Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 24 May 2014 (Saturday) 20:15
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

TAM 150-600 or C100-400+1.4 Ex

 
patrol50
Senior Member
416 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 145
Joined Apr 2014
Location: Brisbane Australia
     
May 24, 2014 20:15 |  #1

Hi all - have a tam 150-600 on order here for the last couple of months and may see it sometime in june so would be interested to hear from any unhappy users ( seems to be lots of happy new owners out there though) plan is to use it on my 7d (or a 7d mk 11 in the future if it ever happens)

Also wondering if has any one done any true comparisons against the Canon 100 - 400 with and with out a 1.4 Ext at the same ISO; same Av ;same Tv and same focal lgth on a tripod - particular say at 550 /560 be very interesting to see it

cheers and thanks rob


C:- 7D Mk11 ; 7Dc ; 600D & SX10 IS / L:- EFS 10-22 f3.5-4.5 USM ; 55-250 f4-5.6 IS 11; 18 -200 f3.5-5.6 IS ; & EF 16- 35 f4 L IS USM , 24-105 f4 L IS USM; 70-200 f4 L IS USM; 100-400 f4.5-5.6 L IS 1 USM (V1 and V11); + C 1.4 Ext Mk3 & Tam 150 - 600 f5-6.3 DI VC USD.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
jbrackjr
Senior Member
481 posts
Likes: 35
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Georgia, USA
     
May 24, 2014 21:01 |  #2

They are both very good! I have had my 100-400 for about 3 years now and am very happy with it. My copy does not work well with the 1.4TC that I have. The Tamron is as sharp as my 100-400 and of course it goes to 600mm, which is great.

I intend on keeping both, as the 100-400 is not as heavy and shorter, so when traveling it is much more convenient. It fits in my Domke F3x. I haven't found a bag I like yet to carry the Tamron. Still looking.

Oh and the Tamron works pretty good with my 1.4TC....go figure.


Jim
Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
patrol50
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
416 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 145
Joined Apr 2014
Location: Brisbane Australia
     
May 24, 2014 23:46 as a reply to  @ jbrackjr's post |  #3

thanks jim for your reply - yes from what I have read to date they seem very close in performance at 200 - 400 focal lengths but of course the tam goes to 550 /600 I reckon my 100 -400 with the 1.4 E111 on it is pretty good at 560 (but no af so the tam will have an advantage ther ) so it will be interesting to compare when I finally get the tam 150 - 600 - still waiting !!!

and yes I have a 1.4 ex 11 and it is bit disappointing on my 100 - 400 -but my 1.4 E 111 is very good on it and both are good on my 70 - 200 f4 = combinations are always a bit of try it and see if it works I guess
cheers rob

ps - I use a lowepro pro runner 350 aw to carry my gear when I travel so hoping the tam fits up the centre section of that ok


C:- 7D Mk11 ; 7Dc ; 600D & SX10 IS / L:- EFS 10-22 f3.5-4.5 USM ; 55-250 f4-5.6 IS 11; 18 -200 f3.5-5.6 IS ; & EF 16- 35 f4 L IS USM , 24-105 f4 L IS USM; 70-200 f4 L IS USM; 100-400 f4.5-5.6 L IS 1 USM (V1 and V11); + C 1.4 Ext Mk3 & Tam 150 - 600 f5-6.3 DI VC USD.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
49,933 posts
Gallery: 161 photos
Likes: 6674
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
May 25, 2014 00:31 |  #4

Do not, DO NOT try to rely on a teleconverter with the 100-400mm zoom.

Cropping is better in most cases.

You will lose all AF on a 7D or 600D

IQ with zooms other than the 70-200mm diminishes quickly.


