (among other things)!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Preeb
Goldmember
Avatar
2,600 posts
Gallery: 102 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 673
Joined Sep 2011
Location: Logan County, CO
     
May 24, 2014 08:27 as a reply to  @ tonylong's post |  #11

Maybe I'm confused, but are you using one card for both cameras? If so, why? Why not have a card for each, then you can download each to a different folder on the computer.

I can't imagine anything that would make me swap one card between cameras unless all but one card failed while I was out of touch with anyplace to buy a new one. I generally carry at least 4 cards, and I only have one body. For my 17 day trip to Africa this fall I plan on having at least 6 cards with me, and plan on changing them every couple of days so that if anything fails, I only lose 2 or 3 days worth of shooting (I can't download anything while on the trip as weight limitations don't allow taking my laptop with me).


Rick
6D Mark II - EF 17-40 f4 L -- EF 100mm f2.8 L IS Macro -- EF 70-200 f4 L IS w/1.4 II TC

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Photo123abc
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
236 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Dec 2012
Location: Finland
     
May 24, 2014 11:36 |  #12

I do use individual cards for each camera. I have 7 cards now and last time they were full in 2 days. Triedto create folders in my laptop to the card, didnt work. 6D still makes folder called 100CANON and places images there.

Point of having diffrent filenames / folders is because I am going to empty my memory cards to the laptop while shooting at the same time. I dont have time to rename them all the time on my laptop.


You are what you eat - I dont remember eating a photographer.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
50,101 posts
Gallery: 161 photos
Likes: 6818
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
May 24, 2014 23:34 |  #13

Preeb wrote in post #16926671 (external link)
...

I can't imagine anything that would make me swap one card between cameras ...

To be honest, I can't imagine anything that would make me be on top of keeping track enough to know one way or the other.
I have several bodies and dozens of cards. It would never occur to me to try and keep them segregated to specific bodies.


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Preeb
Goldmember
Avatar
2,600 posts
Gallery: 102 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 673
Joined Sep 2011
Location: Logan County, CO
     
May 25, 2014 07:14 |  #14

CyberDyneSystems wrote in post #16928163 (external link)
To be honest, I can't imagine anything that would make me be on top of keeping track enough to know one way or the other.
I have several bodies and dozens of cards. It would never occur to me to try and keep them segregated to specific bodies.

I wasn't meaning that you never use a card for a different camera body, only that you remove the images and reformat before doing so. The way the OP was stated, it really sounded like he was thinking of using one card between two bodies during a single shoot without downloading the photos. That was the only reason I could think of for his needing to change the folder name in camera. Otherwise you just download the images to a folder you create and name on your computer, so why does the folder have to be named anything in particular on the camera. I don't download the folder from the camera, only the photos. I still don't know what the OP is getting at.


Rick
6D Mark II - EF 17-40 f4 L -- EF 100mm f2.8 L IS Macro -- EF 70-200 f4 L IS w/1.4 II TC

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,114 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 335
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
May 26, 2014 03:31 as a reply to  @ Preeb's post |  #15

I have folders with different names on my card, and select a certain folder prior to shooting. Provided I remember, that is.

Since I sometimes use my camera for things at work, I have a folder for that. It makes it a lot easier to locate shots related to work, taken in between shots related to completely different things. But it's not to distinguish between different hardware, but between different file content.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

8,834 views & 0 likes for this thread
How to change folder name?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Crazeenick
707 guests, 332 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.