Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 01 Jun 2014 (Sunday) 22:17
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5D MKIII Possible noise performance issue

 
REBELimgs
Member
92 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2014
Location: Philadelphia, PA
     
Jun 01, 2014 22:17 |  #1

I've been feeling like my images have been showing much more noise than I'd hoped for lately and I'd like to find out if it's just me or is there an issue with the camera.

Even at low ISOs I see noise, much more than I think I should be seeing at ISOs between 50-1600.

Without having a second mkiii around to compare, is there a way I could settle this issue on my own?

I have an image at ISO 250 and imo, it's a bit worse than I think it should be. I have plenty more but I'm kind of in a rush at the moment so here's one.

Edit: Posted the 1:1 crop

IMAGE: http://s30.postimg.org/k0k9jdf5t/1x15dnoise.png


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


6D w grip | Sony A6300 kit + Metabones EF Speedbooster | EOS M | 600EX-RT | 430EX II x3 | 16-35 f/2.8L II | 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 IS STM | 22 f/2 | 24-70 f/2.8L II | 28-135 f/3.5-5.6 IS | 35 f/2 IS | 50 f/1.2L | 75-300 f/4-5.6 III | 85 f/1.2L II | 135 f/2L
DJI Phantom 3 Professional

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
davesrose
Title Fairy still hasn't visited me!
4,387 posts
Likes: 829
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
     
Jun 01, 2014 22:33 |  #2

Can you provide a 1:1 crop of the original image? Resized and jpeg compression image, I see some clipping and artifacts....but that's from how you saved the image. FWIW, I'm not experiencing any noise issues with my 5DmkIII.


Canon 5D mk IV
EF 135mm 2.0L, EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS II, EF 24-70 2.8L II, EF 50mm 1.4, EF 100mm 2.8L Macro, EF 16-35mm 4L IS, Sigma 150-600mm C, 580EX, 600EX-RT, MeFoto Globetrotter tripod, grips, Black Rapid RS-7, CAMS plate and strap system, Lowepro Flipside 500 AW, and a few other things...
smugmug (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
REBELimgs
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
92 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2014
Location: Philadelphia, PA
     
Jun 01, 2014 22:37 |  #3

Yeah, sorry. I realized that the minute I uploaded the image but I was on the way out. I'll make sure to upload that 1:1 ASAP.


6D w grip | Sony A6300 kit + Metabones EF Speedbooster | EOS M | 600EX-RT | 430EX II x3 | 16-35 f/2.8L II | 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 IS STM | 22 f/2 | 24-70 f/2.8L II | 28-135 f/3.5-5.6 IS | 35 f/2 IS | 50 f/1.2L | 75-300 f/4-5.6 III | 85 f/1.2L II | 135 f/2L
DJI Phantom 3 Professional

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
REBELimgs
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
92 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2014
Location: Philadelphia, PA
     
Jun 02, 2014 02:04 |  #4

Posted the 1:1 crop


6D w grip | Sony A6300 kit + Metabones EF Speedbooster | EOS M | 600EX-RT | 430EX II x3 | 16-35 f/2.8L II | 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 IS STM | 22 f/2 | 24-70 f/2.8L II | 28-135 f/3.5-5.6 IS | 35 f/2 IS | 50 f/1.2L | 75-300 f/4-5.6 III | 85 f/1.2L II | 135 f/2L
DJI Phantom 3 Professional

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CRCchemist
Senior Member
961 posts
Likes: 18
Joined Apr 2014
     
Jun 02, 2014 02:12 |  #5

Looks normal. Just increase your noise reduction if you need less noise. It looks exactly how it should (actually better than I'd expect) with no noise reduction applied.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
REBELimgs
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
92 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2014
Location: Philadelphia, PA
     
Jun 02, 2014 02:19 |  #6

CRCchemist wrote in post #16945775 (external link)
Looks normal. Just increase your noise reduction if you need less noise. It looks exactly how it should (actually better than I'd expect) with no noise reduction applied.

It looks pretty bad on my computer and I'm using a photo monitor.

Is NR completely off by default?


6D w grip | Sony A6300 kit + Metabones EF Speedbooster | EOS M | 600EX-RT | 430EX II x3 | 16-35 f/2.8L II | 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 IS STM | 22 f/2 | 24-70 f/2.8L II | 28-135 f/3.5-5.6 IS | 35 f/2 IS | 50 f/1.2L | 75-300 f/4-5.6 III | 85 f/1.2L II | 135 f/2L
DJI Phantom 3 Professional

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CRCchemist
Senior Member
961 posts
Likes: 18
Joined Apr 2014
     
Jun 02, 2014 11:49 |  #7

REBELimgs wrote in post #16945781 (external link)
It looks pretty bad on my computer and I'm using a photo monitor.

Is NR completely off by default?

It depends on your program, but if you used Lightroom, then yes, it's off by default. Also keep in mind that digital sensors create a lot of noise and the noise reduction algorithms are amazing at getting rid of it. Everything you see on here has definitely gone through noise reduction.