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Clemnacious
Hatchling
8 posts
Joined Jan 2014
     
May 25, 2014 01:00 |  #5

I owned the Tamron 150-600mm and used it with my 7D and 5DMK3. I also still own the 100-400mm, and have used it for tens of thousands of shots over the past five years.
I returned the Tamron after a couple of weeks and a thousand shots because it did not track BIFs or simple action with the 7D with any kind of reliability. This is a known issue. I found that it didn't work very well, especially compared with the 100-400L, on action shots with the 5DMK3 as well.
That said, on static subjects, the lens was quite good with both cameras, and a real bargain if that is all you have requirements for.
I really wanted to like the lens as I thought the build quality was very good as well, the weight was manageable, and the general interface was very acceptable.
I am hoping that Tamron fixes this issue, and have a preorder sitting with a vendor with the expectation that the seemingly long delay in getting these lenses out to dealers is somehow related to a fix being implemented.
So I will be doing what I did and I recommend you do the same. You will know pretty quick if the lens is misbehaving with your 7D. I don't like messing with TCs on zooms much, especially relatively slow ones like the 100-400L.
There really aren't many viable higher quality low-budget options beyond 400mm, so I can see where the Tamron hits the sweet spot. I rented a 400mm DO which alone produced images superior to the 100-400mm, but not enough to make me flip for a purchase. I also tested it with the latest 1.4x Canon Extender vIII and was disappointed with the lagging performance for BIFs.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
patrol50
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
416 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 145
Joined Apr 2014
Location: Brisbane Australia
     
May 25, 2014 02:25 |  #6

CyberDyneSystems wrote in post #16928226 (external link)
Do not, DO NOT try to rely on a teleconverter with the 100-400mm zoom.

Cropping is better in most cases.

You will lose all AF on a 7D or 600D

IQ with zooms other than the 70-200mm diminishes quickly.

thanks jake and yes of course you are perfectly right - i can get it to af on both the 600d centre point only and the 7 d side points only but only with the tapped pins on the 1.4 ext but accept its not a great option i guess ( bloody canon why not just do a firmware fix to allow at least the 7d to af at f8 ) - although the tapped pins does work at a pinch and about 2 / 3 rds of the shots are pretty ok with a few very, very good at the 560 or thereabouts

To be honest would enjoy using some of the lenses in you gear mate - bit out of my budget though !!
---------------

thanks clem appreciate the feedback and very interesting comments - like you i am waiting to see if they tamron have applied a af fix or two to the 150 - 600 may well have ben part of the hold up ( apparently the Aus wholesaler has 500 outstanding pre orders for the lens at this time from camera shops , some of those will be double ups of course but that still a lot ) - i dont do a real lot of on wing bird stuff but do quite a lot of wildlife both here in aus and also in africa and they do tend to move around a bit and quite fast at times so a good af helps

cheers rob


C:- 7D Mk11 ; 7Dc ; 600D & SX10 IS / L:- EFS 10-22 f3.5-4.5 USM ; 55-250 f4-5.6 IS 11; 18 -200 f3.5-5.6 IS ; & EF 16- 35 f4 L IS USM , 24-105 f4 L IS USM; 70-200 f4 L IS USM; 100-400 f4.5-5.6 L IS 1 USM (V1 and V11); + C 1.4 Ext Mk3 & Tam 150 - 600 f5-6.3 DI VC USD.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
37,004 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5834
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
May 25, 2014 06:00 |  #7

Rob, have you considered the sigma 50-500 os?

IMAGE: http://teamspeed.smugmug.com/Animals/In-the-Wild-Yonder/i-672HHG4/0/XL/CNG_2847-XL.jpg

IMAGE: http://teamspeed.smugmug.com/Animals/In-the-Wild-Yonder/i-2gBHfsF/0/X2/5P1B0424-X2.jpg

Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: 2x Teleconverter
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
patrol50
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
416 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 145
Joined Apr 2014
Location: Brisbane Australia
     
May 26, 2014 03:04 as a reply to  @ TeamSpeed's post |  #8

hi team speed - yes mate I was looking at it and the canon 300 f 4 and 400 f5.6 before the tamron 150- 600 came out to be honest but eased off after reading a few pretty good first up reviews about the tamron and a couple of iffy reviews about the sigma 50 - 500 when used at over 300 / 400 - but may take another look now - as those shots of yours do look pretty good
cheers rob

ps I do like to have IS even if it gives just one stop advantage as so much of what I do is off hand or perhaps with a monopod - if the c 400 f 5.6 had is I would definitely have bought it long ago


