Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 10 Jun 2014 (Tuesday) 03:11
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

I shot in JPEG :(

 
moltengold
Goldmember
4,296 posts
Likes: 9
Joined Jul 2011
     
Jun 10, 2014 13:07 |  #16

i always shoot small JPEG not RAW
I don't need to edit my photos :)
I love SOOC ( Straight Out Of Camera )


| Canon EOS | and some canon lenses

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Tony_Stark
Shellhead
Avatar
4,287 posts
Likes: 345
Joined May 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
     
Jun 10, 2014 14:45 |  #17

Camera is always off when not being used and always check to make sure RAW is enabled before a shoot.


Nikon D810 | 24-70/2.8G | 58/1.4G
EOS M | 22 f/2 STM

Website (external link) | flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 544
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Jun 10, 2014 16:50 |  #18

I've had a couple funny experiences!

Once I was shooting a sporting event, and I set my camera to Raw+jpeg, because I wanted some out-of-camera jpegs quickly available for review by myself and some folks who were involved in the event, and I was needing mobility/portability, so I could take my SD/jpeg card into the trailer of the media guys and we could go over the jpegs, burn some onto CDs, etc...

Then, first, I forgot to switch back to Raw only until I "caught" myself, and second, it was pretty mind-spinning when I got back to my workstation, unloaded/imported a whole lot of shots, and found myself staring at all these Raw/jpeg duplicates!

On another occasion, I had set a camera to shoot jpegs for some type of experiment I was doing, then forgot about it. I then got involved in shooting a Halloween house party, got a lot of shots, then going over my shots found out that they were all jpegs!

Fortunately, in that instance, I was shooting indoors with decent ambient light and a flash and I had set things up to get good balanced exposures, so didn't need to "mess" with things!


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
timbop
Goldmember
Avatar
2,980 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 17
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Southern New Jersey, USA
     
Jun 10, 2014 16:56 |  #19

Charlie wrote in post #16963285 (external link)
studios with good lighting dont *NEED* raw, the shot should come out with minimal processing to maximize efficiency anyhow. Shoot raw if you want to manipulate.

Sorry, should have pointed out that the "studio" is the company; they have 20+ wedding photogs including me.

As someone else said, weddings are all about quick reactions without necessarily having time to handle changing conditions. I just did my third straight outside wedding on saturday, and those really suck. You've got the bride's face in shadow and his in sun, so someone somewhere needs to do work to recover some details when getting the wider shots. It's easier when you come in for the tighter shots of one or the other, but exposure and WB will never be perfect. They do a pretty good job in those cases, but sometimes there isn't anything you can do with jpegs.


Current: 5DM3, 6D, 8mm fish, 24-105/4IS, 35/2IS, 70-200/2.8IS, 85/1.8, 100-400/IS v1, lensbaby composer with edge 80, 580's and AB800's
Formerly: 80D, 7D, 300D, 5D, 5DM2, 20D, 50D, 1DM2, 17-55IS, 24-70/2.8, 28-135IS, 40/2.8, 50/1.8, 50/1.4, 70-200/4IS, 70-300IS, 70-200/2.8, 100 macro, 400/5.6, tammy 17-50 and 28-75, sigma 50 macro & 100-300

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kfreels
Goldmember
Avatar
4,297 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Aug 2010
Location: Princeton, IN
     
Jun 10, 2014 19:51 |  #20

CyberDyneSystems wrote in post #16963179 (external link)
I've never had my camera switch to jpeg on it's own, but I've been the culprit on more than one occasion.
"It's just to take for sale photos, small jpeg is perfect"

then put camera back in bag... DUH!

Done this myself dozens of times. To make matters worse, I have a custom setting on my 7D for shooting small jpegs when I want to do shoot photo stitches with lots of individual shots. SO any time the camera bumps my leg it can rotate the dial and put it on that setting. So I get small jpegs instead of RAW files if I don't pay attention. Been thinking about that 7D locking mode dial mod but wanted to see what the supposed 7DII has to offer before spending an extra $100 on this body.


I am serious....and don't call me Shirley.
Canon 7D and a bunch of other stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CameraMan
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
13,336 posts
Gallery: 26 photos
Likes: 740
Joined Dec 2010
Location: In The Sticks
     
Jun 10, 2014 19:58 |  #21

I had taken a few photos on the plane ride to Hawaii with my Rebel XT. The buttons on the back were very touchy and inadvertently did a delete all on the card. Luckily it was only 4 or 5 photos of my daughter on the plane. Since then I always turn it off when it goes in the bag.


Photographer (external link) | The Toys! | Facebook (external link) | Video (external link) | Flickr (external link)
Shampoo sounds like an unfortunate name for a hair product.
You're a ghost driving a meat-coated skeleton made from stardust, riding a rock, hurtling through space. Fear Nothing!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
snerd
Senior Member
Avatar
662 posts
Gallery: 14 photos
Likes: 187
Joined Nov 2010
Location: Oklahoma
     
Jun 10, 2014 20:12 |  #22

kfreels wrote in post #16964168 (external link)
Done this myself dozens of times. To make matters worse, I have a custom setting on my 7D for shooting small jpegs when I want to do shoot photo stitches with lots of individual shots. SO any time the camera bumps my leg it can rotate the dial and put it on that setting. So I get small jpegs instead of RAW files if I don't pay attention. Been thinking about that 7D locking mode dial mod but wanted to see what the supposed 7DII has to offer before spending an extra $100 on this body.