Here's a little video on noise reduction to help you put it in perspective.

http://youtu.be/RQHcy_​m9ixI (external link)

That image was ISO 400, so it's just a tiny bit more ISO than the image you posted here, and look at how much noise it has at 1:40. Don't freak out. Haha.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MalVeauX
"Looks rough and well used"
Avatar
13,861 posts
Gallery: 2021 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 12284
Joined Feb 2013
Location: Florida
     
Jun 02, 2014 11:57 |  #8

Heya,

I don't see a problem.

Shoot at ISO 6400. But get the exposure right. See how that looks (but make sure exposure is right!).

Very best,


My Flickr (external link) :: My Astrobin (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CRCchemist
Senior Member
961 posts
Likes: 18
Joined Apr 2014
     
Jun 02, 2014 12:06 |  #9

MalVeauX wrote in post #16946572 (external link)
Heya,

I don't see a problem.

Shoot at ISO 6400. But get the exposure right. See how that looks (but make sure exposure is right!).

Very best,

Yeah, I shoot at 12800 and get usable images when the exposure is right too. But if my shot is underexposed, the noise will make it look like crap.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
REBELimgs
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
92 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2014
Location: Philadelphia, PA
     
Jun 02, 2014 13:58 |  #10

CRCchemist wrote in post #16946548 (external link)
It depends on your program, but if you used Lightroom, then yes, it's off by default. Also keep in mind that digital sensors create a lot of noise and the noise reduction algorithms are amazing at getting rid of it. Everything you see on here has definitely gone through noise reduction.

Here's a little video on noise reduction to help you put it in perspective.

http://youtu.be/RQHcy_​m9ixI (external link)

That image was ISO 400, so it's just a tiny bit more ISO than the image you posted here, and look at how much noise it has at 1:40. Don't freak out. Haha.


I was referring to the NR on the camera. Is it best to use that or do all the NR in post?


6D w grip | Sony A6300 kit + Metabones EF Speedbooster | EOS M | 600EX-RT | 430EX II x3 | 16-35 f/2.8L II | 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 IS STM | 22 f/2 | 24-70 f/2.8L II | 28-135 f/3.5-5.6 IS | 35 f/2 IS | 50 f/1.2L | 75-300 f/4-5.6 III | 85 f/1.2L II | 135 f/2L
DJI Phantom 3 Professional

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CRCchemist
Senior Member
961 posts
Likes: 18
Joined Apr 2014
     
Jun 02, 2014 16:25 |  #11

REBELimgs wrote in post #16946838 (external link)
I was referring to the NR on the camera. Is it best to use that or do all the NR in post?

I've actually never used the in-camera noise reduction since I switched to digital 10 years ago. Hmmm. That's a good question. But I can't answer it. I process every image on the computer, so I don't know anything about what the camera does, or how well it does it.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
davesrose
Title Fairy still hasn't visited me!
4,387 posts
Likes: 829
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
     
Jun 02, 2014 17:45 as a reply to  @ CRCchemist's post |  #12

I think you could also check to see if highlight tone priority is enabled or disabled. If you're processing RAW, I don't think it's needed (and could produce banding in dark scenes)


Canon 5D mk IV
EF 135mm 2.0L, EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS II, EF 24-70 2.8L II, EF 50mm 1.4, EF 100mm 2.8L Macro, EF 16-35mm 4L IS, Sigma 150-600mm C, 580EX, 600EX-RT, MeFoto Globetrotter tripod, grips, Black Rapid RS-7, CAMS plate and strap system, Lowepro Flipside 500 AW, and a few other things...
smugmug (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
38,894 posts
Gallery: 115 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 7394
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Jun 02, 2014 22:28 |  #13

It is better to have the camera/DPP do a bit of NR (low setting), with sharpness and saturation turned down, then post NR, then bring back sharpness and saturation.

Just a small piece of the overall puzzle, based on my own high ISO management. These are much higher than your stated ISO levels though.

IMAGE: http://gerberphotos.smugmug.com/Sports-Events/Mad-Ants-20132014-/i-rdz2VjQ/0/X2/5P1B6457-X2.jpg

IMAGE: http://gerberphotos.smugmug.com/Sports-Events/Mad-Ants-20132014-/i-4k7cGM2/0/X2/5P1B8970-X2.jpg

Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Paulstw
Senior Member
827 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Nov 2012
     
Jun 03, 2014 01:46 |  #14

If you want an easy way to get rid of noise in the BG. Pop the image into photoshop, duplicate the layer, run a Surface blur on the top layer, setting the values to where you're happy with the smoothing. Click on layer mask for that layer and with a black brush, brush over the subject to bring it through from the underlying layer. In focus subjects don't have noise in them so everything should be grand. This is how it's kind of done as there's no really such a thing as a perfectly OOF BG with no noise.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,701 views & 0 likes for this thread
5D MKIII Possible noise performance issue
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is DTPhotography
762 guests, 204 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.