C:- 7D Mk11 ; 7Dc ; 600D & SX10 IS / L:- EFS 10-22 f3.5-4.5 USM ; 55-250 f4-5.6 IS 11; 18 -200 f3.5-5.6 IS ; & EF 16- 35 f4 L IS USM , 24-105 f4 L IS USM; 70-200 f4 L IS USM; 100-400 f4.5-5.6 L IS 1 USM (V1 and V11); + C 1.4 Ext Mk3 & Tam 150 - 600 f5-6.3 DI VC USD.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
watt100
Cream of the Crop
14,021 posts
Likes: 29
Joined Jun 2008
     
May 26, 2014 05:11 |  #9

patrol50 wrote in post #16927836 (external link)
Hi all - have a tam 150-600 on order here for the last couple of months and may see it sometime in june so would be interested to hear from any unhappy users ( seems to be lots of happy new owners out there though) plan is to use it on my 7d (or a 7d mk 11 in the future if it ever happens)

Also wondering if has any one done any true comparisons against the Canon 100 - 400 with and with out a 1.4 Ext at the same ISO; same Av ;same Tv and same focal lgth on a tripod - particular say at 550 /560 be very interesting to see it

cheers and thanks rob

haven't done comparisons but I agree, don't use a teleconverter /extender with the 100-400 -- crop the image for extra "reach"

60D
Canon 100-400

IMAGE: http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5447/9718080666_52105875fc_b.jpg



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
patrol50
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
416 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 145
Joined Apr 2014
Location: Brisbane Australia
     
May 27, 2014 03:50 |  #10

watt100 wrote in post #16930621 (external link)
haven't done comparisons but I agree, don't use a teleconverter /extender with the 100-400 -- crop the image for extra "reach"

60D
Canon 100-400

QUOTED IMAGE

very sharp - it must be good un your 100 - 400 as some are - mine is also !!
cheers rob


C:- 7D Mk11 ; 7Dc ; 600D & SX10 IS / L:- EFS 10-22 f3.5-4.5 USM ; 55-250 f4-5.6 IS 11; 18 -200 f3.5-5.6 IS ; & EF 16- 35 f4 L IS USM , 24-105 f4 L IS USM; 70-200 f4 L IS USM; 100-400 f4.5-5.6 L IS 1 USM (V1 and V11); + C 1.4 Ext Mk3 & Tam 150 - 600 f5-6.3 DI VC USD.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
patrol50
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
416 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 145
Joined Apr 2014
Location: Brisbane Australia
     
May 27, 2014 03:52 |  #11

so it seems part of the current big delay time for the tam 150 - 600 may have something to do with an FW upgrade to fix the sometimes hit or miss AF issue - that's ok I for one am happy to wait !!
cheers rob


C:- 7D Mk11 ; 7Dc ; 600D & SX10 IS / L:- EFS 10-22 f3.5-4.5 USM ; 55-250 f4-5.6 IS 11; 18 -200 f3.5-5.6 IS ; & EF 16- 35 f4 L IS USM , 24-105 f4 L IS USM; 70-200 f4 L IS USM; 100-400 f4.5-5.6 L IS 1 USM (V1 and V11); + C 1.4 Ext Mk3 & Tam 150 - 600 f5-6.3 DI VC USD.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jhayesvw
Cream of the Crop
7,230 posts
Gallery: 167 photos
Likes: 268
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Tucson AZ
     
May 29, 2014 11:21 |  #12

I have a Canon 100-400 and really like it. It appears to be a sharp
copy. However. The draw of an optical 600mm has me very interested.

I may have to rent the Tamron in a few months when they're all updated
And compare them side by side. My 100-400 is pretty good cropped heavily.



My Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
37,004 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5834
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
May 29, 2014 16:53 |  #13

We went to the zoo, and I put the Kenko 1.4x on the Sigma. These are out of camera pics, with a tiny bit of smart sharpening. AF worked great on the 5D3. Not bad for 700mm.... :)

IMAGE: http://teamspeed.smugmug.com/Animals/In-the-Wild-Yonder/i-vLPqnNW/0/XL/5P1B9734-XL.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://teamspeed.smugm​ug.com …23143&k=vLPqnNW​&lb=1&s=X3  (external link)

IMAGE: http://teamspeed.smugmug.com/Animals/In-the-Wild-Yonder/i-dckPqkD/0/XL/5P1B9656-XL.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://teamspeed.smugm​ug.com …23314&k=dckPqkD​&lb=1&s=X3  (external link)

IMAGE: http://teamspeed.smugmug.com/Animals/In-the-Wild-Yonder/i-fM8PFFX/0/XL/5P1B9747-XL.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://teamspeed.smugm​ug.com …23434&k=fM8PFFX​&lb=1&s=X3  (external link)

IMAGE: http://teamspeed.smugmug.com/Animals/In-the-Wild-Yonder/i-tbqPjPB/0/XL/5P1B9730-XL.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://teamspeed.smugm​ug.com …23369&k=tbqPjPB​&lb=1&s=X3  (external link)

IMAGE: http://teamspeed.smugmug.com/Animals/In-the-Wild-Yonder/i-Nrv3R4w/0/X2/5P1B9663-X2.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://teamspeed.smugm​ug.com …70181&k=Nrv3R4w​&lb=1&s=X3  (external link)

I believe I had the TC off for this shot, and was lucky, all my other ones weren't in focus, and I realized I was in a setting where I had set it to One Shot. That doesn't work with penguins. :)

IMAGE: http://teamspeed.smugmug.com/Animals/In-the-Wild-Yonder/i-9kBL5dQ/0/XL/5P1B9704-XL.jpg
IMAGE LINK: http://teamspeed.smugm​ug.com …55661&k=9kBL5dQ​&lb=1&s=X3  (external link)

Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: 2x Teleconverter
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gocolts
Goldmember
1,246 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Oct 2010
     
May 29, 2014 20:54 |  #14

TeamSpeed wrote in post #16938877 (external link)
We went to the zoo, and I put the Kenko 1.4x on the Sigma. These are out of camera pics, with a tiny bit of smart sharpening. AF worked great on the 5D3. Not bad for 700mm.... :)

QUOTED IMAGE
IMAGE LINK: http://teamspeed.smugm​ug.com …23143&k=vLPqnNW​&lb=1&s=X3  (external link)

QUOTED IMAGE
IMAGE LINK: http://teamspeed.smugm​ug.com …23314&k=dckPqkD​&lb=1&s=X3  (external link)

QUOTED IMAGE
IMAGE LINK: http://teamspeed.smugm​ug.com …23434&k=fM8PFFX​&lb=1&s=X3  (external link)

QUOTED IMAGE
IMAGE LINK: http://teamspeed.smugm​ug.com …23369&k=tbqPjPB​&lb=1&s=X3  (external link)

http://teamspeed.smugm​ug.com …70181&k=Nrv3R4w​&lb=1&s=X3 (external link)

I believe I had the TC off for this shot, and was lucky, all my other ones weren't in focus, and I realized I was in a setting where I had set it to One Shot. That doesn't work with penguins. :)

http://teamspeed.smugm​ug.com …55661&k=9kBL5dQ​&lb=1&s=X3 (external link)

The Sigma maxes at f/6.3, correct? What did the 5D3 claim the aperture was with the 1.4TC on that it autofocused ok?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
37,004 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 5834
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
May 29, 2014 21:21 |  #15

The 5D3 will AF at f8, but I also had the pins taped.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: 2x Teleconverter
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,622 views & 0 likes for this thread
TAM 150-600 or C100-400+1.4 Ex
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is xemlicham
970 guests, 202 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.