Gawd I hate that non-locking dial on my 7D!! Just breathing around it would change it! So I got me a 5D3 and am so much happier. The Mode dial lock and the silent shooting mode are reason enough to upgrade!!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
timbop
Goldmember
Avatar
2,980 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 17
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Southern New Jersey, USA
     
Jun 10, 2014 20:29 |  #23

snerd wrote in post #16964207 (external link)
Gawd I hate that non-locking dial on my 7D!! Just breathing around it would change it! So I got me a 5D3 and am so much happier. The Mode dial lock and the silent shooting mode are reason enough to upgrade!!

I paid the $100 to canon to put the locking knob on it


Current: 5DM3, 6D, 8mm fish, 24-105/4IS, 35/2IS, 70-200/2.8IS, 85/1.8, 100-400/IS v1, lensbaby composer with edge 80, 580's and AB800's
Formerly: 80D, 7D, 300D, 5D, 5DM2, 20D, 50D, 1DM2, 17-55IS, 24-70/2.8, 28-135IS, 40/2.8, 50/1.8, 50/1.4, 70-200/4IS, 70-300IS, 70-200/2.8, 100 macro, 400/5.6, tammy 17-50 and 28-75, sigma 50 macro & 100-300

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,066 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 302
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Jun 11, 2014 04:14 as a reply to  @ timbop's post |  #24

I paid much more, since I got rid of the mode dial by purchasing a 1DX... ;)


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
blackgold59
Member
154 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 60
Joined Feb 2013
     
Jun 11, 2014 07:54 |  #25

I'm pretty much a raw shooter all the way, simply because for me and what I do things change so quickly it's hard to set up camera for each shot for me. About a week ago I decided I'm going to try just jpeg, and for the most part they came out well but there were a couple that I really wanted that didn't fair so well...guess that's the chance you take.

I know wedding photographers can't possibly shoot raw all the time, there dealing with a few thousand shots to go through. At least that is what one told me, so jpeg does have it's place I guess. But I'm sure they have a ton of through aways anyway for the amount they shoot.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
49,824 posts
Gallery: 161 photos
Likes: 6521
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Jun 11, 2014 12:57 |  #26

Charlie wrote in post #16963285 (external link)
... Shoot raw if you want to manipulate.

This is just one of the reasons people shoot raw.
If you think it's the only reasons, well, you'd be mistaken.

I know that claiming "getting it right in camera" is held up as a reason not to shoot raw. I'm fine with that reason, but it occurs to me that anyone looking for the best image the camera can output would know that getting it right in camera is only part of the battle.

There are absolutely many good reasons to shoot jpeg as opposed to RAW.
Claiming to be seeking in camera perfection however, is a misnomer of the highest magnitude.


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
m3incorp
Senior Member
Avatar
989 posts
Joined Jul 2005
Location: Colorado, USA
     
Jun 12, 2014 00:02 |  #27

1Tanker wrote in post #16962607 (external link)
I shoot RAW + Jpeg exclusively. I never vary from this. As such, i never have to worry about these settings, as they're set when the camera is new... and it gets sold that way. :)

I am the same way. I keep lots of CF and download to computer often.


7D, 10D, Canon EFS 18-55mm modded
Canon EF 50mm, Canon 85mm 1.8, Tamron 17-50mm F/2.8 XR DiII VC
Canon EF 70-300mm, 70-200 F4 L
, Canon 430ex ii Speedlite.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,066 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 302
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Jun 12, 2014 03:03 as a reply to  @ m3incorp's post |  #28

I make up my mind. Either I decide that it's jpeg time, or that it's RAW time, but creating a jpeg and a RAW at the same time, in camera, when the jpeg easily can be created from the RAW afterwards, in the computer, that I do only for very specific reasons.

Like wanting a RAW but also desiring immediate transfer of the picture to a computer. Then the jpeg is much quicker to transfer, and I frequently then make the jpeg a small one with lower quality, to really take advantage of small file size.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MakisM1
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,572 posts
Gallery: 20 photos
Likes: 345
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Houston
     
Jun 12, 2014 07:35 |  #29

By some quirk I've yet to figure out, my newest version of Ubuntu photo manager (Shotwell) will recover the embedded jpeg and store it alongside the RAW. (Otherwise, you don't get a proper view of the RAW as thumbnail or review image).

So, I only shoot RAW. Saves time when recording the photo and memory space in the card. And no, I don't record in both cards.


Gerry
Canon 5D MkIII/Canon 60D/Canon EF-S 18-200/Canon EF 24-70L USM II/Canon EF 70-200L 2.8 USM II/Canon EF 50 f1.8 II/Σ 8-16/ 430 EXII
OS: Linux Ubuntu/PostProcessing: Darktable/Image Processing: GIMP

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Paulstw
Senior Member
827 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Nov 2012
     
Jun 12, 2014 07:35 |  #30

You got pics. Which is better than what you would have got had there been something wrong with the camera. Don't be too hard on yourself. It happens. I drove 65 miles for a landscape shot only to realise that it was in JPEG after a firmware update.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7,020 views & 2 likes for this thread
I shot in JPEG :(
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is UncleDanny
1038 guests, 339 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.