Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 05 Jun 2014 (Thursday) 09:42
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon T3i Not taking Crisp Pictures- HELP

 
KristyM
Member
40 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Aug 2013
     
Jun 05, 2014 09:42 |  #1

Hello

I have a canon t3i and just bought a canon 85mm f/1.8 and went out to take some portraits but the pictures are not as crisp as I thought they were. I shot in Raw for all of them and also not in automatic I used Av, and Tv settings ( still learning). I opened them in Lightroom and when I zoom in they are blurry and even after I think they look a little fuzzy, not crisp. I have no idea why. Can someone please explain to me how I can take crisp pictures with my camera or if I am doing anything wrong?

Here is a couple examples

PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i1294.photobuck​et.com …Maria1of1_zpsd6​68f78c.jpg (external link)


PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i1294.photobuck​et.com …aria31of1_zps64​a282cb.jpg (external link)


PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i1294.photobuck​et.com …aria21of1_zpsc5​d04145.jpg (external link)

Canon Rebel T3i, 85mm f/1.8, 50mm f/1.8, 18-55mm, 55-250mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
gjl711
According to the lazy TF, My flatulence rates
Avatar
55,376 posts
Likes: 2364
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
     
Jun 05, 2014 09:44 |  #2

Did you apply any sharpening? THey actually look pretty good.


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KristyM
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
40 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Aug 2013
     
Jun 05, 2014 09:46 |  #3

I did in lightroom. Thanks lol. When I export them out of Lightroom is there some settings that I should be applying? Could it also be my monitor?


Canon Rebel T3i, 85mm f/1.8, 50mm f/1.8, 18-55mm, 55-250mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
9,361 posts
Likes: 870
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Jun 05, 2014 09:52 |  #4

One thing that would help us all is to post an image with the EXIF information intact. That can tell us all your camera settings as well as indicated the exact point of focus. We will then be able to give you much better assistance.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KristyM
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
40 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Aug 2013
     
Jun 05, 2014 09:54 |  #5

How do I do that? Is there a thread that shows how to post them that way?


Canon Rebel T3i, 85mm f/1.8, 50mm f/1.8, 18-55mm, 55-250mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MakisM1
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,580 posts
Gallery: 24 photos
Likes: 352
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Houston
     
Jun 05, 2014 09:58 |  #6

If you scale them down for web view, you need to add sharpening after the scaling down. I normally go through a mild USM (1.0, 0.35) after I scale the photos down to 1024x683 for web viewing.

EDIT: You do that in a pixel editor like Photoshop, GIMP or others


Gerry
Canon 5D MkIII/Canon 60D/Canon EF-S 18-200/Canon EF 24-70L USM II/Canon EF 70-200L 2.8 USM II/Canon EF 50 f1.8 II/Σ 8-16/ 430 EXII
OS: Linux Ubuntu/PostProcessing: Darktable/Image Processing: GIMP

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
davesrose
Title Fairy still hasn't visited me!
3,800 posts
Likes: 554
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
     
Jun 05, 2014 10:17 as a reply to  @ MakisM1's post |  #7

I can't see your images...but some thoughts on how to get the best sharpness. Generally, all lenses have some apertures in which the center of focus is the most sharp. At fully open, they tend to be softer (even the area that's in focus)...so defaulting with an aperture of f8 or f11 is a common recommendation. Make sure you have the camera set at a low ISO. Low ISO gives less noise and higher dynamic range (range of colors)...all good for resolving power.

Lastly, well just simple physics dictates that an image is never going to be blazingly sharp....getting some softness from the lens glass and quality of the camera's sensor is inevitable. Post processing can change that:lol: Lightroom has some good filters for selectively sharpening edges (and not introducing noise in broad areas of the photo).


Canon 5D mk IV
EF 135mm 2.0L, EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS II, EF 24-70 2.8L II, EF 50mm 1.4, EF 100mm 2.8L Macro, EF 16-35mm 4L IS, Sigma 150-600mm C, 580EX, 600EX-RT, MeFoto Globetrotter tripod, grips, Black Rapid RS-7, CAMS plate and strap system, Lowepro Flipside 500 AW, and a few other things...
smugmug (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
iadubber
Goldmember
1,449 posts
Likes: 19
Joined May 2009
Location: Dubuque, IA
     
Jun 05, 2014 10:20 |  #8

EXIF would help a little bit so we know what settings you were using. Perhaps upload full res to flickr or somewhere we can blow them up as well.

