Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 26 May 2014 (Monday) 16:57
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Need Help Quick!!! Plz

 
usaftrevor87
Member
152 posts
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Twin Cities, MN
     
May 26, 2014 16:57 |  #1

Okay; so I'm having some issues.
When in Modes: AV, P, Auto, etc... basically any setting where the exposure time is automatically set for you it flashes (30") even though it's bright as can be outside & a 30 second exposure isn't needed.
I have no idea what is going on and googled the issue and can't seem to find any information about this.

Anyone have any suggestions? I am on an anniversary vacation to the shores of Lake Superior and missed quite a few quick shots because it says I need a 30 second exposure when I don't.

Sometimes I turn it off for 10 seconds or take the battery out and put it back in and it corrects itself and goes back to normal for the bright conditions, but not always. Now it seems like it's stuck on 30 second exposure unless I put it in Manual.

Someone help....


Canon 5d mkiii _ Canon 7d _ 70-200 f/2.8 L IS I _ 50mm Compact Macro _ 17-40 f/4L_ 50mm f/1.4 _ 85mm f/1.8_ 580 ex _

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
usaftrevor87
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
152 posts
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Twin Cities, MN
     
May 26, 2014 17:01 |  #2

Forgot to say; I tried the "reset to factory" settings and the other customize reset function and this did not help.

I'm PO'd! :evil:


Canon 5d mkiii _ Canon 7d _ 70-200 f/2.8 L IS I _ 50mm Compact Macro _ 17-40 f/4L_ 50mm f/1.4 _ 85mm f/1.8_ 580 ex _

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
losangelino
Senior Member
Avatar
935 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 178
Joined Jul 2012
     
May 26, 2014 17:25 |  #3

This may sound stupid but is lens cap on?



Flickr (external link)
IG: @lensesandwheels (external link)cars | @photomagicology (external link) portraits
website: ClothesAndDagger.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MalVeauX
"Looks rough and well used"
Avatar
13,228 posts
Gallery: 1648 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 10413
Joined Feb 2013
Location: Florida
     
May 26, 2014 17:25 |  #4

Take the lens cap off.

Very best,


My Flickr (external link) :: My Astrobin (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FerozeK
Senior Member
Avatar
250 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Apr 2012
Location: JHB, South Africa
     
May 26, 2014 17:27 |  #5

Had that happen to me once, I was shooting upwards and the flash slipped a bit out of the shoe (forgot to lock it in) worked fine after I put the flash in properly




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
usaftrevor87
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
152 posts
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Twin Cities, MN
     
May 26, 2014 17:39 |  #6

losangelino wrote in post #16931934 (external link)
This may sound stupid but is lens cap on?

haha I'm not an idiot :p

I was taking photos in AV just fine... Then all of a sudden I turn it on and it flashes 30" that a 30 second exposure is needed (even though it's not needed)
So I clicked it anyways just to see what happens and the AF works just fine and then it exposes for 30 seconds and at the end of the exposure there is a bright white picture.

I'm not using a flash either...

I don't get it! Someone has to know...


Canon 5d mkiii _ Canon 7d _ 70-200 f/2.8 L IS I _ 50mm Compact Macro _ 17-40 f/4L_ 50mm f/1.4 _ 85mm f/1.8_ 580 ex _

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
How do I change this?
Avatar
14,562 posts
Likes: 7761
Joined Oct 2009
     
May 26, 2014 17:49 |  #7

EXIF data please.


Image Editing OK

Website (external link) ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MalVeauX
"Looks rough and well used"
Avatar
13,228 posts
Gallery: 1648 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 10413
Joined Feb 2013
Location: Florida
     
May 26, 2014 17:49 |  #8

Heya,

Do you have another lens to test?

Very best,


My Flickr (external link) :: My Astrobin (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Box ­ Brownie
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,186 posts
Likes: 22
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Surrey
     
May 26, 2014 17:52 |  #9

Daft question? But does the same also happen with another lens...............I am thinking a comms error (without an ERR code) between body & lens???

If not that, did you do a full reset that is done by also, AFAIK, taking out the date/data backup button battery???


That was a great meal ~ you must have a good set of pans :p
Images for a photographic memory (external link) | Flickr (external link) | >>>My 500px<<< (external link)
credit line is vanity, payment is sanity

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
9,066 posts
Likes: 776
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
May 26, 2014 17:58 |  #10

MalVeauX wrote in post #16931982 (external link)
Heya,

Do you have another lens to test?

Very best,

The profile shows a 5DIII and a 7D plus multiple lenses. Which camera is acting up and try another lens.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MalVeauX
"Looks rough and well used"
Avatar
13,228 posts
Gallery: 1648 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 10413
Joined Feb 2013
Location: Florida
     
May 26, 2014 18:01 |  #11

John from PA wrote in post #16932006 (external link)
The profile shows a 5DIII and a 7D plus multiple lenses.

He's on an anniversary trip. Doesn't mean he has all his lenses in his bag on his hip.

Very best,


My Flickr (external link) :: My Astrobin (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
9,066 posts
Likes: 776
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
May 26, 2014 18:05 |  #12

MalVeauX wrote in post #16932014 (external link)
He's on an anniversary trip. Doesn't mean he has all his lenses in his bag on his hip.

Very best,

We will never known if we don't ask! He is also from Twin Cities and visiting Lake Superior so likely driving and not limited by weight or space.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BrickR
Cream of the Crop
5,935 posts
Likes: 114
Joined Mar 2011
Location: Dallas TX
     
May 26, 2014 19:41 |  #13

Take off the lens and look through it. Does it look like the blades might be stuck stopped down (stuck in f22 or something like that?


My junk
The grass isn't greener on the other side, it's green where you water it.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
usaftrevor87
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
152 posts
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Twin Cities, MN
     
May 26, 2014 20:30 |  #14

BrickR wrote in post #16932223 (external link)
Take off the lens and look through it. Does it look like the blades might be stuck stopped down (stuck in f22 or something like that?

Hey Everyone,

Thanks for all the help. As an update:

Have 2 lenses with me
Tamron 24-70 2.8 vc
Canon 17-40 Lseries
on my Canon 6D (I haven't updated my signature line in a while haha)

It also happened with the 17-40
I turned the GPS on and took the battery out about 40 minutes ago to do a full battery drain. I put the lens back on (Tamron) and now it seems to be working... We'll see for how long. Its sooo weird. Works fine in Manual mode; it only messes up on the setting where it automatically chooses the shutter speed...
So weird...

Headin out again for the evening. Thanks for all the help... ***Fingers Crossed***


Canon 5d mkiii _ Canon 7d _ 70-200 f/2.8 L IS I _ 50mm Compact Macro _ 17-40 f/4L_ 50mm f/1.4 _ 85mm f/1.8_ 580 ex _

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 542
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
May 26, 2014 20:44 |  #15

Well, if nobody else has had that same problem and if it happens with different lenses, it could be that the camera is simply misbehaving and would need to be checked out by the Canon Service folks!

The challenge, though, is if it is an intermittent problem that the Canon folks can't get to repeat...


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,228 views & 0 likes for this thread
Need Help Quick!!! Plz
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is kumarrahul123
1972 guests, 228 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.