Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 28 May 2014 (Wednesday) 12:40
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Issue with the 1DX - No shutter half press, no beep

 
Gel
Goldmember
Avatar
1,118 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Sep 2009
Location: Brighton , East Sussex
     
May 28, 2014 12:40 |  #1

Weirdest thing. 1DX comes back from CPS with back button AF enabled.

Put AF and exposure on to the shutter button again but I've lost the half press. It just focuses and shoots immediately. For example, I can't focus and recompose, it just shoots.

I'm a bit stumped, can anyone help? Essentially I cannot get focus lock. It just focuses and fires away.


Chris Giles Photography

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
rrblint
Listen! .... do you smell something?
Avatar
20,907 posts
Gallery: 38 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 1447
Joined May 2012
Location: U.S.A.
     
May 28, 2014 13:23 |  #2

It must be in Servo AF mode.


Mark

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gel
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,118 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Sep 2009
Location: Brighton , East Sussex
     
May 28, 2014 13:43 as a reply to  @ rrblint's post |  #3

No it's in one shot af.


Chris Giles Photography

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
29,002 posts
Likes: 986
Joined Dec 2006
     
May 28, 2014 14:00 |  #4

I dont know about the 1Dx, but there are lots of permutations on other canon models. When you go to the menu that assigns the custom function anything that occurs on either side of the slash goes that button. Perhaps you just need to select another setting.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
puttick
Senior Member
Avatar
809 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 18
Joined Mar 2002
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
     
May 28, 2014 17:30 |  #5

Try a factory reset. Sounds like its in Servo AF or AI mode despite what you say it's set to. Factory reset may clear it, and will certainly resolve any confusion. Had to do this once with my 5D3. Good luck, if not, back to CPS.


Nigel Puttick
North Yorkshire, UK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gel
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,118 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Sep 2009
Location: Brighton , East Sussex
     
May 28, 2014 18:04 as a reply to  @ puttick's post |  #6

I've tried using it in AI servo mode too. No half press, just clicks away.

I reset the settings in the menu. Pulled the battery and the button battery but it appears to of kept it's settings.

Is there a hard reset procedure?


Chris Giles Photography

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kawi_200
Goldmember
1,409 posts
Likes: 26
Joined Jul 2011
Location: Everett, WA
     
May 28, 2014 18:37 |  #7

Is the grip shutter button doing the same thing, or is it working properly?


5D4 or 6D2..... Waiting to find out which I buy | 8-15L |24-70mm f/4L IS | 24L II | 40mm pancake | 100L IS | 70-200mm f/2.8L IS mk2 | 400mm f/4 DO IS

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,820 posts
Likes: 208
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
May 29, 2014 03:01 as a reply to  @ kawi_200's post |  #8

To me it sounds like some short circuit in the trigger button assembly.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gel
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,118 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Sep 2009
Location: Brighton , East Sussex
     
May 29, 2014 03:34 |  #9

kawi_200 wrote in post #16936846 (external link)
Is the grip shutter button doing the same thing, or is it working properly?

Excellent point...goes to check the camera... Yep, same outcome on both buttons unfortunately.

I can use AF-on to focus and compose but as someone who shoots manually it's tricky to change stuff on the fly at the same time.


Chris Giles Photography

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
joeseph
"smells like turd"
Avatar
9,433 posts
Gallery: 55 photos
Likes: 1289
Joined Jan 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
     
May 29, 2014 04:53 |  #10

Gel wrote in post #16936782 (external link)
I've tried using it in AI servo mode too. No half press, just clicks away.

I reset the settings in the menu. Pulled the battery and the button battery but it appears to of kept it's settings.

Is there a hard reset procedure?

there's a "clear all camera settings" page 58 in the manual, if still fails after that then I suspect it's a trip to Canon to get it looked at...


some fairly old canon camera stuff, canon lenses, Manfrotto "thingy", 1D MK II converted for IR, and now an M5
TF posting: here :-)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ST-EOS
Member
Avatar
30 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Apr 2012
Location: North Yorkshire UK
     
May 29, 2014 05:38 |  #11

Talk to CPS, as it seems that they have created your problem.


Peter

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
notastockpikr
Senior Member
398 posts
Likes: 47
Joined Aug 2011
Location: Canada
     
May 29, 2014 13:42 |  #12

Sounds like CPS or someone might have programed the shutter button to meter only and not focus and meter. The back button is probably programmed for focus only. Check the Custom Controls for all the buttons on the 1Dx and see if the shutter button is meter only. I don't have the manual in front of me or I could give you the page number.

Can you explain why you are focusing and re-composing with the 1Dx? Do you not trust all 61 focus points? Why are you not manually moving the focus point onto your subject and then taking the picture. I have never focus/recompose ever. I own the 1Dx and can attest to the accuracy of all the focus points and not just to the center point. Did you own a 5D II at one time? Just curious.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
48,414 posts
Gallery: 84 photos
Likes: 4511
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
May 29, 2014 14:07 |  #13

Gel wrote in post #16936782 (external link)
I've tried using it in AI servo mode too. No half press, just clicks away.

I reset the settings in the menu. Pulled the battery and the button battery but it appears to of kept it's settings.

Is there a hard reset procedure?

Custom functions do not get reset with standard factory reset "clear all camera settings"., you also need to clear all custom functions, (shoudl be a option in the CF settings) or go through the CF settings one by one to find the culprit.

On the 5D3 this is all in CF function set labeled Customization" or something like that. Don;t have mine in front of me, so can't recall exactly.


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,820 posts
Likes: 208
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
May 29, 2014 15:32 as a reply to  @ CyberDyneSystems's post |  #14

But there's no custom function which will trigger the shutter button at half-press. Unless it actually is full-press, and what should have happened at half-press isn't happening.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
N2bnfunn
Senior Member
591 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 21
Joined Dec 2010
     
May 29, 2014 23:19 |  #15

Which CPS center did you send it to?


Canon 1DX Canon 5D MkIII Lens EF 16-35 L 2.8 EF 70-200 L 2.8 EF 50mm 1.2 L 24-105 4.0 L 24-70 2.8L II Canon Pixma PRO-1 Intuos Small Tablet 3 Canon 600EX-RT Speedlites

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,494 views & 0 likes for this thread
Issue with the 1DX - No shutter half press, no beep
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is john_martin
508 guests, 353 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.