They look really green to me.


Buyer/Seller Feedback
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
iadubber
Goldmember
1,449 posts
Likes: 19
Joined May 2009
Location: Dubuque, IA
     
Jun 05, 2014 10:37 |  #9

They need to be linked they are too big, but even still the EXIF info is not attached to the picture.


Buyer/Seller Feedback
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DGStinner
Goldmember
Avatar
1,040 posts
Gallery: 24 photos
Likes: 194
Joined Jan 2014
Location: Middlesex, New Jersey
     
Jun 05, 2014 10:40 |  #10

I agree with iadubber that they have a green cast to them.


Dave Stinner
Gripped 7DII | 6DII
EF 16-35mm f/4L IS USM | EF 24-105mm f/4L | EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM | EF 50mm f/1.8 STM | EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM | Rokinon 8mm | Sigma 150-600
Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KristyM
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
40 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Aug 2013
     
Jun 05, 2014 10:43 |  #11

ok sorry Here are the links

http://s1294.photobuck​et.com …2612d.jpg.html?​sort=3&o=0 (external link)

http://s1294.photobuck​et.com …362c4.jpg.html?​sort=3&o=1 (external link)

http://s1294.photobuck​et.com …c7533.jpg.html?​sort=3&o=2 (external link)


Canon Rebel T3i, 85mm f/1.8, 50mm f/1.8, 18-55mm, 55-250mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BigAl007
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,011 posts
Gallery: 543 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1624
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Repps cum Bastwick, Gt Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK.
     
Jun 05, 2014 11:00 |  #12

There are settings for applying output sharpening in the LR Export dialogue. You have choices for the final viewing device, Print or Screen, and amount, High Normal etc. There is also one other setting that is used in calculating the amount of sharpening that is applied, and that is the value for PPI. Although it makes no difference in the way you will use the file after export it is good to set the PPI value to be the same as that used by the final display device. For screen use I normally use 100 PPI as that is fairly average for modern computer monitors. For print I use whatever value the printer will be using.

You cannot preview the output sharpening in LR as it is effectively applied to the image after any resizing that is done during the export process. Once you have used it a few times and got used to it's effects the no preview ceases to be an issue. This saves you having to open the image in a pixel editor to do the sharpening manually.

I also usually apply sharpening in the devlop module, although I tend to use quite high amounts, often between 60 and 100, but I also use very high levels of masking, 90 or above. This limits the application of the sharpening to only edges in the image. If you click and hold the masking slider and also hold the Alt key down the image will change. The black areas are masked and receive no sharpening while the white areas get sharpened. This is identical to the way a layer mask in Photoshop looks.

You can also load a local brush with positive values of sharpening and it will add extra sharpening to the areas to paint in. If you use a negative value it will reduce the existing sharpening from the global adjustment.

It is important to remember that RAW files have no sharpening applied, unless you do it in the RAW processor. In camera JPEG files usually have quite a bit of sharpening applied, even when sharpening is set in the camera to it's lowest level.

Alan


My Flickr (external link)
My new Aviation images blog site (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EverydayGetaway
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,639 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 3884
Joined Oct 2012
Location: Bowie, MD
     
Jun 05, 2014 11:10 |  #13

The first thing you should do is stop using photobucket as a hosting site, their compression destroys photos. Flickr is free for 1TB of storage and they allow you to upload and store original resolution photos and it creates several resizes for you automatically with much better compression.

That said, these shots look slightly underexposed to me as well as the white balance being a little off. Try exposing using spot metering on the subject's face and play around with white balance in post, all the images look too green to my eyes. Are you shooting in raw or JPEG?


Fuji X-Pro2 // Fuji X-H1 // Fuji X-T1 // Fuji X-100T
flickr (external link) // Instagram (external link)www.LucasGPhoto.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
morph2_7
Goldmember
1,112 posts
Joined Sep 2012
Location: Los Angeles
     
Jun 05, 2014 11:18 |  #14

I think photobucket strips off all EXIF informations that some are asking. Look at the image properties and post these values (for every photo): shutter speed, ISO, aperture. The photos look kinda greenish to me too.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
little ­ johny
Senior Member
377 posts
Likes: 646
Joined Sep 2010
     
Jun 05, 2014 11:32 |  #15

Your pictures look terrible for a T3i.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,546 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon T3i Not taking Crisp Pictures- HELP
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is smartlogg1
653 guests, 246 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.